Review Detail

Young Adult Indie 1209
Exciting Adventure Off-Planet
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Plot/Story 
 
5.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Characters (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Editing/Design Quality 
 
5.0
Pawns by Patrick Hodges is the first book in the Wielders of Arantha series. Complex and creative don’t begin to explain the story weaved here. Following the lives of three very different women, Pawns is an exciting adventure off-planet, a last hope mission to save Earth from the invading Jegg.

The story begins with Maeve and her teenage son Davin. They’ve just escaped Earth and the Jegg, suffering devastating losses in the process. Losing their entire team of scientists including her own husband, Maeve and Davin are enroute to a primitive planet that holds a power that may stop the Jeggs once and for all. Despite their tragedy, Maeve and Davin are determined to complete the mission, and they won’t stop until they do.

Kelia is known as the Protectress, the leader of her women-only tribe. Long ago, their ancestors escaped slavery at the hands of men and now live in seclusion. Some are wielders, able to manipulate the elements, a gift from Arantha, the goddess they worship. Kelia is one such wielder, the most powerful which is why they call her Protectress. Her job is to keep her tribe safe and watch the signs Arantha sends her. A new vision of violence and an object falling from above lead her Maeve and Davin, where she learns that not all is as she thought.

Elzaria is also a wielder and sister to the usurper Elzor. Together they are burning the countryside, taking one kingdom at a time, in search of the mythical Stones. These stones are said to offer power to the wielder who holds them. Both are jaded and dangerous and haunt not only Kelia’s visions but that of the high mage.

Overall I really enjoyed Pawns. The world-building, Kelia and her tribe, and all the different characters bring the story to life on the pages. If you enjoy sci-fi, I highly recommend you grab a copy of this one. It does not disappoint.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Bernard Makes a Splash
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A heartwarming story from textile designer and illustrator Lisa Stickley...
Wild Girl: How to Have Incredible Outdoor Adventures
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Calling wild girls everywhere! Helen Skelton – adventurer, world-record breaker...
Stanley's Paint Box
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
It’s another busy day with Stanley and friends! ...
The Unleashed
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the terrifying sequel to The Haunted, Hendricks discovers that...
Paint by Sticker Kids: Dinosaurs: Create 10 Pictures One Sticker at a Time!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Create pictures of 10 awesome dinosaurs... with stickers! ...
Tad
Tad
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
From Benji Davies, the award-winning creator of The Storm Whale...
Go Get 'Em, Tiger! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The perfect picture book to celebrate every milestone from the...
A World of Opposites
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From ALONE and TOGETHER to ABOVE and BELOW, Gray Malin’s...
The Voting Booth
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Stonewall Award-winning author Brandy Colbert comes an all-in-one-day love...
Now & When
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Jenny Han and Christine Riccio comes a...
Dating Makes Perfect
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Tech sisters don’t date in high school. Not because...
Now That I've Found You
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Now That I've Found You is a YA novel about...

Latest Member Reviews

Corpse & Crown (Cadaver & Queen, #2)
 
4.0
"Adding in the characters of Oliver Twist to the unique world of Bio-mechanicals created in the first book, this stand-alone..."
The Falconer (The Falconer #1)
 
4.7
"We follow 18 year old Aileana on a hard mission. She's the last of the Falconers, which means she is..."
Dearly, Departed (Gone with the Respiration #1)
 
4.0
"This review can also be found at http://fortheloveofbooksreviews.blogspot.ca/2017/01/dearly-departed-by-lia-habel.html In 2195, Nora is living in New Victoria, a place..."
Clockwork Princess (The Infernal Devices #3)
 
4.0
"4.5 stars! This was definitely one amazing series. Worth reading for those who liked The Mortal Instruments and even those..."
Curtsies & Conspiracies (Finishing School #2)
 
5.0
"From ballgowns and bowler hats, to parties and prototypes, Curtsies & Conspiracies will capture your attention, your mind and your..."
Etiquette and Espionage (Finishing School #1)
 
4.7
"Gail Carriger should be in charge of the educational system. Imagine a world where young men learn the skills..."
Strange and Ever After (Something Strange and Deadly #3)
 
3.3
"I finally got around to finishing this series and I read it straight through, for the most part. It did..."
Stormdancer (The Lotus War #1)
 
3.3
"Okay. I admit. This book was kinda awesome. If you can get past the 100 or so pages of..."
Incarceron
 
3.7
"**spoiler alert** I loved it! So very fascinating and..."
Strange and Ever After (Something Strange and Deadly #3)
 
5.0
"What I loved: THIS is how you end a trilogy, my friends. Like a freaking BAMF. Seriously, I had my..."
The Falconer (The Falconer #1)
 
3.3
"The Falconer is quite the genre mashup—a Victorian-era Scottish mythos-based paranormal YA, with just enough hints of steam punk to..."
The League of Seven (The League of Seven #1)
 
4.0
" In an alternate 1870s where First Nations people compose a large portion of the country, Archie's parents are..."
The Falconer (The Falconer #1)
 
5.0
"Mystical. Magical. Some books just wrap you up in their spell. I know this is what happened..."
The Falconer (The Falconer #1)
 
3.7
"Note: This review is of the British edition published by Gollancz. I've heard it might be different. What I..."
Something Strange and Deadly
 
3.3
"This book was amazing. It was well-written but it disappointed me at the same time. The story itself was so..."
Curtsies & Conspiracies (Finishing School #2)
 
4.3
"I must be completely honest right up front – I’m a huge fan of Gail Carriger’s. I adored her..."
Etiquette and Espionage (Finishing School #1)
 
5.0
"No dumbing down for a Young Adult audience in this wonderful start to the Finishing School series. Instead, the author..."
The Osiris Curse (Tweed & Nightingale Adventures #2)
 
4.0
"In Crilley's follow-up to "The Lazarus Machine," 'detectives' Octavia Nightingale and Sebastian Tweed jump right into another world-altering adventure, chasing..."
Clockwork Princess (The Infernal Devices #3)
 
5.0
"I would have to say out of all three books the third one was my favorite though I almost cried..."
Incarceron
 
4.0
" A refreshingly original piece. I'd initially been recommended it as a prime example of the budding Steampunk sub-genre, though..."