Review Detail

Young Adult Indie 1008
Action-Packed Sequel
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Plot/Story 
 
5.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Characters (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Editing/Design Quality 
 
5.0
What an amazing read! Fae’s Defiance by M. Lynn & Melissa A. Craven is the second book in their series Queens of the Fae and picks up right where the first left off. This book does not suffer second-book syndrome. It is not a bridge to the end. It doesn’t lag in its pacing. Nope, Fae’s Defiance is a sprint to the cliffhanger I happily dove off of. And thank the good Fae that this is a rapid release, and we do NOT have to wait long for book three. Please note that if you have not read book one of this series, there may be minor spoilers to that book in this review. Read at your own risk!

“Brea Robinson is a princess.” Brea is adjusting to her new life in the Fae world, her world. This isn’t an easy task for her. It isn’t something she is excited about, especially after the betrayals from the first book. She doesn’t trust easily, and she makes the new Fae in her life work for it. Despite her internal monologue that she is ready to fall apart, Brea is strong on the outside and displays a fearless outlook on her new situation. She faces each new challenge head on, and I love her for it. She isn’t some damsel in distress, waiting on someone to save her. She’s her own hero and making her own path in this new world.

Despite that outlook, Brea is insecure. Her time in Fargelsi, the eternal Spring realm, left her shaken. She doesn’t trust those that have saved her and brought her to Eldur, the desert realm, and she doesn’t trust herself. Letting her own guard down is hard for her. Brea doesn’t trust her judgment after she placed her trust in the wrong Fae. Between this and her horrid upbringing, Brea is having a hard time believing that her true mother loves her and wants what is best for her. It also plays a pivotal role in her relationship with the two Fae that brought her to Eldur, Finn and Lochlan.

Can I just say how much I love these two Fae? Finn is light-hearted and reminds Brea of her best friend Myles. He doesn’t treat her like a princess, but another person. He sees her and understands her in a way that allows her to let her guard down easily. Lochlan, on the other hand, is unfortunately the brother of Griffin O’Shea, who broke Brea’s trust in the first book. This, along with his role in her kidnapping from the human realm, does not win him any favor with Brea. He’s broody and pushes her buttons every chance he gets. Despite that, he’s never once put her in danger. Lochlan puts Brea’s safety above his own. To say he wormed his way into my heart is an understatement. I love this broody Fae, and I absolutely LOVE that we get a few chapters in his POV this book.

As I mentioned earlier in this review, this story moves at a lightning pace. The plot is just as intricate, if not more so, than book one. We get more world-building as Brea becomes accustomed to her new life in Eldur. Y’all the imagery here had me sweating. It feels so real. I could feel the desert sun on my neck. I love that the authors transported me to Brea’s world!

Now let’s talk foreshadowing for a quick sec. Few authors pull off good foreshadowing. Most of the time you’ll see reviewers mention how predictable a book was and that they didn’t enjoy it as a result. That’s bad foreshadowing. What we have here in Fae’s Defiance is the exact opposite. This is an example of fantastic foreshadowing. This is the kind where you are reading and you pick up little hints along the way, but those surprises still smack you in the face when you get to them. It’s not there for shock and awe, but there because it was clearly planned to be. I love this!

Overall, if you haven’t already guessed, I love Fae’s Defiance! Brea is one of those characters that you just love and root for from page one. I love her character development so far in the series and can’t wait to see where the authors take her next. I highly recommend this series for anyone that enjoys YA fantasy.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Sister of the Bollywood Bride
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Morgan Matson's Save the Date comes a...
Nosotros Means Us: Un cuento bilingüe
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A moving bilingual ode to the unshakeable bond between a...
Awakened Are the Starry-Eyed
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A new city and unexpected freedom give Andrea the fresh...
A Brutal Justice
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Protect the weak. Safety for all. Power without virtue is...
A Tale of Ashes
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Across the country, human teens are going missing, and all...
The Captain's Daughters
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
What would you do if you were abducted by aliens,...
The Hollow Inside
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Phoenix has spent much of her life drifting from...
Truth or Dare
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Welcome to Summervale… One of the USA’s top vacation...
Around Curiosity's Edge: Hidden Meridians
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A hidden world waits, a dark society schemes, and a...
Spells Trouble (Sisters of Salem, #1)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Double double, twins spell trouble… ...
10 Truths and a Dare
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
It's Senior Party Week, that magical in-between time after...
The Promised Prince
 
4.3
 
5.0 (1)
Perfect for fans of the Selection series by Kiera...
Indivisible
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This timely, moving debut novel follows a teen's efforts...
The Other Side of Perfect
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Sarah Dessen and Mary H.K. Choi,...
Counting Down with You
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this sparkling and romantic YA debut, a reserved...
Gutter Girl (Twin River High, #1)
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Star football player Jace Rovers has a secret. And...

Latest Member Reviews

No entries were found