Abandon (Abandon Trilogy #1)

 
5.0
 
3.2 (13)
2746 3

User reviews

2 reviews with 1 stars

13 reviews

 
(1)
 
(6)
 
(2)
 
(2)
 
(2)
Overall rating 
 
3.2
Plot 
 
3.1  (13)
Characters 
 
3.3  (13)
Writing Style 
 
3.2  (13)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Back to Listing
2 results - showing 1 - 2
Ordering
That was painful
Overall rating 
 
1.0
Plot 
 
1.0
Characters 
 
1.0
Writing Style 
 
1.0
1.5 stars.
It was okay, but I will never pick up this book to read it again.
While the story was pretty good, the writing was down right horrible.

At one point she's talking about one thing then BAM it turns into something else and leaves you thinking "What the heck? Did I just miss something?" and it makes you check the book pages to make sure there aren't any pages missing. Then later you realize "OH! It's a memory!" Well why in the heck didn't you make that clear? Sheesh, put it in italic or something.

I'm just glad she made it clear it was based off the myth, so don't think hell is full of pretty boys wanting to dress you in white dresses and flowers ready to warm you up by a fireplace with a table of foods and water, because it isn't.


"Meg Cabot is the master of her genre." - Publisher Weekly"
"Meg Cabot is arguably the queen of contemporary teen novels...Her retelling of this old myth is smart, sassy, and of the moment. - New York Journal of Books

I wonder how much she had to pay them to print those lies. -_-
Even as a teenager, I could NOT stand her books. Now, I thought "Hey, maybe she's gotten better over the years, I'll try to read these and see how they go."
GoodNESS.. they are a waste.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Abandon
Overall rating 
 
1.3
Plot 
 
1.0
Characters 
 
1.0
Writing Style 
 
2.0
I didn’t know anything about Abandon when I first picked it up, but when I learned that it was a retelling of Hades and Persephone, I got really excited. I loved Everneath, another book based on this myth, so I had high hopes for this one. Unfortunately, I was quite disappointed by it. Pierce died when she was 15, and was brought back, but not before entering the Underworld. John, a death deity, that she had met as a child, wants to keep her there with him, but she escapes. Now, two years later she’s back to where it all started. The Furies are after her, and John wants to bring her back with him in order to protect her. Pierce just wants to make a new start and get on with her life.

Abandon has a very narrow time span. The first 100 pages all take place on one day. No, I’m not joking. This works for some books, but not for this one, since nothing happens. It was one very long, uneventful day. Well, there are some flashbacks, but still, a third of the book happens on the same day. I was super confused almost the whole time. I just did not get what was going on, and felt that the story was very strange. Why does Pierce keep apologizing to John? Why is John so pissed off? How did she get away from him the day she died? What’s the deal with the necklace? What are these “incidents” that John keeps saving her from? I felt like I was jumping into the middle of the series despite this being the first book!

I just have to wonder, why doesn’t Abandon start with Pierce’s accident, or even the events that led to her getting kicked out of school? There’s more than enough flashbacks that the author could have rearranged the chapters a bit and given us the story in chronological order. I normally don’t mind flashbacks, but there’s so many of them, and they’re mostly full chapters. Nearly the entire middle third is made up of flashbacks. It made the story feel disjointed and added to my confusion about the plot. Even by page 260ish, I still had no clue what the plot was. But it was also only the second day of the story. Another long, uneventful day. Things did start to pick up around that point though, thankfully.

Abandon was a weird one for me. Nothing happens at all for over 200 pages, and then everything just kind of happens all at once in the last few pages. I liked the twist on the mythology, but the plot was super boring, if you can even call two days of nothing a plot. I am curious about what the Underworld will bring for Pierce though.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
2 results - showing 1 - 2
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Sister of the Bollywood Bride
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Morgan Matson's Save the Date comes a...
Nosotros Means Us: Un cuento bilingüe
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A moving bilingual ode to the unshakeable bond between a...
Awakened Are the Starry-Eyed
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A new city and unexpected freedom give Andrea the fresh...
A Brutal Justice
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Protect the weak. Safety for all. Power without virtue is...
A Tale of Ashes
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Across the country, human teens are going missing, and all...
The Captain's Daughters
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
What would you do if you were abducted by aliens,...
The Hollow Inside
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Phoenix has spent much of her life drifting from...
Truth or Dare
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Welcome to Summervale… One of the USA’s top vacation...
Around Curiosity's Edge: Hidden Meridians
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A hidden world waits, a dark society schemes, and a...
Spells Trouble (Sisters of Salem, #1)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Double double, twins spell trouble… ...
10 Truths and a Dare
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
It's Senior Party Week, that magical in-between time after...
The Promised Prince
 
