Review Detail

Young Adult Indie 732
Unbreakable Bonds
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Plot/Story 
 
5.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Characters (if applicable) 
 
5.0
Editing/Design Quality 
 
5.0
Casey L. Bond has been on my reading list for years, and now I can finally say I have read one of her books and not just read it but loved it! Things That Should Stay Buried is unlike anything I’ve ever read, drawing me into the story with the first words and not letting me go until long after it was over. Loosely based on Beauty and the Beast—my all-time favorite fairy tale—Things That Should Stay Buried follows the story of one family as the Zodia awake and tear the world as we know it apart.

Larken is no stranger to the mysterious and unknown. When her twin brother died in front of her years prior and inexplicably came back to life, it wasn’t really her brother inhabiting the body. Larken doesn’t know what Kes is, but she trusts him and has even grown to love him in the years since he became her brother. This bond is unshakable, and one of the reasons I found myself admiring her. She loves this boy even if he isn’t her brother, she trusts him to protect her and have her best interests at heart, and she worries for him. When the Zodia awake, only Kes can keep Larken safe. She knows that, and yet there is something in her that wants to protect him as well. I can’t help but love this about her.

Kes isn’t the main character of the story, but I adore him. He’s lived a thousand lives as the protector of Aries, but this life as Larken’s brother is clearly the one he is at home in. There’s a moment when Larken confronts him right after he possesses her brother that cements their bond. This bond is what leads to his decision to ask Aries to bond with Larken, to protect her from what is to come. He’s desperate, and that is clear, but his actions reflect the love he has for his sister, and I couldn’t help but love him for it.

Aries is one of the twelve Zodia who have awoken from millenia of sleep. Otherworldly and powerful, he grants Kes’s request first and then whisks them away to his kingdom. In the blink of an eye, anyone born under Aries now resides within his kingdom. The same goes for the entire world, whatever star you were born under is now your home. Families are ripped apart, including Larken’s. Few are together. While sympathetic, Aries promises to make their new home pleasant, but he cannot promise the same for those under the other Zodia. I love Aries! He isn’t the beast he appears to be. He is kind and gentle, a fair ruler, and above all he wants to protect those in his care. How can you not love him?

The story focuses mostly on the bond between Aries and Larken. Larken is a Taurus, and the bull wants her. Not only that but it was Aries who betrayed the Zodia, forcing them to sleep all those years ago. Taurus has allies who would kill Aries and then Larken would be his. I love the world and mythology that Bond has created here. Taking the zodiac signs and making them real living and breathing creatures is genius! An entire mythology is set up and explored within the pages of the book, and I could not get enough! It adds a layer of mystery to the romance and helps drive the plot.

Overall I really enjoyed Things That Should Stay Buried. I love the world Bond created for her story, and I love how seamlessly she wove her tale with the original Beauty and the Beast. While this is truly a love story between Aries and Larken, it is so much more. I love the bond and banter between Larken and Kes, showing you that family doesn’t have to be blood. I highly recommend this one to anyone that enjoys mythology with a dash of romance and adventure.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

These Feathered Flames (These Feathered Flames, #1)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When twin heirs are born in Tourin, their fates are...
The Mother of Monsters
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Mischievous Ntombi is not at all afraid of the fearsome...
Grim, Grunt and Grizzle-Tail: A Story from Chile
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Brave young Pedro faces monsters and greedy guards when he...
What Beauty There Is
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
What Beauty There Is is Cory Anderson's stunning YA...
Baseball Baby
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This original board book series, which begins with America's favorite...
I Am Not a Penguin
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
This hilarious story of a pangolin with an identity crisis...
Poison Priestess (Lady Slayers, #2)
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
In 17th-century Paris, 19-year-old Catherine Monvoisin is a well-heeled...
Sam Can't Sleep
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
When Sam can’t sleep, he decides to ask all the...
The Prison Healer (The Prison Healer, #1)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Kiva Meridan has spent the last ten years...
Fate Calling
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A cursed fae prince. A lonely human lass. A...
Welcome to California
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Welcome to California! We're glad you're here! Introducing a new...
Zoe Rosenthal is Not Lawful Good
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
A buttoned-up overachiever works overtime to keep her inner...
The Other Side of Perfect
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Sarah Dessen and Mary H.K. Choi, this...
The Sky Above Us
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
From the author of We Speak in Storms comes...
Zoom: Dinosaur Adventure
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Join Jasmine and Jamie as they travel back in time...
Let's Pretend Fire Station
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
It's a busy day at the fire station! Chldren can...

Latest Member Reviews

These Feathered Flames (These Feathered Flames, #1)
 
5.0
"THESE FEATHERED FLAMES is an enchanting YA fantasy about sisterhood, power, and destiny. When twins are born in the royal..."
The Mother of Monsters
 
4.5
"‘The Mother of Monsters’ by Fran Parnell, illustrated by Sophie Fatus, tells the story of Ntombi, the chief's daughter. She..."
Grim, Grunt and Grizzle-Tail: A Story from Chile
 
4.5
"‘Grim, Grunt and Grizzle-Tail’ by Fran Parnell, illustrated by Sophie Fatus, is great for younger elementary readers and anyone who..."
Baseball Baby
 
5.0
"BASEBALL BABY is a delightful board book about baseball. The book begins with heading to the park to play baseball..."
I Am Not a Penguin
 
4.0
"I AM NOT A PENGUIN is a silly picture book that manages to teach young readers about pangolins. A pangolin..."
Sam Can't Sleep
 
4.5
"SAM CAN'T SLEEP is a fun picture book read that introduces the concept of nocturnal animals. It's nighttime, and all..."
Welcome to California
 
4.0
"WELCOME TO CALIFORNIA is a fun picture book of facts about the state. It covers topics from the state capitol..."
The Other Side of Perfect
 
4.3
"THE OTHER SIDE OF PERFECT is an engrossing YA contemporary about loss, grief, moving on, friendship, and sisterhood. Alina has..."
Zoom: Dinosaur Adventure
 
4.5
"ZOOM: DINOSAUR ADVENTURE takes the reader on a journey to the time of the dinosaurs. Jamie and Jasmine are going..."
Let's Pretend Fire Station
 
5.0
"LET'S PRETEND FIRE STATION is a delightful peek-through board book about firefighters. The book features pictures of children, firetrucks, and..."
Rosa Loves Dinosaurs / A Rosa Le Encantan Los Dinosaurios
 
3.5
"ROSA LOVES DINOSAURS/ A ROSA LE ENCANTAN LOS DINOSAURIOS is a fun bilingual board book about a love of dinosaurs...."
Things That Go (I Can Learn)
 
5.0
"THINGS THAT GO is a delightful lift-the-flap and peek-through exploration of vehicles. In three sets of pages with flaps, die-cuts,..."