Review Detail

Seneca Lake Featured
Young Adult Indie 1027
YA historical fiction
Overall rating 
 
4.8
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Plot/Story 
 
4.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Characters (if applicable) 
 
5.0
Editing/Design Quality 
 
5.0
Meg lives in a small town in upstate NY (outside Ithaca) in the later years of WWII. She is torn between her family and her dreams of College. She is also torn between dating her childhood friend and the boy everyone thinks she should date.
I love historical fiction. I really love historical fiction that takes place outside the big cities (NYC, London, San Francisco). I was also excited to read a YA WWII area novel (particularly because Meg would have been the same age as one of my grandmothers at the time-who was also from upstate NY).
I liked the snippets into daily life at the time and the bits of pop culture sprinkled in. I loved Arthur and his Native American culture.
I do think the story dragged a bit in the middle and that the story lacked a strong plot. It almost seemed to be missing something (I feel like a dual POV or timeline would really have helped). I would also have liked more of an ending.
This story did make me cry (there was one part that was particularly difficult to read). All in all a wonderful story. I really find I love YA historical fiction.
Good Points
-Lovable characters
-Small town
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 1 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Bernard Makes a Splash
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A heartwarming story from textile designer and illustrator Lisa Stickley...
Wild Girl: How to Have Incredible Outdoor Adventures
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Calling wild girls everywhere! Helen Skelton – adventurer, world-record breaker...
Stanley's Paint Box
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
It’s another busy day with Stanley and friends! ...
The Unleashed
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the terrifying sequel to The Haunted, Hendricks discovers that...
Paint by Sticker Kids: Dinosaurs: Create 10 Pictures One Sticker at a Time!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Create pictures of 10 awesome dinosaurs... with stickers! ...
Tad
Tad
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
From Benji Davies, the award-winning creator of The Storm Whale...
Go Get 'Em, Tiger! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The perfect picture book to celebrate every milestone from the...
A World of Opposites
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From ALONE and TOGETHER to ABOVE and BELOW, Gray Malin’s...
The Voting Booth
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Stonewall Award-winning author Brandy Colbert comes an all-in-one-day love...
Now & When
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Jenny Han and Christine Riccio comes a...
Dating Makes Perfect
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Tech sisters don’t date in high school. Not because...
Now That I've Found You
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Now That I've Found You is a YA novel about...
Entwined
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sometimes love gets a bit twisted. ...
A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
I can split myself in two . . . something...
The Lost City (The Omte Origins, #1)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Amanda Hocking, the New York Times bestselling author of...
Scarlet Odyssey
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Magic is women’s work; war is men’s. But in...

Latest Member Reviews

Monster Mash: A Halloween Story
 
5.0
"It's Halloween time and the Super Monsters are putting together a carnival! The Halloween spirit is lacking in Pitchfork Pines,..."