Review Detail

Young Adult Fiction 23173
Breaking Down to Tears (well not really...)
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by Yan

There are so many things I can say about this book, so many ways I can describe my feeling towards it. Confused. Shocked. Repulsed. Relieved. Angry. Excited. Detached. Satisfied.

As Mr. Krabs put it: Ive never felt such a strange combination of pity, and indigestion.

Just a very strange mix of all that.

Things werent so distressing when the book started out. The wedding was done very well. In fact, I think it was pretty perfect. Throw in a little Jake action to spice things up. Very well done. The honeymoon then hit. Even though Bella was a liiiittle too horny (as was to be expected), the honeymoon was handled well, too. They had to do it sometime. And Bella couldnt go unscathed now, could she?

Then Bella got pregnant. And thats when the mood started to change, for me anyway. Firstly, and Ive said this before: VAMPIRES CAN IMPREGNATE PEOPLE?!?! That was my main reaction. I didnt think they...erhm&had sperm&and Im guess its his venom that did it, but I truly did not think in a million years that vampires could produce any living thing. I always felt that nothing inside them was really alive (this is me talking about the sperm again).

After getting past that, we move on to Jacobs point of view. Initial reaction? Awwww sheit, I have to read this for another 250 pages?!?!?! Getting down to it though, I loved Jacobs point of view. Probably a hell of a lot better than Bellas at the time anyway. I loved the pack interaction. I love Seth. And Leah started to grow on me.

What really bothered me was that demonchild Bella was spawning. Sure sure, she turned out to be adorable, intelligent, and kind, but I still hated the fact that Bella kept holding onto that thing, and even worse, Rosalie backing her one hundred percent, possibly risking Bellas life and pissing everybody off in the process. Worse than the even worse, this was all putting Edward through so much pain; reading about it was unbearable. It was like Bella in New Moonit even hurt me just reading it.

The delivery of the demonchild was truly disgusting. Can you imagine that in the movie? It felt like torture&like the Saw movies or something. She was just getting more and more mutilated. Truly disturbing visual. But then Edward saves her.

Aaaaaandd Bellas a vampire! This is what Ive been waiting for. Finally we get to see a not-so-breakable Bellasomeone who could beat Emmett at arm-wrestling, potentially win a footrace against Edward, move as gracefully as Alice, and be as beautiful as Rosalie. The whole newborn vampire learning experience was probably my favorite part. (Just make me forget about Renesmee and Im good. 8-))

And I thought Hugo and Rose were bad. Sorry Stephenie, but Renesmee is definitely topping my list of all time worst fictional childrens names. :)

And contrary to what a lot of people have been saying, I actually did enjoy the climax. I mean, weve seen it end this way before, in New Moon and Eclipsea standoff between the good guys and the Volturi. With some dialogue thrown in. Except this time, it was a million times more exciting. The wait for their impending deaths; the defiance towards Jane and Alec followed by the satisfaction of displeasing them; the brilliant speech by Garrett (I wished I could reach into the book and pat him on the back for that); the collective WOOooOOooos that we all let out when Alice came back. I thought the ending really was greata real roller coaster.

Overall, this book was a bit of a half and half for me. I was really repulsed by a lot of what happened in the first half. By that point, with all the wtfs flowing freely out of my mouth, I really thought Id come out hating this book. But, by the end, I was strangely satisfied. By the end, it really did feel like I was reading the Twilight Saga again. On a scale of 1 to 10? Maaaybee&6.65. I still think Twilight was the best of them all, and I almost wished she had ended the series there. But Breaking Dawn provided a true conclusion to the life of Bella Swann (Cullen), and I felt myself let out a sigh of closure when I finally read the last sentence.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Chasing Starlight
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Movies, mansions, and murder in the Golden Age of Hollywood!...
Kamala and Maya's Big Idea
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Meena Harris debuts with an empowering picture book about two...
Harvey Holds His Own (The Harvey Stories, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The West Highland Terrier that brought Harvey Comes Home to...
Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A teenage girl wonders if she’s inherited more than just...
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times bestselling author Amanda Hocking returns to...
The Hunt
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Death marked her from her very first breath. Being...
Swallowed by a Secret
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
One dead father. One lying mother. ...
Circus of the Dead Book One
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
There are many ways to die at the Circus...
Roaring
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Colt Clemmons is an agent in a specialized division...
Court of Lions
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Court of Lions is the long-awaited second and final...
More Than Just a Pretty Face
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Jenny Han, a...
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After the events at Llethanyl, city of the elves, Zed...
And Then I Turned into a Mermaid (And Then I Turned into a Mermaid, #1)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Emily Windsnap and Maybe A Mermaid, And...
After the Worst Thing Happens
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Left reeling after her thoughtless mistake causes a terrible accident,...
Hirana's War: Book Two in the Eloia Born Series
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Praise for Eloia Born “Loved it! A well-written narrative...
Hans Christian Andersen: The Journey of His Life
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
"If you like, I’ll tell you the story of a...

