Review Detail

The Lost Legends Featured
Young Adult Indie 1358
The Adventure Fantasy You're Looking For
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Plot/Story 
 
5.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Characters (if applicable) 
 
5.0
Editing/Design Quality 
 
N/A
I have found a new favorite! The Lost Legends by Cait Marie is the first book in her series The Nihryst. I read it in one-sitting, skipping sleep to do so. When I talk about fantasy being my favorite, I’m talking about the epic adventure fantasies that take you on a journey and leave you hopeful. There is a little romance (or in some cases a lot of romance) involved with a pinch of magic. Battles are fought and won. The good guys aren’t necessarily the knight in shining armor type. These are my favorite fantasies, and The Lost Legends hits every one of those marks.

Princess Adalina is longing for adventure in her life. Her mother read her stories of the cursed immortal warriors called the Nihryst. Her entire life Ada’s studied the stories. She told her mother that she would break their curse, a curse put into place by her ancestor and tied to tarot cards Ada currently holds. After discovering the king’s plan to start war with their neighbors, Ada knows she has to stop it. Her only hope is finding the Nihryst warriors if they even exist and asking them to help her. Ada escapes her kingdom with a crew of pirates and begins the adventure she’s always longed for.

Ada’s brother, Prince Shane, is the next ruler of Detmarya, and since the untimely death of his mother which led to the king’s descent into madness, he has ruled the best he can. “Heavy is the head that wears the crown,” and this has never been as true as it is for Shane. He loves his kingdom and his people and will do whatever is necessary to save them. While his sister is off looking for the legendary warriors, Shane stumbles upon a disease that is killing the poor in his kingdom. With the help of a rebel faction, Shane sets the stage for Ada’s return and prays that the help she’s looking for comes with her.

Told from Shane’s and Ada’s POV, the plot moves and twists together seamlessly. It’s like having two stories in one, and I love it! Ada’s chapters focus on her hunt for the Nihryst, her interactions with the pirates, and the lengths she will go for her kingdom. Shane’s story focuses on what is happening in Ada’s absence, the king’s plans, and the budding rebellion. Being able to see from all sides of the story led to a great amount of foreshadowing. While I was able to predict a few things as the story progressed, it was still exciting and engaging. The puzzles and mysteries that Ada has to solve to find the Nihryst kept me up well into the morning hours, and I’m pretty sure my heart stopped more than once reading as Shane led a double life trying to find answers about the plague.

My favorite part of this book though is the pirates. I love them! They are such a fun crew and fully fleshed out. The captain Lee and his banter with Ada helps drive the plot. He is guarded with his feelings and keeps to himself, yet something about Ada brings his walls down. Remember how I said a little romance is a must in my fantasy? Slowburn y'all....

Overall, if you haven’t already guessed it, I loved The Lost Legends. I devoured it, there is no other way to describe it. Even now, days after finishing it, I’m still thinking about the characters and what is next for them. The setting, the world-building (which I didn’t even get into in this review but y’all it’s amazing!), and the foreshadowing all make for one epic fantasy. Also I should note, this is a debut author and if I hadn’t have known that going in, I’d have never guessed it. Cait Marie writes as if she’s been doing it her whole life, and I personally cannot wait to read more of her work. If you enjoy adventures, a little romance, and a touch of magic, I highly recommend you grab a copy of The Lost Legends. It doesn’t disappoint!
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 1 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Bernard Makes a Splash
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A heartwarming story from textile designer and illustrator Lisa Stickley...
Wild Girl: How to Have Incredible Outdoor Adventures
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Calling wild girls everywhere! Helen Skelton – adventurer, world-record breaker...
Stanley's Paint Box
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
It’s another busy day with Stanley and friends! ...
The Unleashed
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the terrifying sequel to The Haunted, Hendricks discovers that...
Paint by Sticker Kids: Dinosaurs: Create 10 Pictures One Sticker at a Time!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Create pictures of 10 awesome dinosaurs... with stickers! ...
Tad
Tad
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
From Benji Davies, the award-winning creator of The Storm Whale...
Go Get 'Em, Tiger! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The perfect picture book to celebrate every milestone from the...
A World of Opposites
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From ALONE and TOGETHER to ABOVE and BELOW, Gray Malin’s...
The Voting Booth
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Stonewall Award-winning author Brandy Colbert comes an all-in-one-day love...
Now & When
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Jenny Han and Christine Riccio comes a...
Dating Makes Perfect
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Tech sisters don’t date in high school. Not because...
Now That I've Found You
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Now That I've Found You is a YA novel about...
Entwined
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sometimes love gets a bit twisted. ...
A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
I can split myself in two . . . something...
The Lost City (The Omte Origins, #1)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Amanda Hocking, the New York Times bestselling author of...
Scarlet Odyssey
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Magic is women’s work; war is men’s. But in...

