Review Detail

Skin Hunter Featured
Young Adult Indie 682
Well Realized Dystopian
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Plot/Story 
 
4.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Characters (if applicable) 
 
3.0
Editing/Design Quality 
 
5.0
What I loved:

The world building was perfectly illustrated without bogging down the story. Everything from the politics and the society down to the physical world descriptions are clear and concise, ensuring that it's an easy leap to get pulled into this dystopian tale. Hutley doesn't shy away from gritty descriptions, placing the reader firmly in the moment, but neither is she unnecessarily crass or gory.

The concept for the skins was unique and intriguing, especially the way Hutley differentiated the qualities and skills of each one. The pacing wasn't always fast, but it was steadily engaging with plenty of twists and turns.

Where I Wanted More:

I am hoping that book two brings us a deeper, more nuanced look at each of the characters.

The Bottom Line:

Perfect for fans of The Hunger Games or Fire and Flood, this is a fully developed technological dystopian that won't leave you disappointed!
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

A Thousand Questions
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Set against the backdrop of Karachi, Pakistan, Saadia Faruqi’s tender...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Second in a new series about a bright and determined...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
There's a chill in the air and frost on the...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Disney’s classic animated films come to life in the latest...
Fence: Striking Distance
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The boys of Kings Row bout with drama, rivalry, and...
Pirate Nell's Tale to Tell
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
From the author/illustrator team behind The Snatchabook comes a book-filled...
The Glass Queen (The Forest of Good and Evil, #2)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Once Upon a Time meets Game of Thrones in...
Skyhunter (Skyhunter, #1)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A broken world. An overwhelming evil. A team of...
Finding Balance
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Jase Ellison doesnt remember having acute lymphocytic leukemia when...
Be a Voter!: 450 Stickers for Democracy
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Get out the vote! It’s...
I Believe In You
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A charming picture book that inspires confidence, boosts self-esteem, and...
Breathless
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Jennifer Niven, the #1 New York Times bestselling...
Of Thorns and Beauty (Twisted Pages Book 1)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
You think you know the tale as old time,...
The Verity
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When being eaten alive is the least of your...
Meanwhile
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Celebrate 10 years of this completely original graphic novel take...
Grant Beagan: The Finder's Code
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
He’s just an ordinary teenager who likes astronomy, video games,...

Latest Member Reviews

On the Bright Side
 
3.0
"The concept was ok, but I found the story to be too slow. The book contained strong writing, but I..."
On the Bright Side
 
4.0
"An unfortunate incident sends 14 year old Gabby to the afterlife WAY before she is ready. First thing on..."