Review Detail

Young Adult Fiction 2315
Imani All Mine by Connie Porter
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by Robyn

This is an amazing book. Very powerfully written. I am not going to give away the ending, but it completely caught me by surprise - and it brought tears to me eyes.

Tasha is 15, she lives in a rough neighborhood in Buffalo NY, she's a good student, top of her class, stays out of trouble, and she has a baby, Imani.

Imani means "faith" in Swahili.

One night Tasha is hanging out at Skate-A-Rama with her friends. This guy approaches her and asks her name. He's older, he's good looking... he wants to talk, so him and Tasha go outside. There are other kids hanging out front of the roller rink when they get outside. The boy takes Tasha's hand and leads her around back, where it's quieter, so they can talk.

They talk for maybe 5 minutes -- Tasha can't even remember what was said -- when the boy throw himself at her and starts kissing her. She tries to push him away and he throws her to the ground and gets on top of her. Tasha is yelling, get off me, get off me, when the boy tells her, I have a knife and if I have to show it to you I am going to have to use it on you. Tasha isn't stupid, so she shuts her mouth. The boy puts her face down on the ground and has his way with her. After he is done, he just leaves her there.

9 months later Imani is born.

I have book talked this book to high school freshman and it has gone over very well. A wonderful, powerful book.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Movies, mansions, and murder in the Golden Age of Hollywood!...
Kamala and Maya's Big Idea
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Meena Harris debuts with an empowering picture book about two...
Harvey Holds His Own (The Harvey Stories, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The West Highland Terrier that brought Harvey Comes Home to...
Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A teenage girl wonders if she’s inherited more than just...
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times bestselling author Amanda Hocking returns to...
The Hunt
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Death marked her from her very first breath. Being...
Swallowed by a Secret
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
One dead father. One lying mother. ...
Circus of the Dead Book One
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
There are many ways to die at the Circus...
Roaring
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Colt Clemmons is an agent in a specialized division...
Court of Lions
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Court of Lions is the long-awaited second and final...
More Than Just a Pretty Face
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Jenny Han, a...
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After the events at Llethanyl, city of the elves, Zed...

Latest Member Reviews

Stanley's Toolbox
 
4.5
"STANLEY'S TOOLBOX is a delightful board book that shows many tools in action as Stanley helps to repair Little Woo's..."
Smashy Town
 
5.0
"SMASHY TOWN is a huge hit for young readers! The book follows Mr. Gilly as he demolishes some old buildings..."
Diggersaurs Explore (Diggersaurs)
 
5.0
"DIGGERSAURS EXPLORE is a delightful sequel to the book taking the toddler world by storm! Whether you have a little..."
Diggersaurs
 
5.0
"DIGGERSAURS is perfect for children who love dinosaurs, construction vehicles, bright colors, and/or fun, rhyming phrases. This book re-imagines construction..."
Dig, Dogs, Dig
 
4.0
"In this colorful book for emergent readers, a team of construction dogs gather their equipment and set out to build..."