Review Detail

Young Adult Fiction 20954
I did not like this Book
Overall rating 
 
2.0
Plot 
 
2.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by Rianna L

Remembering the Good times Critique

This is a book about three friends. During the story, one of the friends is kind of messed up in the head and decides to hang himself.
I think that there was no point in reading this book. I dont see why our teacher made us read a book about a kid who kills himself! What if reading this book made a student want to kill or hurt themselves?
Also, it is extremely emotional because a lot of my friends and I had a friend that died in forth grade. His birthday was on Halloween, which is the day she gave us this book which was surprisingly sad and made some of my friends cry.
This book was boring, had no point, and did not keep my interest whatsoever. It was lame and did not grab my attention. It was a bummer that I was forced to read it because I didnt enjoy this book at all.
I dont think we shouldve had to read this book for many reasons. One is that the beginning was not good at all. I think the author didnt emphasize the main idea until after the middle of the book. Nothing excited me, not even the suicide part, it just made me depressed. No one wants to read about a messed up kid unless its a comedy, and I wouldnt think that any one would want to write about it either.
Another bad feature of this book was the part when Mr. Slater beat up Skeeter. I mean seriously, a middle aged man, rather large, beats up a student in high school. That is so messed up!
Finally, we should have not had to read this book, it was a bad choice.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Kamala and Maya's Big Idea
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Meena Harris debuts with an empowering picture book about two...
Harvey Holds His Own (The Harvey Stories, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The West Highland Terrier that brought Harvey Comes Home to...
Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A teenage girl wonders if she’s inherited more than just...
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times bestselling author Amanda Hocking returns to...
The Hunt
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Death marked her from her very first breath. Being...
Swallowed by a Secret
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
One dead father. One lying mother. ...
Circus of the Dead Book One
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
There are many ways to die at the Circus...
Roaring
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Colt Clemmons is an agent in a specialized division...
Court of Lions
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Court of Lions is the long-awaited second and final...
More Than Just a Pretty Face
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Jenny Han, a...
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After the events at Llethanyl, city of the elves, Zed...
And Then I Turned into a Mermaid (And Then I Turned into a Mermaid, #1)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Emily Windsnap and Maybe A Mermaid, And...
After the Worst Thing Happens
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Left reeling after her thoughtless mistake causes a terrible accident,...
Hirana's War: Book Two in the Eloia Born Series
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Praise for Eloia Born “Loved it! A well-written narrative...
Hans Christian Andersen: The Journey of His Life
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
"If you like, I’ll tell you the story of a...
Sheep Dog and Sheep Sheep: Baaad Hair Day
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
If you've ever wanted a perfect reason to say: You've...

Latest Member Reviews

A Monster Calls
 
4.7
"4.5 Stars This low-fantasy middle grade story is at once hefty and heartrending—despite its relative brevity and target audience..."
Cross Fire
 
5.0
""Cross Fire" was a great sequel to Exo that wraps up all the major plotlines and possibilities. The zhree, an..."
Cross Fire
 
5.0
"Smart, well-paced, and intensely thought provoking. This series is on track to redefine sci-fi expectations for the YA genre. ..."
A Monster Calls
 
5.0
" This story packs a punch. With spare, powerful prose the author portrays a character growing increasingly angry and isolated..."
Teeth
 
3.7
"Great to have a male protagonist in YA. This was an interesting story that takes place on a lonely island..."
A Monster Calls
 
4.3
"What I Liked: Obviously, A Monster Calls came to me HIGHLY recommended from friends with great taste. That’s always exciting,..."
A Monster Calls
 
5.0
"A Monster Calls has to be the most inventive book I've read. And I find myself struggling to put in..."
A Monster Calls
 
5.0
"A Monster Calls is an unflinchingly honest story. It talks about our darkest, innermost secrets and how we leave certain..."
Revenge of a Not-So-Pretty Girl
 
4.0
"What I Loved: The strengths of this book are the realistic setting and the nuanced relationships between family members...."
A Monster Calls
 
4.3
"this book is a very good book. If you read it you'll be impressed. This book is featured for everyone..."
A Monster Calls
 
N/A
"I think whoever reads this book will argee with me that is a very mysterious and puzzling read. I..."
A Monster Calls
 
5.0
"It is a very good book"
A Monster Calls
 
4.0
"this story is intresting because it contans strong langwiges like rept,short setes like.As they do. "
A Monster Calls
 
4.3
"I loved this book.I didn't think it was my style as im in to Equine books,but this proved me wrong!Its..."
A Monster Calls
 
4.3
"It is a very good book a good plot and as it is baced on a real story of a..."
A Monster Calls
 
5.0
"Amazing book! The author uses a style wchich not alot of authors can use properly! this book should have..."
A Monster Calls
 
4.3
"This book is amazing!"
Teeth
 
4.3
"What I Loved: Moskowitz's writing in Teeth is not of a style that generally appeals to me, but the writing..."
Teeth
 
3.5
" I was drawn to this book because I liked the sound of..."