Review Detail

Tin Men Featured
Young Adult Indie 1079
Another Gem by Amalie Jahn
Overall rating 
 
4.8
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Plot/Story 
 
4.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Characters (if applicable) 
 
5.0
Editing/Design Quality 
 
5.0
Tin Men by Amalie Jahn

The story:

After losing his estranged father, Charlie Johnson’s life is further complicated when he learns he was adopted. Curious about his biological mother, he embarks on a quest to find her. With the help of his stalwart girlfriend Brooke and his government-sanctioned trip through time, Charlie soon learns that uncovering one secret can often has consequences he could never have seen coming.

What I loved:

Charlie was a strong lead character – maybe not as strong as Brooke from The Clay Lion, as he seemed much less conflicted on his journey – but enough to carry the story. The concept of time-travel, once again, is used to move the plot along but is kept simple enough so as to not bog the plot down in technobabble. Amalie Jahn’s writing style flows so wonderfully that I found myself flipping pages well past my bedtime.


What I didn’t love:

While I enjoyed how the story was resolved, something about it let me a teensy bit unfulfilled. The way in which a character gets his come-uppance felt a little too easy, but given the high level of drama involved in the whole of the story, dragging the end out might not have worked as well.


My Final Verdict:

Tin Men is a terrific follow up to The Clay Lion. If you like well-written YA dramas with a sci-fi twist and a sweet love story, then this series is one you should pick up.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Strong Voices: Fifteen American Speeches Worth Knowing
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Strong Voices: Fifteen American Speeches Worth Knowing is a collection...
Bernard Makes a Splash
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A heartwarming story from textile designer and illustrator Lisa Stickley...
Wild Girl: How to Have Incredible Outdoor Adventures
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Calling wild girls everywhere! Helen Skelton – adventurer, world-record breaker...
Stanley's Paint Box
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
It’s another busy day with Stanley and friends! ...
The Unleashed
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the terrifying sequel to The Haunted, Hendricks discovers that...
Paint by Sticker Kids: Dinosaurs: Create 10 Pictures One Sticker at a Time!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Create pictures of 10 awesome dinosaurs... with stickers! ...
Tad
Tad
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
From Benji Davies, the award-winning creator of The Storm Whale...
Go Get 'Em, Tiger! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The perfect picture book to celebrate every milestone from the...
A World of Opposites
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From ALONE and TOGETHER to ABOVE and BELOW, Gray Malin’s...
The Voting Booth
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Stonewall Award-winning author Brandy Colbert comes an all-in-one-day love...
Now & When
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Jenny Han and Christine Riccio comes a...
Dating Makes Perfect
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Tech sisters don’t date in high school. Not because...
Now That I've Found You
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Now That I've Found You is a YA novel about...
Entwined
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sometimes love gets a bit twisted. ...
A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
I can split myself in two . . . something...
The Lost City (The Omte Origins, #1)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Amanda Hocking, the New York Times bestselling author of...

Latest Member Reviews

No entries were found