Review Detail

Young Adult Fiction 20226
Great Conclusion
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by ambeen

This is obviously going to be more positive than negative so lets get the negative, minor annoyances out of the way now:

" I did not like the nicknames Em and Jazz. Rose and Nessie didnt bother me. I felt Em and Jazz were poor nicknames for these two vampires. The nicknames strike me as juvenile and feminine. Both of which Emmett and Jasper are not.

" I still (since New Moon) found Bellas constant self-loathing to be annoying. Seriously, this girl has problems. I would expect such self-loathing and self-denying behavior to come from an anorexic or other masochistic type people who are bent on destroying themselves.

While Bella overcomes her self-loathing, its only once shes become a vampire. Maybe Meyer was trying to show self-consciousness has human traits, but it just seemed to me that Bella was only happy once she looked like a model. If only we could all become vampire models and rid ourselves of our self-conscious thoughts.

" The scenes in which Bella drinks human blood (while still human herself) made me literally sick to the stomach. She likes the smell and the taste of the blood. Its just a sickening scene imagining someone drinking blood and liking it. This isnt really a negative, though, just my own queasiness coming into play.

" Finally, the ending. It was pretty anti-climatic. There was a huge build up of tension and then POP! its gone. It was a bit of a let down after so much build up of tension. I suppose this is the sacrifice, though, for a happy ending.

Now for the positive/my response to the outrage over the novel:

I wasnt in as high anticipation of Breaking Dawn (nor have I really been for the others) until I read the spoilers. Thats when I knew I had to read it because I figured I wouldnt be one of the haters and had to put the random spoilers into context.

This is where I think the haters (for lack of a better term) are coming from, they are taking the events in the book and isolating them. The people who claim Meyer went against the world she created have decided to ignore the explanations given and rather isolate the event and critique it. So please, read it for yourself so its in context. Dont base your opinion on spoilers. If you read the spoilers and what the haters are saying, you too may assume the book must be trash. Seriously, put it in context.

That said, I think Meyer did a great job in ending the series. Granted the ending was anti-climatic, but I would rather it be that way than have to see any beloved characters die. It would just have been too heart breaking to end the novel with Edward and Bella dying, leaving Renesmee and Jacob to hide from the Volturi. If that had happened, I think the ending would have been more contrived than the way it did ended.

I loved the split narrative. I think I enjoyed the mid-section with Jacobs narrative the most. It really makes me look forward to reading from the other characters points of view if and when Meyer decides to write them (as far as I know Edwards is the only one definitely planned).
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Dragon Rising: A Mulan Inspired Fantasy
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sometimes a battle isn't waged on a bloody field. ...
The Queen's Assassin (Queen's Secret, #1)
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Sarah J. Maas and Red Queen,...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
The world is brimming full of incredible inventions - but...
Sisters of Shadow and Light
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The night my sister was born, the stars died and...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
He thinks she's shallow, she thinks he's a nerd. What...
Pete the Cat and the Perfect Pizza Party
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A groovy New York Times bestseller! ...
Seneca Element (The Seneca Society Book 2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
If you knew that creating singularity between your mind...
Our Year of Love and Parties
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this poignant, funny, and romantic novel, four nights...
Strayborn
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Elemental Manipulation is tricky. Only those with the power can...
The Path Divided
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Every choice has a consequence. When a magical picture...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
When fifteen-year-old Marlee Stanley joins her two sisters and the...
Shadowscent
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
An Ember in the Ashes meets Indiana Jones in...
Reverie
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Inception meets The Magicians, except with better wigs and...
Dark Saints Academy: The Soul Catcher
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
They call me the Dark Queen… Ryleigh...
Scarred
 
4.8
 
0.0 (0)
Life leaves you scarred. Love can make you beautiful....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Two friends in the 1980's were graduating from Cosmetology School....

Latest Member Reviews

The Queen's Assassin (Queen's Secret, #1)
 
3.3
"THE QUEEN'S ASSASSIN is a YA fantasy romance that would appeal to younger YA readers. The book follows Shadow and..."
Scavenge the Stars (Scavenge the Stars #1)
 
5.0
"SCAVENGE THE STARS is an engaging YA fantasy that gripped me from the start. Amaya, or Silverfish, is a girl..."
Sword and Pen (Great Library Book, #5)
 
5.0
"Isn't great to finish a series and feel satisfied? Sword and Pen by Rachel Caine is the final book in..."
Wonder Woman: Warbringer (DC Icons #1)
 
3.7
"I snapped this one up because I love Wonder Woman, and I much appreciated Leigh Bardugo's adept writing in Six..."
Our Year in Love and Parties
 
4.0
"What I loved: The story was told through the unique lens of four specific events with..."
Jack Kerouac is Dead to Me
 
4.3
"JACK KEROUAC IS DEAD TO ME is Gae Polisner’s most recent YA Contemporary novel. Like in her other books, she..."
Woven in Moonlight
 
5.0
"Woven in Moonlight is a beautiful and lush fantasy, based on the culture and history of Bolivia. It is set..."
We Are All His Creatures: Tales of P. T. Barnum, the Greatest Showman
 
3.0
"WE ARE ALL HIS CREATURES by Deborah Noyes is a series of eleven short stories about the beloved showman, P.T...."
Jane Anonymous: A Novel
 
4.7
"JANE ANONYMOUS follows two timelines: one while Jane was captured for 7 months and one after she is back home...."
Finding Mr. Better-Than-You
 
4.3
"FINDING MR. BETTER-THAN-YOU starts off like a cheesy romantic comedy, but ends up being a lot more fulfilling light-hearted YA..."
Freaky in Fresno
 
3.7
"FREAKY IN FRESNO is a spin on the old novel, FREAKY FRIDAY. Ricki (nickname for Lyric) had a falling out..."
Only Mostly Devastated
 
4.3
"ONLY MOSTLY DEVASTATED is a charming YA contemporary romance that follows Ollie. Ollie had lived in California, until this year..."
Neffatira's First Challenge
 
5.0
"The descriptions are very beautiful and you can perceive the feelings of the characters to the point of empathy. ..."
Ink in the Blood (Ink in the Blood Duology #1)
 
4.3
"INK IN THE BLOOD is an engaging and atmospheric YA fantasy. Celia Sand was delighted when she was chosen to..."
What I Want You to See
 
4.0
"WHAT I WANT YOU TO SEE is an interesting book that discusses homelessness, choices and their intersection with privilege, as..."
The 47 People You'll Meet in Middle School
 
4.7
"'The 47 People You'll Meet in Middle School' by Kristin Mahoney is an endearing look at an often hard time..."
 
4.0
"The insatiable oasis will hunt down the thieves of this book and tear them apart, limb by limb, devouring their..."
All the Stars and Teeth (All the Stars and Teeth, #1)
 
5.0
"ALL THE STARS AND TEETH is an imaginative and lush YA fantasy that transports the reader to a fascinating new..."
Wardens of Eternity
 
3.0
"WARDENS OF ETERNITY follows Ziva, a young woman who was abandoned as a toddler, became a ward of the state,..."
The Hand on the Wall (Truly Devious, #3)
 
4.3
"THE HAND ON THE WALL is a thrilling conclusion to the TRULY DEVIOUS series. Here, the students are at Ellingham,..."