Review Detail

A Straw Man Featured
Young Adult Indie 1159
Wonderful book, brilliant series
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Plot/Story 
 
5.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Characters (if applicable) 
 
5.0
Editing/Design Quality 
 
5.0
The story:

Melody, the younger sister of Charlie, the main character of the previous book, is now in college. She is smitten with her longtime boyfriend Nate, a handsome football player who is struggling with the part he played in a friend’s death. Rather than let their relationship disintegrate, she uses her “trip” – a sojourn through time – to fix things, despite the serious repercussions altering the timeline can have.


What I loved:

I loved Melody, almost as much as I loved Brooke from the first book in the series. She feels emotions deeply, which area always my favorite characters. Nate, too, was a compelling character, and watching their relationship founder was at times hard to read. But that’s what great fiction does, make you care about the characters! The story, which shifted gears dramatically halfway through, became even more of a page-turner. I was heavily invested by the end, which did not disappoint.


What I didn’t love:

I can’t think of a thing. This story hit every button, checked every box for mse.


My Final Verdict:

A Straw Man perfectly showcases Amalie Jahn’s warm writing style. Her characters are instantly relatable, her stories told with great sensitivity and are totally absorbing. I would highly recommend this story. In fact, this entire series is worth your time.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Strong Voices: Fifteen American Speeches Worth Knowing
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Strong Voices: Fifteen American Speeches Worth Knowing is a collection...
Bernard Makes a Splash
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A heartwarming story from textile designer and illustrator Lisa Stickley...
Wild Girl: How to Have Incredible Outdoor Adventures
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Calling wild girls everywhere! Helen Skelton – adventurer, world-record breaker...
Stanley's Paint Box
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
It’s another busy day with Stanley and friends! ...
The Unleashed
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the terrifying sequel to The Haunted, Hendricks discovers that...
Paint by Sticker Kids: Dinosaurs: Create 10 Pictures One Sticker at a Time!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Create pictures of 10 awesome dinosaurs... with stickers! ...
Tad
Tad
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
From Benji Davies, the award-winning creator of The Storm Whale...
Go Get 'Em, Tiger! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The perfect picture book to celebrate every milestone from the...
A World of Opposites
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From ALONE and TOGETHER to ABOVE and BELOW, Gray Malin’s...
The Voting Booth
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Stonewall Award-winning author Brandy Colbert comes an all-in-one-day love...
Now & When
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Jenny Han and Christine Riccio comes a...
Dating Makes Perfect
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Tech sisters don’t date in high school. Not because...
Now That I've Found You
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Now That I've Found You is a YA novel about...
Entwined
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sometimes love gets a bit twisted. ...
A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
I can split myself in two . . . something...
The Lost City (The Omte Origins, #1)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Amanda Hocking, the New York Times bestselling author of...

Latest Member Reviews

No entries were found