Review Detail

Young Adult Indie 582
One girl's heart changes the fate of a nation
Overall rating 
 
4.8
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Plot/Story 
 
4.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Characters (if applicable) 
 
5.0
Editing/Design Quality 
 
5.0
Fantastic conclusion! Dragon Rebellion by M. Lynn is the final book in The Hidden Warrior duology picking up weeks after the events of Dragon Rising. If you haven’t read book one, there may be spoilers to it in the following review. Read at your own risk. Jian Li has spent the last several weeks at the Minglans’ in Zhouchang waiting for Hua to wake up. After destroying Kanyuan village, killing innocents and soldiers from Piao and Kou alike, the Nagi spared him and took him to the only place she knew that would be safe. While war with the Kou looms on the horizon, Dragon Rebellion looks inward to the war taking place between Hua and the Nagi.

Hua Minglan is trapped inside her own mind, wrestling for control of her body and preventing the Nagi from taking its true dragon form. She is heartsick over what happened in the village. She gave her body over to the dragon thinking she could take her revenge on the Kou, yet the Nagi wants its own revenge against the empire of Piao for its killing of the dragon blooded. Hua is still strong and stubborn in her own rights, and she uses what little control she has over her mind to talk to the Nagi. Hua has one goal, and it is the same goal as when she first disguised herself as Huan and went to war: Protect the people of Piao. Will she have to protect them from herself?

Jian Li is no longer commander of the Piao army. He’s lost his sense of duty, but gained something more. He’s found a family in the Minglan home. He’s fallen for Hua, even while she sleeps. It’s Jian who recognizes the Nagi inside of her, controlling her actions. And it is Jian that will fight to bring her back. I liked Jian in the previous book, but I fell in love with him here. He has found a purpose greater than war and revenge, and he will do whatever it takes to succeed.

The plot revolves around Hua and the Nagi, their struggle to control Hua’s body, and the looming war with the Kou. The Nagi is an interesting twist to this story. It is supposed to be a protector of Piao, but instead it wants its own revenge. While the internal struggle drives Hua’s part of the story, Jian’s story follows him as he searches for Hua and tries to recover the girl he knows.

Overall I enjoyed Dragon Rebellion. The tension and uncertainty of what would happen to Jian and Hua drove the plot, keeping me reading til it was finished. If you are a Mulan fan, a fantasy lover, or just love dragons, I highly recommend it.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Movies, mansions, and murder in the Golden Age of Hollywood!...
Kamala and Maya's Big Idea
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Meena Harris debuts with an empowering picture book about two...
Harvey Holds His Own (The Harvey Stories, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The West Highland Terrier that brought Harvey Comes Home to...
Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A teenage girl wonders if she’s inherited more than just...
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times bestselling author Amanda Hocking returns to...
The Hunt
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Death marked her from her very first breath. Being...
Swallowed by a Secret
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
One dead father. One lying mother. ...
Circus of the Dead Book One
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
There are many ways to die at the Circus...
Roaring
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Colt Clemmons is an agent in a specialized division...
Court of Lions
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Court of Lions is the long-awaited second and final...
More Than Just a Pretty Face
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Jenny Han, a...
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After the events at Llethanyl, city of the elves, Zed...
And Then I Turned into a Mermaid (And Then I Turned into a Mermaid, #1)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Emily Windsnap and Maybe A Mermaid, And...
After the Worst Thing Happens
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Left reeling after her thoughtless mistake causes a terrible accident,...
Hirana's War: Book Two in the Eloia Born Series
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Praise for Eloia Born “Loved it! A well-written narrative...
Hans Christian Andersen: The Journey of His Life
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
"If you like, I’ll tell you the story of a...

Latest Member Reviews

The House of Madame M
 
4.5
"THE HOUSE OF MADAME M is a creepy and interactive book that invites readers to take a tour. They are..."
My Mama
 
3.0
"MY MAMA is an intriguing picture book that chronicles the way a son can view a mother. The text is..."
The Traveling Restaurant: Jasper's Voyage in Three Parts
 
4.0
"-- How do you carve an elephant? -- Get a block of marble and take away everything that doesn’t look..."