Review Detail

Young Adult Indie 838
Fast-paced, action-packed YA fantasy
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Plot/Story 
 
4.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Characters (if applicable) 
 
4.0
Editing/Design Quality 
 
4.0
Aspen lives in New York City where the Mage's council oversee the well being of the people in it. As a Norm, Aspen is on the bottom of their "to care about" list. Without her parents, she must take on odd jobs or steal to survive. While stealing from a man, Aspen is shocked to discover he's a mage. During their fight, Aspen loses consciousness and wakes up at the mage's house.

Here, she discovers that he is no ordinary mage. His name is Lucien and he's one of the most powerful mage's on the Mage's Council. Lucien needs an apprentice to compete against his fellow mage Xavior's. The council will not let him back out of it, so Aspen is the answer to all his problems. Except she's a norm. She doesn't have magic, but she quickly learns that there's more to her than she could've anticipated.

Her competition is Isak who is good-looking and cocky. He tries to talk Aspen out of the competition and she can't help but notice the sincerity in his voice. But there are bigger things going on than a competition. Someone is stealing the magic from beings and they fear it's to take the protective wards down from around the city. Isak and Aspen must put their differences aside in order to solve the mystery of who's behind the deaths that are scattered around New York.

MAGE'S APPRENTICE is a fast-paced, action-packed YA fantasy that holds your attention throughout the whole story. Aspen is a strong female lead, but after her parents death, she doesn't want to develop relationships with anyone. She has to learn to open up and trust others or it could cost her her life. Lucien quickly becomes my favorite character with his witty remarks and carefree attitude. I like the back and forth snarks Aspen has for both Lucien and Isak. After the ending, I'm curious to see what the next installment contains.


Final Verdict: I would recommend this to fans of fantasy, supernatural beings, magic, mages, action, and subtle romances.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Movies, mansions, and murder in the Golden Age of Hollywood!...
Kamala and Maya's Big Idea
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Meena Harris debuts with an empowering picture book about two...
Harvey Holds His Own (The Harvey Stories, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The West Highland Terrier that brought Harvey Comes Home to...
Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A teenage girl wonders if she’s inherited more than just...
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times bestselling author Amanda Hocking returns to...
The Hunt
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Death marked her from her very first breath. Being...
Swallowed by a Secret
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
One dead father. One lying mother. ...
Circus of the Dead Book One
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
There are many ways to die at the Circus...
Roaring
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Colt Clemmons is an agent in a specialized division...
Court of Lions
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Court of Lions is the long-awaited second and final...
More Than Just a Pretty Face
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Jenny Han, a...
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After the events at Llethanyl, city of the elves, Zed...
And Then I Turned into a Mermaid (And Then I Turned into a Mermaid, #1)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Emily Windsnap and Maybe A Mermaid, And...
After the Worst Thing Happens
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Left reeling after her thoughtless mistake causes a terrible accident,...
Hirana's War: Book Two in the Eloia Born Series
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Praise for Eloia Born “Loved it! A well-written narrative...
Hans Christian Andersen: The Journey of His Life
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
"If you like, I’ll tell you the story of a...

Latest Member Reviews

Dark Seeker (Seeker #1)
 
1.0
"A fast-paced plot with edge-of-your seat action wasn't enough to save Dark Seeker from a lack of world-building, a weak..."