Review Detail

Young Adult Indie 1188
engaging Romeo and Juliet style romance
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Writing Style 
 
3.0
Plot/Story 
 
3.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Characters (if applicable) 
 
3.0
Editing/Design Quality 
 
4.0
Nearly a modern day retelling of Romeo and Juliet in the Northern Ireland past the Troubles, ALL THE WALLS OF BELFAST follows two teens from opposing sides in alternating points-of-view. Fiona was born in Northern Ireland but left with her mother when she was only two years old. She has never known her father, but she is now returning to meet him and her two stepbrothers. As such, she is really American through and through, but she wants to connect to her Northern Irish roots.

Danny is a protestant in Northern Ireland whose mother died during the Troubles. He lives with his abusive father and dreams of a better life. He wants to maybe be a nurse in the military, but with poverty and family problems facing him, this may be a challenge.

Fiona soon finds out that her father was actually a fairly big player in the IRA and she is so shocked and alarmed that she is ready to leave. It is when she is leaving that she runs into Danny, and then her stepbrothers convince her to stay. The echoes of the Troubles are still felt throughout, and thus, any relationship between their sides is still frowned upon.

Without much familiarity of the Troubles, I needed to google some of the background to really understand what was going on in this book. I would recommend the same if you are also not too familiar. The book assumes a lot of background knowledge that I did not have.

In terms of the romance, it was cute, but there is a lot going on in the book- there are the echoes of the Troubles, abusive parent (Danny and Finn), and family complications (with the reuniting after so long), that make the book seem too short. I would have liked to simplify some of the stories to be able to focus on some in more detail or add volume to really explore the complexity here more. However, as-is, it is a fast read which also has some benefits.

I was also mildly concerned about the unaddressed sexism/sexual harassment that occurs in places through casual discussions/descriptions and I would have liked to see this addressed more/have Danny be a little more cognizant of himself. However, this was relatively minor and could have been a lot worse.

Overall, it's an engaging Romeo and Juliet style romance that moves quickly and features a new political context (i.e. not many books there) of that in Northern Ireland. Recommend for people who enjoy YA contemporary romance with family conflicts and change.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 1 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Peek-a-Boo Little Reindeer
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this adorable peek-a-boo board book with felt flaps, a...
Perfect on Paper
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In Sophie Gonzales' Perfect on Paper, Leah on the Offbeat...
11 Paper Hearts
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of To All the Boys I've Loved...
shine your icy crown
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
“Make them rue the day they underestimated you.” ...
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Sheinmel comes the...
Kamala Harris: Rooted in Justice
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Discover the incredible story of a young daughter of immigrants...
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera, this is...
Paris Cat
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A sassy cat from the back alleys of Paris believes...
The Last Hazelnut
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When two woodland friends have a misunderstanding over who ate...
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
He saw the darkness in her magic. She saw the...
Rescue
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Six hundred and fifty-seven days ago, Meg Kenyon's father left...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
“We are most courageous at our weakest; when we believe...
The Night Walk
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Mama opened our bedroom door. "Wake up, you two," she...
My Very Merry Ugly Christmas Sweater
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Celebrate the perfect, ugly expression of holiday cheer in this...
You and Me
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This sweet celebration of love is perfect for sharing with...
Baby's First Farm
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Babies and toddlers can lift the flaps to look inside...

Latest Member Reviews

Moment of Truth
 
4.0
"Hadley Moore is a dedicated high school swimmer who is hoping to get a college scholarship for the sport, so..."
Maybe This Time
 
4.7
"Sophie is bound and determined to make it out of her small Alabama town and attend design school in New..."
On the Fence
 
5.0
"I'm a sucker for YA and Friends to Lovers romance, and Kasie West is one of my favorite YA author..."
P.S. I Like You
 
4.7
"Be yourself, even when you don’t fit in! Two teenagers who both felt like something was missing in their lives..."
On the Fence
 
5.0
"I've read this book twice now, and I can't stop thinking about it. I feel madly in love with Charlie,..."
Fame, Fate, and the First Kiss
 
4.0
"When Lacey scores a leading role in a zombie movie, she wants to give it her all. However, she struggles..."
Love, Life, and the List
 
4.3
"Abby's goal in life is to become a serious artist. Her hope is to get into a special art camp...."
Snow in Love
 
4.0
"SNOW IN LOVE features four short stories that really get you into the Christmas spirit and they've also added some..."
Lucky in Love
 
4.0
"'Lucky in Love' by Kasie West captures a not-too-familiar storyline, but injects it with all-too-understandable themes. When main character Maddie..."
Listen to Your Heart
 
5.0
"'Listen to Your Heart' by Kasie West will draw you in and make you dread the pull of sleep if..."
Listen to Your Heart
 
5.0
"Kasie West brings us another compelling read with “Listen to your Heart,” a story about lake life, friendships, secrets, and..."
Lucky in Love
 
4.3
"Maddie, our main character in Kasie West’s “Lucky in Love”, is logical, hard-working, and a mega planner. She has..."