Review Detail

Young Adult Indie 284
Excited to See Where This Trilogy Goes Next
Overall rating 
 
4.8
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Plot/Story 
 
5.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Characters (if applicable) 
 
5.0
Editing/Design Quality 
 
4.0
I’ll cut to the chase before I delve into a more detailed review; I loved this book! I binge-read The Connection in a day and a half and have already recommended it to a few family members both YA-aged and those like myself who love the genre many years later.

The Connection is very reminiscent of a lot of the YA supernatural/dystopian/romance series that have risen to popularity - the dynamic between the main characters serves up major Divergent/Twilight vibes (in the best of ways). Naturally, I ate it right up. It is angsty and full of all of the teenage feels that make reading a book like this such an awesome escape from reality.

I’m a sucker for dual-perspective novels and feel like the alternating POV really lends a hand to the fast-paced nature of this book and to the development of the main characters, Bea and Cash, whose enemies-to-lovers romance is at the core of this novel. Bea’s life is turned upside down when family secrets come to life and she learns of an otherworldly connection to an alien race. She is so much more than a foolish high schooler, which I loved, and she really gives the cocky Cash a run for his money as the two butt heads while he tries to keep her safe to save their respective planets.

Aside from the main characters, the secondary characters are also fleshed out in a way that allows the reader to really place themselves within the universe of this book. I didn’t feel like Darla, Tasha and co were sidelined or one-dimensional in the telling of this story.

This novel is a sci-fi YA romance, however, it is light on the science fiction aspect, which I actually appreciated. I found it to be the best of both worlds.

I’m very much looking forward to the second installment of this series and have added Dana Claire to the list of authors that I now follow.
Good Points
Quick and easy read with memorable characters. I loved that this novel was a present-day sci-fi romance that still felt relatable.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Hollow Inside
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Phoenix has spent much of her life drifting from...
Spells Trouble (Sisters of Salem, #1)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Double double, twins spell trouble… ...
10 Truths and a Dare
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
It's Senior Party Week, that magical in-between time after...
The Promised Prince
 
4.3
 
5.0 (1)
Perfect for fans of the Selection series by Kiera...
Indivisible
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This timely, moving debut novel follows a teen's efforts...
The Other Side of Perfect
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Sarah Dessen and Mary H.K. Choi,...
Counting Down with You
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this sparkling and romantic YA debut, a reserved...
Gutter Girl (Twin River High, #1)
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Star football player Jace Rovers has a secret. And...
Secondhand Dogs
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A heartwarming—and heart-tugging—middle grade novel about love, loyalty, and what...
High School Musical: The Musical: The Series: The Road Trip
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Join everyone's favorite Wildcats from the Disney+ smash hit original...
I'll Meet You in Your Dreams
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A heartwarming text honoring the ever-evolving relationship of a parent...
Colors of Habitats
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The brand-new sequel to a well-reviewed bestseller that has been...
Noble Thief (Fantasy and Fairytales Book 6)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A prince of two kingdoms. A woman fighting against the...
All These Bodies
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sixteen bloodless bodies. Two teenagers. One impossible explanation. ...
The Beautiful Ones
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
They are the Beautiful Ones, Loisail’s most notable socialites, and...
I Am the Shark
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
What makes the great white shark (one of) the greatest...

Latest Member Reviews

Secondhand Dogs
 
5.0
"Gus is the pack leader at Miss Lottie's house, and has kept the peace well with excitable Roo, loyal and..."
High School Musical: The Musical: The Series: The Road Trip
 
4.0
"HIGH SCHOOL MUSICAL: THE MUSICAL: THE SERIES: THE ROAD TRIP is a fun book that compliments the show by diving..."
I'll Meet You in Your Dreams
 
5.0
"I'LL MEET YOU IN YOUR DREAMS is a gorgeously illustrated picture book about parental love that spans space and time...."
No Adults Allowed (Super Sidekicks #1)
 
4.5
"This is a cute read! No Adults Allowed is the first book in a new series from author Gavin Aung..."
The Last Fallen Star (Gifted Clans, #1)
 
5.0
"THE LAST FALLEN STAR is a thrilling epic fantasy. Riley Oh is a saram, a person without magic, adopted by..."
I Don't Want to Go to School
 
3.5
"I DON'T WANT TO GO TO SCHOOL features Dinosaur and Mouse, who are both scared of their first day of..."
The Mother of Monsters
 
4.5
"‘The Mother of Monsters’ by Fran Parnell, illustrated by Sophie Fatus, tells the story of Ntombi, the chief's daughter. She..."
Grim, Grunt and Grizzle-Tail: A Story from Chile
 
4.5
"‘Grim, Grunt and Grizzle-Tail’ by Fran Parnell, illustrated by Sophie Fatus, is great for younger elementary readers and anyone who..."
Baseball Baby
 
5.0
"BASEBALL BABY is a delightful board book about baseball. The book begins with heading to the park to play baseball..."
I Am Not a Penguin
 
4.0
"I AM NOT A PENGUIN is a silly picture book that manages to teach young readers about pangolins. A pangolin..."
Sam Can't Sleep
 
4.5
"SAM CAN'T SLEEP is a fun picture book read that introduces the concept of nocturnal animals. It's nighttime, and all..."
Welcome to California
 
4.0
"WELCOME TO CALIFORNIA is a fun picture book of facts about the state. It covers topics from the state capitol..."