4.3
 
5.0 (1)
Perfect for fans of the Selection series by Kiera...
Indivisible
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This timely, moving debut novel follows a teen's efforts...
The Other Side of Perfect
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Sarah Dessen and Mary H.K. Choi,...
Counting Down with You
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this sparkling and romantic YA debut, a reserved...
Gutter Girl (Twin River High, #1)
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Star football player Jace Rovers has a secret. And...

Latest Member Reviews

The Last Fallen Star (Gifted Clans, #1)
 
5.0
"THE LAST FALLEN STAR is a thrilling epic fantasy. Riley Oh is a saram, a person without magic, adopted by..."
Eva Evergreen, Semi-Magical Witch
 
5.0
"Eva Evergreen is a young witch about to embark on her Novice Quest. As the daughter of one of the..."
Bridge of Souls (City of Ghosts #3)
 
4.0
"What worked: This is a satisfying conclusion to City of Ghosts series. Engaging characters, fast-paced plot, and spooky magic woven..."
Aru Shah and the City of Gold
 
5.0
"***This review contains spoilers for the prior series installment, book 3, ARU SHAH AND THE TREE OF WISHES** With..."
The Threads of Magic
 
3.0
"Pip picks pockets to get food for himself and his sister, El. When he picks something unexpected, a mysterious box..."
The Last Fallen Star
 
5.0
"Riley Oh is thrilled for her sister, Hattie, to finally be formally initiated into the Gom clan on her 13th..."
The Wild Huntsboys
 
4.0
"Luka lives in a dystopian future, in Bellum, which is war torn and horrible. There is technology, when their aren't..."
A Wolf for a Spell
 
4.0
"Zima is struggling to adjust to the new dynamics of her pack ever since her parents died in a fire..."
Little Lion Rescue (Little Animal Rescue)
 
4.0
"Callie's class is on a trip to the zoo. Since Callie wants to be a veterinarian when she grows up,..."
City of the Plague God
 
5.0
"Sik spends most of his time working at this parents' deli in New York City. One evening when he's closing..."
The Captive Kingdom
 
5.0
"*I received an eARC of this book through Edelweiss+ in exchange for an honest review* Jaron has returned with..."
The Memory Thief  (Thirteen Witches #1)
 
5.0
"Rosie has always taken care of herself and her mother in their house overlooking the coast of Maine. Her mother..."
The Boy, the Wolf, and the Stars
 
5.0
"THE BOY, THE WOLF, AND THE STARS is an enchanting middle grade fantasy. Bo was left in the woods as..."
Dragon Mountain
 
5.0
"Billy Chan has gotten an invitation to attend Camp Dragon, a cultural and language school in China, so his parents..."
The Wizenard Series: Season One
 
4.0
"THE WIZENARD SERIES: SEASON ONE is written by Wesley King and created by Kobe Bryant. The MG fantasy follows Reggie,..."
The Triumphant Tale of Pippa North
 
4.0
"THE TRIUMPHANT TALE OF PIPPA NORTH combines magic and humor in a middle grade fantasy full of charm. Pippa is..."
Ronan Boyle and the Swamp of Certain Death (Ronan Boyle, #2)
 
4.0
"RONAN BOYLE AND THE SWAMP OF CERTAIN DEATH is a comedic middle grade fantasy that features a young boy on..."
Rival Magic
 
3.0
"Antonia, wizarding apprentice to Master Betrys, may not be the best at actual magic, but she tries her absolute best..."
The Chronicles of Narnia: The Magician's Nephew
 
4.5
"A prequel and an origin story; in more ways than one. It becomes easy to see..."
The Cassandra Curse (Muse Squad, #1)
 
4.0
"MUSE SQUAD: THE CASSANDRA CURSE is a fun middle grade fantasy that brings Greek mythology into the present. Callie is..."