Review Detail

Young Adult Fiction 1211
Urban Fantasy
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by Mairi

Fischer isn't thrilled to be spending a month with his outgoing cousin, David. He would much rather stay with his mother, a museum curator and the only person who understands that, even if he is not a very active boy, he still has interests. Instead, he finds himself constantly being roped into David's crazy schemes, though he is careful to never go too far- except for one time, when he makes a mistake that throws two worlds out of balance.

I only read this book because the library didn't have the book I wanted to read- I really didn't think it would be good, and the inside flap did nothing to boost my opinion. To say that the summary is cliche is to put it mildly- I can think of several other books one could attach that summary to without anyone being any the wiser- and that does The Taker's Stone an injustice. While some elements are derivative, there are others, like Thistle, that are original and, in my opinion, really awesome.


This book has everything that is good about urban fantasy.

Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Movies, mansions, and murder in the Golden Age of Hollywood!...
Kamala and Maya's Big Idea
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Meena Harris debuts with an empowering picture book about two...
Harvey Holds His Own (The Harvey Stories, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The West Highland Terrier that brought Harvey Comes Home to...
Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A teenage girl wonders if she’s inherited more than just...
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times bestselling author Amanda Hocking returns to...
The Hunt
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Death marked her from her very first breath. Being...
Swallowed by a Secret
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
One dead father. One lying mother. ...
Circus of the Dead Book One
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
There are many ways to die at the Circus...
Roaring
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Colt Clemmons is an agent in a specialized division...
Court of Lions
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Court of Lions is the long-awaited second and final...
More Than Just a Pretty Face
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Jenny Han, a...
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After the events at Llethanyl, city of the elves, Zed...

Latest Member Reviews

Stanley's Toolbox
 
4.5
"STANLEY'S TOOLBOX is a delightful board book that shows many tools in action as Stanley helps to repair Little Woo's..."
Smashy Town
 
5.0
"SMASHY TOWN is a huge hit for young readers! The book follows Mr. Gilly as he demolishes some old buildings..."
Diggersaurs Explore (Diggersaurs)
 
5.0
"DIGGERSAURS EXPLORE is a delightful sequel to the book taking the toddler world by storm! Whether you have a little..."
Diggersaurs
 
5.0
"DIGGERSAURS is perfect for children who love dinosaurs, construction vehicles, bright colors, and/or fun, rhyming phrases. This book re-imagines construction..."
Dig, Dogs, Dig
 
4.0
"In this colorful book for emergent readers, a team of construction dogs gather their equipment and set out to build..."