Review Detail

Young Adult Indie 277
A Daring Heroine and a Caged Bird Unite
Overall rating 
 
4.8
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Plot/Story 
 
4.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Characters (if applicable) 
 
5.0
Editing/Design Quality 
 
5.0
What a start to the series! Sting Magic by Sarah K.L. Wilson is a fantastic, quick read that takes you on an adventure through a cursed woods with a daring heroine and a caged bird. Friends if you like YA fantasy, I highly recommend you read this one.

The story begins on Aella’s Hatching Day at the far edges of the Winged Empire. Aella is a force to be reckoned with. On her Hatching Day, she doesn’t expect to hatch, show magic, but she does. However unlike everyone in the empire, Aella doesn’t hatch a bird, but bees. She is an abomination, an oddity, and the prince claims her as his, taking her with him as they continue their track across the empire.

Le Majest claims he is there to bring peace, yet he sows discord, taking the villagers’ weapons, their only defense against the Forbidden. Aella has spent her entire life at the edge of the empire fighting the Forbidden, a twisted sort of magic that consumes everything in its path. Seeing her family and others forced to give up their only defense stirs a resentment that has been building within her.

I really like Aella. She’s snarky, stubborn, and rebellious by nature. Her disappointment in her bee magic is quickly tempered by her fascination with them. Why is she different? What can she accomplish with her bees? How can she get back to her family? All of these questions run in a loop in her mind.

The plot of this story follows Aella as she travels with Le Majest. She meets another hatchling that he picked up on the journey and initially clashes with her. Then there is Osprey, the prince’s bodyguard. He also has a fascination with Aella, but he seems to be on her side. She wants to trust him, but his ties to the prince hold her back. Os is my favorite character. I can’t wait to figure him out more.

Overall I really enjoyed Sting Magic. I read it in one sitting, devouring Aella’s story. I love the world-building and can’t wait to find out more about the Winged Empire, the Forbidden, and what Aella’s magic means for her. If you’re looking for an adventure, look no further than Empire of War and Wings.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

My Book of Feelings (My World)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Inspired by the Montessori method of education this unique board...
Sweet & Bitter Magic
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
In this charming debut fantasy perfect for fans of Sorcery...
The Smile Shop
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Critically-acclaimed author-illustrator Satoshi Kitamura (Hat Tricks) celebrates the value of...
Stanley's Lunch Box
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Everyone’s favorite hard-working hamster Stanley introduces young readers to a...
What Are Unicorns Made Of?
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Have you ever wondered what unicorns are made of? Are...
Grandfather Bowhead, Tell Me a Story
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Richly illustrated and lovingly told, this book is a warm...
Stanley's Toy Box
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Everyone’s favorite hard-working hamster Stanley teams up with friends to...
Sing Me Forgotten
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Isda does not exist. At least not beyond the opulent...
A Story of Giants - Book 1
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
What if I told you that we are not alone,...
Peek-a-Boo Little Reindeer
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this adorable peek-a-boo board book with felt flaps, a...
Perfect on Paper
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In Sophie Gonzales' Perfect on Paper, Leah on the Offbeat...
11 Paper Hearts
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of To All the Boys I've Loved...
shine your icy crown
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
“Make them rue the day they underestimated you.” ...
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Sheinmel comes the...
Kamala Harris: Rooted in Justice
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Discover the incredible story of a young daughter of immigrants...
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera, this is...

Latest Member Reviews

Awakening (Walking Among the Shadows #1)
 
5.0
"I am really not a reader per say but the moment I picked up this book and started reading, I..."