Review Detail

Young Adult Fiction 4639
Calling all Harry Potter fans!
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
City of Bones is an absolutely riveting fantasy novel, I daresay the best new series since Harry Potter. Cassandra Clare just encompasses all the elements of magic and the different fantasy creatures so well, creating an urban mythical world entirely her own. This book caught my attention immediately, with a murder taking place in the first chapter.

Clary Fray is a seemingly ordinary girl, on the short side and with a love for art. One night, at a favorite nightclub, Clary witnesses a group of Shadowhunters murder a demon. For some reason, she is the only person who can see them. It is only a little later on that Clary learns the truth. Shadowhunters are humans who have the power and responsibility of killing demons. Clary believes that she is nothing more than a Mundane, a human with no special powers like the Shadowhunters, but soon, she discovers that much of her past has been kept a secret from her. Her mother was not merely an artist, like Clary believed, but an important Shadowhunter who once played an important role in an important and dangerous Shadowhunter cult.

When her mother is abducted, Clary knows that she must learn all she can about the world she has only recently discovered if she ever wants to see her mother again. Along with the fighting evil element, Cassandra Clare manages to incorporate a very believable romantic plot, involving Clary, her best friend Simon, and the arrogant, but ever sexy Shadowhunter, Jace. Their little love triangle takes a sharp turn with an unexpected plot twist near the end of the novel.

As the first book in a trilogy, City of Bones does a great job of introducing the many colorful characters, and providing the background information necessary for understanding the world that Cassandra Clare has created. In a couple of places, this background information can become a bit tedious, but Clares style of writing can give even the most trivial details an air of importance. I find it quite remarkable that the author was primarily a Harry Potter fan-fiction writer, and has now come out with her own book. I can see quite a few similarities between City of Bones and Harry Potter, with the plot, and with the characters. But these similarities are never overwhelming and do not deter my enjoyment of the story. If the next two books in the trilogy are as exciting with the witty banter between characters that I have come to enjoy so much, Cassandra Clare will have written an exceptional fantasy trilogy!
A2
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 2 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Two Dogs on a Trike
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Count up to 10 and back down again in this...
Bonaparte Plays Ball
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Join a skeleton named Bonaparte and his teammates as they...
Strong Voices: Fifteen American Speeches Worth Knowing
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Strong Voices: Fifteen American Speeches Worth Knowing is a collection...
Bernard Makes a Splash
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A heartwarming story from textile designer and illustrator Lisa Stickley...
Wild Girl: How to Have Incredible Outdoor Adventures
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Calling wild girls everywhere! Helen Skelton – adventurer, world-record breaker...
Stanley's Paint Box
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
It’s another busy day with Stanley and friends! ...
The Unleashed
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the terrifying sequel to The Haunted, Hendricks discovers that...
Paint by Sticker Kids: Dinosaurs: Create 10 Pictures One Sticker at a Time!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Create pictures of 10 awesome dinosaurs... with stickers! ...
Tad
Tad
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
From Benji Davies, the award-winning creator of The Storm Whale...
Go Get 'Em, Tiger! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The perfect picture book to celebrate every milestone from the...
A World of Opposites
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From ALONE and TOGETHER to ABOVE and BELOW, Gray Malin’s...
The Voting Booth
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Stonewall Award-winning author Brandy Colbert comes an all-in-one-day love...
Now & When
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Jenny Han and Christine Riccio comes a...
Dating Makes Perfect
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Tech sisters don’t date in high school. Not because...
Now That I've Found You
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Now That I've Found You is a YA novel about...
Entwined
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sometimes love gets a bit twisted. ...

Latest Member Reviews

Two Dogs on a Trike
 
4.5
"TWO DOGS ON A TRIKE is an adorable counting book for toddlers and preschoolers. Each page features dogs in different..."
Bonaparte Plays Ball
 
4.0
"BONAPARTE PLAYS BALL matches up the Monsters and Aliens at the Weird Series baseball game. Bonaparte and his team practice..."
Bernard Makes a Splash
 
3.0
"BERNARD MAKES A SPLASH is an overall cute story about stepping outside of your comfort zone. Bernard practices diving whenever..."
Lost for Words
 
5.0
"LOST FOR WORDS is a sweet picture book about finding your own way to express yourself. Tapir has a new..."
Stanley's Paint Box
 
5.0
"STANLEY'S PAINT BOX is a charming board book about colors. Stanley is helping Sophie, Little Woo, and Benjamin paint boxes...."
Tad
Tad
 
4.5
"TAD is a colorful and engaging journey into the water, as we follow Tad, a tadpole. Tad lives with her..."
Go Get 'Em, Tiger! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
5.0
"GO GET 'EM, TIGER! is a brightly colored and delightful picture book of encouragement. The book features a tiger ("you")..."
If...
 
3.5
"IF... is an imaginative picture book that features artwork imagining impossible scenarios in artwork, with simple text to correspond. For..."
The Three Little Yogis and the Wolf Who Lost His Breath: A Fairy Tale to Help You Feel Better (Feel-Good Fairy Tales)
 
4.0
"THE THREE LITTLE YOGIS AND THE WOLF WHO LOST HIS BREATH is a great picture book that teaches children meditation..."
Rival Magic
 
3.0
"Antonia, wizarding apprentice to Master Betrys, may not be the best at actual magic, but she tries her absolute best..."
Be Our Guest!
 
4.0
"BE OUR GUEST! is a colorful book of photographs. The book takes us to a hotel, where a monkey named..."
Hat Tricks
 
3.0
"HAT TRICKS is a story of magic. Hattie the rabbit pops out of her magic hat to perform some magic...."
Stanley's Toolbox
 
4.5
"STANLEY'S TOOLBOX is a delightful board book that shows many tools in action as Stanley helps to repair Little Woo's..."
Spring Is Here!
 
5.0
"SPRING IS HERE! is a delightful board book that features several animals in the springtime setting. The book is extra..."
Lali's Feather
 
5.0
"LALI'S FEATHER is a delightful and colorful picture book that explores birds and imagination. Lali is playing when she finds..."
A Friend for Mole
 
3.5
"A FRIEND FOR MOLE is a cute picture book that speaks to unlikely friendships and shared experiences. Mole is happy..."
 
5.0
"This book is a winner the moment a reader lays eyes on that cover--and the title. My niece--who is picky..."
 
5.0
"This book is absolutely adorable. Dragons can suddenly show up wherever the characters are and they have to..."
The Girl and the Ghost
 
4.0
"5 Reasons to Read THE GIRL AND THE GHOST 1.) Beautiful prose- This was my first time..."
Brother's Keeper
 
5.0
"BROTHER'S KEEPER is a highly engrossing and heartfelt read about a 12-year-old girl and her dangerous journey from North to..."