Review Detail

Young Adult Fiction 1903
growing up novel
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by stephanie

Same Difference is a very good book. It talks about friendship, love and relationships in general. It's a coming-of-age book.

The plot is very inspiring. Emily has to decide whether or not she wants to become an artsy girl with her friend, Fiona, or remain in her old town, Cherry Hill, unable to move forward. She has to decide what it is that she wants without anyone's influence. She has to find herself and she goes through many different things to find out.

The relationship she had with Yates, her TA, was...awkward. There didn't seem to be much life between the two and it just seemed forced, I guess. Yates is always afraid about people finding out so because of that, their relationship was hindered. They never really talked much and when they did, it wasn't in depth. There didn't seem any real chemistry between the two and I couldn't feel any deep love or anything.

Fiona, the crazy girl who thinks she's all that, is Emily's new "best friend". She, to put it short, annoyed the crap out of me. She's such a faker and user. She thinks she's so cool and used Emily as a self-ego booster. I don't understand how Emily could have stand her at all. Fiona puts people down and is way too self-focused on herself.

Emily, though, seemed extremely talented and the fact that she didn't see it just made her seem really modest and humble. She doesn't like to get into people's face which makes her really likable. Unlike a certain person *coughFionacough*.

The ending was really cute. I loved how Emily was finally able to choose for herself what she wanted and managed to get closer to her younger sister which was really adorable, you have to admit.

Overall, Same Difference is a great read. A very fun and enjoyable book.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

What Are Unicorns Made Of?
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Have you ever wondered what unicorns are made of? Are...
Grandfather Bowhead, Tell Me a Story
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Richly illustrated and lovingly told, this book is a warm...
Stanley's Toy Box
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Everyone’s favorite hard-working hamster Stanley teams up with friends to...
Sing Me Forgotten
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Isda does not exist. At least not beyond the opulent...
Peek-a-Boo Little Reindeer
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this adorable peek-a-boo board book with felt flaps, a...
Perfect on Paper
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In Sophie Gonzales' Perfect on Paper, Leah on the Offbeat...
11 Paper Hearts
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of To All the Boys I've Loved...
shine your icy crown
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
“Make them rue the day they underestimated you.” ...
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Sheinmel comes the...
Kamala Harris: Rooted in Justice
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Discover the incredible story of a young daughter of immigrants...
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera, this is...
Paris Cat
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A sassy cat from the back alleys of Paris believes...
The Last Hazelnut
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When two woodland friends have a misunderstanding over who ate...
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
He saw the darkness in her magic. She saw the...
Rescue
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Six hundred and fifty-seven days ago, Meg Kenyon's father left...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
“We are most courageous at our weakest; when we believe...

Latest Member Reviews

Martin King and the Space Angels
 
5.0
"This was a beautiful book - I bought the paperback and it's quite simply the best self-published book I've ever..."
Martin King and the Space Angels
 
4.8
"This was a beautiful book - I bought the paperback and it's quite simply the best self-published book I've ever..."