Review Detail

Heart Sister Featured
Young Adult Indie 906
Touching Story
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Plot/Story 
 
5.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Characters (if applicable) 
 
4.0
Editing/Design Quality 
 
5.0
Emmet has just lost his twin sister Minnie, to a horrible accident. When Minnie's parents decided to fulfill her wish to donate her organs, Emmet decides to undertake a project to record the recipiants stories.

I loved that the author decided to write a novel about this difficult and rarely touched on subject. The information about the author says that he was inspired to write this story based on his own family's experience with organ donation. His personal experience with the subject brings the story to life. Stewart takes a emotional subject matter and adds humor and teenage culture.

What I loved: I loved the bond between Emmet and Minnie and how a twinless twin could feel unmoored when their twin dies. I have boy/girl twins myself. While twins can have totally different personalities and interests, there is always a special bond.

I also thought the family's grief and how each member dealt with it was especially poignant. While Emmet tried to deal with his grief, his parents drew into themselves and would not let others in.

I loved the characters of both Emmet and Minnie. I also loved how Minnie had such a cute and quirky personality.

What left me wanting more: I appreciated that the author showed a diverse group of recipients to Minnie's organs. I thought that a lot of the side characters personalities were a little flat. I would have liked a deeper dive into their pre-transplant lives and personalities. Also, I found the dialog related to the virtual fireside interviews a little confusing.

My final word: I loved the topic and the main characters. A wonderful novel that explores the complicated subject of organ donation.
Good Points
Great Characters
Important topic
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Awakened Are the Starry-Eyed
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A new city and unexpected freedom give Andrea the fresh...
A Brutal Justice
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Protect the weak. Safety for all. Power without virtue is...
A Tale of Ashes
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Across the country, human teens are going missing, and all...
The Captain's Daughters
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
What would you do if you were abducted by aliens,...
The Hollow Inside
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Phoenix has spent much of her life drifting from...
Truth or Dare
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Welcome to Summervale… One of the USA’s top vacation...
Around Curiosity's Edge: Hidden Meridians
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A hidden world waits, a dark society schemes, and a...
Spells Trouble (Sisters of Salem, #1)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Double double, twins spell trouble… ...
10 Truths and a Dare
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
It's Senior Party Week, that magical in-between time after...
The Promised Prince
 
4.3
 
5.0 (1)
Perfect for fans of the Selection series by Kiera...
Indivisible
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This timely, moving debut novel follows a teen's efforts...
The Other Side of Perfect
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Sarah Dessen and Mary H.K. Choi,...
Counting Down with You
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this sparkling and romantic YA debut, a reserved...
Gutter Girl (Twin River High, #1)
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Star football player Jace Rovers has a secret. And...
Secondhand Dogs
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A heartwarming—and heart-tugging—middle grade novel about love, loyalty, and what...
High School Musical: The Musical: The Series: The Road Trip
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Join everyone's favorite Wildcats from the Disney+ smash hit original...

Latest Member Reviews

No entries were found