Review Detail

Featured
Young Adult Indie 999
Well Realized Dystopian
Overall rating
 
4.3
Writing Style
 
5.0
Plot/Story
 
4.0
Illustrations (if applicable)
 
N/A
Characters (if applicable)
 
3.0
Editing/Design Quality
 
5.0
What I loved:

The world building was perfectly illustrated without bogging down the story. Everything from the politics and the society down to the physical world descriptions are clear and concise, ensuring that it's an easy leap to get pulled into this dystopian tale. Hutley doesn't shy away from gritty descriptions, placing the reader firmly in the moment, but neither is she unnecessarily crass or gory.

The concept for the skins was unique and intriguing, especially the way Hutley differentiated the qualities and skills of each one. The pacing wasn't always fast, but it was steadily engaging with plenty of twists and turns.

Where I Wanted More:

I am hoping that book two brings us a deeper, more nuanced look at each of the characters.

The Bottom Line:

Perfect for fans of The Hunger Games or Fire and Flood, this is a fully developed technological dystopian that won't leave you disappointed!
Report this review Was this review helpful? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account