American Born Chinese

 
0.0
 
3.8 (6)
2913 0

User reviews

6 reviews

 
(3)
 
(1)
 
(1)
2 stars
 
(0)
 
(1)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Back to Listing
6 results - showing 1 - 6
Ordering
3 Different Stories for Everyone
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by Stephanie

This book became a groundbreaker for graphic novels by winning the 2007 Printz Award, the highest award given to young adult literature. What do a mythical monkey king, a Chinese boy, and a white boy have in common? More than you think!

Jin Wang moves from his almost completely Asian neighborhood to a white suburb. The monkey king (a famous Chinese legend) deals with his arrogance and feelings of superiority, only to be taught humility. Danny, a white boy, must deal with annual visits from his super-Chinese cousin Chin-Kee, who always manages to ruin Dannys life just enough that he is forced to transfer schools at the end of every year.

Each of their tales is touchingly real and raw with truth, and come together in a somewhat confusing ending. Asians and non-Asians alike will appreciate the myth, mystery, and reality that appear in AMERICAN BORN CHINESE. I highly recommend this novel.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Seems strange at first, but wow what a cool ending!
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by Meg

When I first started reading this book, I was like "Huh? What do these story lines have to do with each other. Why would anyone want to represent asian americans this way?" But then I got to the end and man was it cool how the author wrapped the three storylines together and the ending was totally like, "asian americans, rah rah rah!" Made me proud.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
The Perfect Mixture of Serious and Silly
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by Misty

Gene Luen Yang
blends three stories (that of the famous chinese Monkey god from
Journey to the West; the story of Jin Wang, an American boy born of
Chinese immigrants; and Chin-Kee, a walking stereotype) into one
humorous and thought-provoking story told in graphic novel form that
reads like a self-effacing diary. His characters are funny and
charming, and the three separate threads combine at the end to make
them something greater than the sum of their parts.

American Born Chinese
is easily a one-sitting read, though much more time may be spent poring
over the illustrations (which have a Bazooka Joe lightness to them),
which capture the moods perfectly.

Despite mild and rare cursing, this book can easily be shared with younger readers.

Yang manages to deal with serious subjects with a light hand,
respecting them without getting bogged down in didacticism or the
pointing of fingers. His writing is fun, witty and playful, and his
book charming.

Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Three stories in one
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by Springhair

This book was a little confusing at first, mostly because it deals with three different stories. At first they seem to have nothing at all to do with each other, but by the end all three are combined in a way that makes the book totally worth reading. Although it is a fairly thick book, it isnt hard to read or follow at all, so it goes really quickly. I especially liked the message it presented about learning to be true to yourself.

This book also just won the Printz award, and it totally deserved it. Read this book!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
comical and 3 stories that all connect to one
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by mayu

I Believed this book was ok not the greatest thing i read but this book teaches a good lesson. Never forget who you are just to fit in or to be liked by someone if they cant accept you for who you are their not your true friends. I would recommend anyone who is struggle with their culture and the one others have should read this book.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Best Stories Ever !
Overall rating 
 
1.0
Plot 
 
1.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by Rey

Have you ever seen three different stories at once that combine together at once? A book that is a real-life situation, that happens mostly to teenagers now on. The first story is about a monkey (later on is called the monkey king) that was born from a rock by Tze-Yo-Tzuh, the monkey thinks he isnt a monkey, he thinks since he has learned kung-fu that any human being has learned he should be called
The Great Sage Equal of Heaven but people still think he is a monkey and thats why he cant go to human parties.


 


The second story is about a boy named Jin Wang, born in San Francisco. He was nine years old when his parents moved to America. This story talks about his teenage life like he is the only Chinese boy in his school, people dont talk to him because he acts like Chinese and not American and he tries to be American and not Chinese. This story is the best.


 


The third story is about Danny who is the coolest kid in his school and the only problem with him is that his cousin brother named Chin-Kee, he visits him each year. He doesnt like when he eats Chinese food, wearing Chinese clothes, and acting smart in class and every year he has to change the school too and he is very disappointed with it. Read this book to find the amazing ending. I recommend this book to teenagers because there is some racist stuff in it about Chinese people and its really funny.


                                                                                                                                                                                                                 

Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
6 results - showing 1 - 6
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

shine your icy crown
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
“Make them rue the day they underestimated you.” ...
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Sheinmel comes the...
Kamala Harris: Rooted in Justice
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Discover the incredible story of a young daughter of immigrants...
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera, this is...
Paris Cat
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A sassy cat from the back alleys of Paris believes...
The Last Hazelnut
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When two woodland friends have a misunderstanding over who ate...
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
He saw the darkness in her magic. She saw the...
Rescue
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Six hundred and fifty-seven days ago, Meg Kenyon's father left...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
“We are most courageous at our weakest; when we believe...
The Night Walk
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Mama opened our bedroom door. "Wake up, you two," she...
My Very Merry Ugly Christmas Sweater
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Celebrate the perfect, ugly expression of holiday cheer in this...
You and Me
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This sweet celebration of love is perfect for sharing with...

Latest Member Reviews

No entries were found