Latest Member Reviews

Dating Makes Perfect
 
5.0
"DATING MAKES PERFECT is a beautifully written YA contemporary romance that had me grinning from ear-to-ear. Winnie has two older..."
Chasing Starlight
 
4.0
"WHAT I LOVED: We think of the glitz, glamorous mega-stars, and classic movies when we think of the Golden Age..."
The Night Country (The Hazel Wood #2)
 
4.0
"Alice Proserpine thought she was mostly back to “normal” life after breaking from her story in the Hinterland, but when..."
Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
"What worked: Intriguing plot of Chloe, a seventeen-year-old super-achiever, who ends up collapsing during her senior year in high school..."
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
"THE ADVENTURERS GUILD: NIGHT OF DANGERS by Zack Loran Clark and Nick Eliopulos is the culmination of a Middle Grade..."
The Pros of Cons
 
4.0
"WHAT I LOVED: I genuinely can't imagine four different events happening simultaneously in the same complex, but it happens..."
BRB I'm Going to Disneyland
 
4.0
"'BRB: I'm Going to Disneyland' by Courtney Carbone is a cute, quick read. As a novel written in texts, emails,..."
He Must Like You
 
5.0
"'He Must Like You' by Danielle Younge-Ullman is an intensely provocative look at the various ways in which consent, upset,..."
How the Stars Came to Be
 
5.0
"Reviewed for YA Books Central Beautiful in every aspect. The book: This is a story about how the..."
Unscripted
 
5.0
"A book so real it can be u comfortable at times. The story: Zelda doesn’t have a..."
The Dark Tide
 
5.0
"THE DARK TIDE is an enthralling and atmospheric YA fantasy read. We follow Lina, a townsperson, and Eva, the witch..."
Where Dreams Descend
 
4.0
"What worked: Beautifully written tale where a girl performer breaks away from her cage and enters a competition of magicians..."
The Black Kids
 
5.0
"THE BLACK KIDS is a really poignant read that ties history to the present. Ashley is a senior in high..."
What Goes Up
 
3.3
"'What Goes Up' by Christine Heppermann is a quick read, as it is a novel-in-verse, a format that can be..."
They Wish They Were Us
 
4.3
"THEY WISH THEY WERE US is an engaging YA thriller reminiscent of GOSSIP GIRLS. The book follows Jill, who had..."
Roaring
 
3.0
"ROARING takes place in the 1920s- with a twist. Monsters, sirens, minotaurs, basilisks, and more, exist, and they are woven..."
More Than Just a Pretty Face
 
5.0
"MORE THAN JUST A PRETTY FACE is a fantastic YA contemporary romance that follows Danyal during his senior year of..."
You Say It First
 
3.3
"'You Say It First' is easily one of those books you will either love or hate. My feelings fell somewhere..."
Court of Lions (Mirage, #2)
 
5.0
"COURT OF LIONS finishes the MIRAGE duology with aplomb. This YA fantasy series takes us to another planet and the..."
The Unleashed: The Haunted, Book 2
 
4.0
"Creepy, suspenseful paranormal where some friends learn that a summoning might bring back something unexpected and evil. ..."