American Born Chinese

 
0.0
 
3.8 (6)
2938 0

User reviews

3 reviews with 5 stars

6 reviews

 
(3)
 
(1)
 
(1)
2 stars
 
(0)
 
(1)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Back to Listing
3 results - showing 1 - 3
Ordering
The Perfect Mixture of Serious and Silly
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by Misty

Gene Luen Yang
blends three stories (that of the famous chinese Monkey god from
Journey to the West; the story of Jin Wang, an American boy born of
Chinese immigrants; and Chin-Kee, a walking stereotype) into one
humorous and thought-provoking story told in graphic novel form that
reads like a self-effacing diary. His characters are funny and
charming, and the three separate threads combine at the end to make
them something greater than the sum of their parts.

American Born Chinese
is easily a one-sitting read, though much more time may be spent poring
over the illustrations (which have a Bazooka Joe lightness to them),
which capture the moods perfectly.

Despite mild and rare cursing, this book can easily be shared with younger readers.

Yang manages to deal with serious subjects with a light hand,
respecting them without getting bogged down in didacticism or the
pointing of fingers. His writing is fun, witty and playful, and his
book charming.

Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Seems strange at first, but wow what a cool ending!
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by Meg

When I first started reading this book, I was like "Huh? What do these story lines have to do with each other. Why would anyone want to represent asian americans this way?" But then I got to the end and man was it cool how the author wrapped the three storylines together and the ending was totally like, "asian americans, rah rah rah!" Made me proud.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
3 Different Stories for Everyone
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by Stephanie

This book became a groundbreaker for graphic novels by winning the 2007 Printz Award, the highest award given to young adult literature. What do a mythical monkey king, a Chinese boy, and a white boy have in common? More than you think!

Jin Wang moves from his almost completely Asian neighborhood to a white suburb. The monkey king (a famous Chinese legend) deals with his arrogance and feelings of superiority, only to be taught humility. Danny, a white boy, must deal with annual visits from his super-Chinese cousin Chin-Kee, who always manages to ruin Dannys life just enough that he is forced to transfer schools at the end of every year.

Each of their tales is touchingly real and raw with truth, and come together in a somewhat confusing ending. Asians and non-Asians alike will appreciate the myth, mystery, and reality that appear in AMERICAN BORN CHINESE. I highly recommend this novel.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
3 results - showing 1 - 3
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

City of Spells (Into the Crooked Place, #2)
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
City of Spells, the follow-up to Alexandra Christo's gritty YA...
Christmas Parade
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
A delightful Christmas board book filled with hilarious characters and...
Best Friend in the Whole World
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Roland lives a quiet life filled with books, music, and...
Bird Show
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Award-winning author-illustrator Susan Stockdale welcomes you to the Bird Show,...
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
He saw the darkness in her magic. She saw...
My Book of Feelings (My World)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Inspired by the Montessori method of education this unique board...
Sweet & Bitter Magic
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
In this charming debut fantasy perfect for fans of Sorcery...
My High School Rebel Boyfriend
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
He’s a rebel with a cause… to make my...
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Sheinmel comes...
Dark Stars
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dorothy finds herself completely alone. Roman is dead. The...
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera, this...
Daughter of Darkness
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
She is destined to kill a demon. He is...
The Smile Shop
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Critically-acclaimed author-illustrator Satoshi Kitamura (Hat Tricks) celebrates the value of...
Stanley's Lunch Box
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Everyone’s favorite hard-working hamster Stanley introduces young readers to a...
What Are Unicorns Made Of?
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Have you ever wondered what unicorns are made of? Are...
Grandfather Bowhead, Tell Me a Story
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Richly illustrated and lovingly told, this book is a warm...

Latest Member Reviews

Once Upon a Space-Time (#1)
 
4.0
"There are human kids who are studying at the Earth School for Space Mission Preparation in the year 2216. They..."
No Adults Allowed (Super Sidekicks #1)
 
4.0
"It's hard work being a super hero, but it's even harder work when you are the side kick to an..."
The Amazing Beef Squad: Never Say Die!
 
5.0
"Of COURSE, Stupidball games always end badly, but this doesn't stop friends Hogue, Jared, Pratchett and our narrator Nick Rhodes..."
Charlie Thorne and the Lost City (Charlie Thorne #2)
 
5.0
"After her adventures in Charlie Thorne and the Last Equation, Charlie is hiding out in the Galapagos Islands in Ecuador,..."
Confessions of a Class Clown
 
5.0
"Jack Reynolds is the sort of kid that teachers put in the back of the classroom-- surrounded by all of..."
Stick Dog Crashes a Party (#8)
 
4.5
"Stick Dog and his friends are hungry. After a hilarious episode with a ketchup packet, they decide to go and..."
Stick Dog Slurps Spaghetti (#6)
 
4.5
"These books appeal to everyone from strong emergent readers and stressed middle schoolers to librarians who have a secret desire..."
Stick Dog (Stick Dog #1)
 
4.5
"Stick Dog lives under a bridge and is quite happy there. He hangs out with his dog friends, Mutt, Poo-poo..."
Stick Dog Takes Out Sushi (#11)
 
5.0
"The dogs are hungry, but trying to distract themselves with naps. This doesn't work, and when Mutt shakes some out..."
Heroes Level Up (Homerooms & Hall Passes #2)
 
5.0
"Albiorix and his crew are having a great time being back in Bríandalör, successfully completing a lot of quests, but..."
Ronan Boyle and the Swamp of Certain Death (Ronan Boyle, #2)
 
4.0
"RONAN BOYLE AND THE SWAMP OF CERTAIN DEATH is a comedic middle grade fantasy that features a young boy on..."
The Pros of Cons
 
4.0
"WHAT I LOVED: I genuinely can't imagine four different events happening simultaneously in the same complex, but it happens..."
Bad Brows
 
4.0
"BAD BROWS is a humorous picture book that follows Bernard when he wakes up for a day with brows that..."
Stick Dog Meets His Match (#10)
 
5.0
"As the soft, fragrant warmth of spring strips the chill from Stick Dog's world, he and his friends approach the..."
Frankenstein Doesn't Wear Earmuffs!
 
4.0
"This Halloween season, it is very cold, but Frankenstein still wants to participate in the Halloween festivities. However, his parents..."
My Calamity Jane
 
5.0
"What worked: This is a fun paranormal twist on historical figures set in the Wild West of 1876. I loved..."
My Weird School Special: We’re Red, Weird, and Blue! What Can We Do?
 
5.0
"It's February, which A.J. considers to be the worst month of all. It's hard to spell, teachers want to celebrate..."
The Epic Crush of Genie Lo
 
5.0
"FEEDBACK I honestly don’t even know where to start. Originally I read this book because I got an advanced..."
The Bad Guys in the Baddest Day Ever (The Bad Guys #10)
 
4.5
"Snake is dead, and the Bad Guys, as well as the League of Heroes, are gathered for the funeral. Faced..."
Pig the Tourist
 
5.0
"PIG THE TOURIST features our beloved pug named Pig while he goes on vacation. The only thing is that he..."