Latest Member Reviews

Sick Kids in Love
 
4.7
"This book is definitely not like The Fault in Our Stars nor Six Feet Apart, or any other book about..."
A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
"A GIRL IN THREE PARTS by Suzanne Daniel is a novel set in Sydney, Australia during the 1970’s. It follows..."
Goddess in the Machine (Goddess in the Machine, #1)
 
5.0
"Andra went into cryonic sleep for a hundred years for a trip across the universe to wake up as a..."
Honor Lost (The Honors, #3)
 
3.3
"HONORS LOST continues the Honors series as Zara, crew, and friends head out on a mission to stop the horrors..."
10 Things I Hate About Pinky
 
4.3
"10 THINGS I HATE ABOUT PINKY is a cute YA romance that features a fake-turned-real relationship and opposites-attract couple. Pinky..."
Not Another Love Song
 
5.0
"Different than I was expecting - and that’s a good thing! The story: All..."
Jo & Laurie
 
3.3
"Jo March is surprised at how well her novel LITTLE WOMEN has done. Now her publisher and readers want a..."
An Enchantment of Ravens
 
2.3
"I'm not very into reading fantasy (so I might not be the best person to review this). But I was..."
Cracked Up To Be
 
3.7
"Cracked up to be is an unsettling tale of a girl on the cusp of a mental breakdown for over..."
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
"THE MORNING FLOWER continues the OMTE ORIGINS story as Ulla continues to search for her heritage and for the missing..."
None of the Above
 
4.3
"This is one of those books that a reader can learn from. This is the first YA book that I..."
The Lost City (The Omte Origins, #1)
 
4.3
"THE LOST CITY is a highly engaging YA fantasy read about Ulla, a troll. Trolls are secretive creatures who live..."
Layoverland
 
5.0
"'Layoverland' by Gabby Noone, despite being about a teenager who has died, ironically creates a very inviting atmosphere for readers..."
Summer and July
 
5.0
"'Summer and July' by Paul Mosier is a beautifully written story perfect for summer reading. Readers will find themselves immersed..."
A Wicked Magic
 
4.0
"Friends Dan and Liss find a Black book of magic and try a spell. Only the spell goes terribly..."
Scarlet Odyssey
 
3.3
"SCARLET ODYSSEY is a high fantasy that takes place in a world at war. Men are often raised to be..."
Tigers, Not Daughters
 
5.0
"TIGERS, NOT DAUGHTERS is a lyrical book of sisterhood and grief. The Torres sisters had tried to escape their father..."
Tyler Johnson Was Here
 
4.0
"The fallout and protests following police choking George Floyd to death in Minnesota has consumed social media for the last..."
when you were everything
 
4.3
"WHEN YOU WERE EVERYTHING by Ashley Woodfolk is a YA Contemporary novel told in two timelines, “then” and “now.” The..."
Path of Night (Chilling Adventures of Sabrina, #3)
 
5.0
"PATH OF NIGHT is another great installment of the books based on the Netflix show, CHILLING ADVENTURES OF SABRINA. This..."