Review Detail

Young Adult Indie 458
Fun, Easy Fiction mixed with Parkour & Muslim Culture facts
(Updated: June 09, 2020)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Plot/Story 
 
5.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
5.0
Characters (if applicable) 
 
5.0
Editing/Design Quality 
 
5.0
The descriptions of Parkour are entertaining and opened my eyes to a new discipline that I was scarcely aware of prior to opening this book. The author's vivid narration of the actions and movement flow used in Parkour makes the action sequences come alive as you are reading. I enjoyed the descriptions and development of the main characters, and I especially appreciated the main character, Bronte, who is a teenage girl struggling with problems typical teenagers face on a daily basis (love-life, social hierarchy, peer pressure, fights with her mom). She makes several emotional decisions while facing the stresses and pressures that all teenagers face, but this occasional irrationalism actually makes her more relatable and believable as a character. Her behavior added an element of unpredicatability to Bronte that I thought was very real and relatable.
All-in-all, The Parkour Club is a fun, easy read for someone looking for an enjoyable fiction book interspersed with facts about Parkour and Muslim cutlure, two areas many readers may not have a deep familiarity with. Enjoy and Happy Page-Turning!
Good Points
- Strong character development & relatable characters
- Fast-paced with vivid descriptions make the Parkour scenes come alive
- Many interesting and accurate facts about Muslim culture and Islam
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 1 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Movies, mansions, and murder in the Golden Age of Hollywood!...
Kamala and Maya's Big Idea
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Meena Harris debuts with an empowering picture book about two...
Harvey Holds His Own (The Harvey Stories, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The West Highland Terrier that brought Harvey Comes Home to...
Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A teenage girl wonders if she’s inherited more than just...
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times bestselling author Amanda Hocking returns to...
The Hunt
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Death marked her from her very first breath. Being...
Swallowed by a Secret
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
One dead father. One lying mother. ...
Circus of the Dead Book One
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
There are many ways to die at the Circus...
Roaring
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Colt Clemmons is an agent in a specialized division...
Court of Lions
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Court of Lions is the long-awaited second and final...
More Than Just a Pretty Face
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Jenny Han, a...
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After the events at Llethanyl, city of the elves, Zed...
And Then I Turned into a Mermaid (And Then I Turned into a Mermaid, #1)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Emily Windsnap and Maybe A Mermaid, And...
After the Worst Thing Happens
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Left reeling after her thoughtless mistake causes a terrible accident,...
Hirana's War: Book Two in the Eloia Born Series
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Praise for Eloia Born “Loved it! A well-written narrative...
Hans Christian Andersen: The Journey of His Life
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
"If you like, I’ll tell you the story of a...

Latest Member Reviews

Ghost Boys
 
5.0
"Jewell Parker Rhodes writes electrifying middle grade stories that pack emotion into every sentence, and GHOST BOYS showcases that skill..."
Ghost Boys
 
5.0
"I always struggle to review these types of novels--these black lives matter, civil rights-esque novels. I often go into them..."
Efrén Divided
 
5.0
"Efrén and his family work very hard, but still struggle to make ends meet. His father works several jobs, and..."
Worse Than Weird
 
4.0
"Mac lives with her parents, Hank and Coral, in a small house in Portland. Small, as in she sleeps in..."
I Can Make This Promise
 
5.0
"I CAN MAKE THIS PROMISE is a moving middle grade contemporary fiction about trusting your parents, finding your heritage, and..."
Pip and the Bamboo Path
 
4.0
"PIP AND THE BAMBOO PATH is a gorgeously illustrated story about finding a home with important messages about deforestation and..."
8 Notes to a Nobody (Bird Face book one)
 
5.0
"This is the first book in Cynthia T. Toney’s Birdface series which follows Wendy, a young Louisiana teen, through her..."
8 Notes to a Nobody (Bird Face book one)
 
5.0
"The main character, Wendy, is realistic and sympathetically portrayed, so much so that the book drew me in and transported..."
Sea Prayer
 
5.0
"This fictional picture book, inspired by the tragic death of three-year-old Alan Kurdi's tragic death on a Turkish beach, follows..."
Dangerous Jane
 
4.0
"Following Jane Addams life from her well-to-do but uncomfortable childhood, we see that she was interested in helping the underprivileged..."
Click'd
 
4.0
"Allie has an amazing time in the CodeGirls Summer camp and is really excited about the app she has created,..."
8 Notes to a Nobody (Bird Face book one)
 
N/A
"Thirteen-year-old Wendy Robichaud has a lot going on in her life. She's quiet and artistic, but usually lets her own..."
Slacker
 
4.0
"Cameron lives to play video games, but when he is so concentrated on one that he doesn't take a casserole..."
A Handful of Stars
 
5.0
"What do dogs, bees, and blueberries have in common? Admittedly, not much at first, but to a young girl named..."