Review Detail

Young Adult Fiction 2000
not a wasted effort
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by dede

In this book, we still hear and learn a little about Eddie, Susannah and Roland's past. This book also talks alot about ka, a kind of fate. Eddie starts carving, although he doesn't know what or what for. Roland tells them of a story he heard about the world when he was young. Roland is having trouble, slowly going crazy, and this brings us back to Jake from the first and second books. There are many mini stories in this book and a couple issues you will only notice the importance of in later books. Roland brings Jake back into his world and the four of them, five if you count Oy, who befriends Jake and is a billy-bumbler, somewhat like a racoon in our world, set off on their course. Jake is kidnapped by the Tick tock man and Gasher, and later they all have to ride on an isane homicidal train, Blaine. Blaine loves mind bending riddles and they have to stump him to survive, according to Blaine. They pass through and over many scary and desolute towns on the train and they all try to stump him.
This book can get kind of caught up in all the details at times, but it is a good visual book and very enjoyable.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

shine your icy crown
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
“Make them rue the day they underestimated you.” ...
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Sheinmel comes the...
Kamala Harris: Rooted in Justice
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Discover the incredible story of a young daughter of immigrants...
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera, this is...
Paris Cat
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A sassy cat from the back alleys of Paris believes...
The Last Hazelnut
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When two woodland friends have a misunderstanding over who ate...
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
He saw the darkness in her magic. She saw the...
Rescue
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Six hundred and fifty-seven days ago, Meg Kenyon's father left...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
“We are most courageous at our weakest; when we believe...
The Night Walk
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Mama opened our bedroom door. "Wake up, you two," she...
My Very Merry Ugly Christmas Sweater
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Celebrate the perfect, ugly expression of holiday cheer in this...
You and Me
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This sweet celebration of love is perfect for sharing with...
Baby's First Farm
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Babies and toddlers can lift the flaps to look inside...
Can I Come Too?
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Join a tiny mouse as she searches for the biggest...
The Shadow War
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Inglourious Basterds meets Stranger Things in this dark and...
Dark Stars
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dorothy finds herself completely alone. ...

Latest Member Reviews

The Speed of Falling Objects
 
5.0
"THE SPEED OF FALLING OBJECTS begins with a bang- Danny has been in a plane crash and is lost in..."
Pandora's Key
 
5.0
"If you're looking for a twisted, supernatural, edge of your seat ride, read PANDORA'S KEY!! "
Pandora's Key
 
5.0
"On her sixteenth birthday Evangeline is given a necklace with a key charm. Everything changes. Her looks morph..."