Review Detail

Young Adult Indie 319
God's Rough Drafts
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Plot/Story 
 
5.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
5.0
Characters (if applicable) 
 
5.0
Editing/Design Quality 
 
5.0
"God’s Rough Drafts" (Red Dashboard Press) is a gripping, powerful page-turner set 110 years in the future where massive corporations control the government, the working class sell their organs and body parts to pay off loans, while the rich use their newly-purchased limbs as a means of accessorizing. “Chop shops” and the practice of “cleansing and harvesting” would be painful, if it weren’t for the Prevotel Corporation’s seemingly endless supply of prescription drugs, with the minor side effect of life-long addiction and an inability to break free from the grim cycle of marketing and selling one’s own body parts.
At the helm of this thriller is Fallon Westerly, a fierce, seventeen-year-old adventurer-heroine who uses her tenacity and unprecedented talents to fight back. She, along with Danny and Emma, three gifted teenagers with supernatural gifts, find themselves imprisoned in the Warrenton School for Juvenile Student Management for crimes against the state. While serving time, Danny and Emma save Fallon from the WSJSM headmaster, and the three narrowly escape the laboratory/prison posing as a correctional facility for youth. Now Fallon needs the help of her two newfound friends to return to the detention center on a quest to seek retribution, and put a stop to the buying, marketing, and distribution of human body parts forever. Hunting them, however, are creatures which bear a striking resemblance to monsters from nineteenth-century literature, each the ghastly creation of the mastermind who wanted the three teens together in the first place. Fallon, Danny, and Emma must use their special gifts to defeat the unholy creations standing in their way, with Nature as their co-conspirator…or perhaps their enemy?
We’re not sure.
"God’s Rough Drafts," Robert Scott’s seventh novel, asks what will happen in the twenty-second century if we don’t deal with the issues that plague us in the twenty-first: greedy corporations, deceitful governments, and the devious prescription drug industry. While clearly targeted at teenage readers, the book will attract fans of all ages struggling with the desire both to furiously turn pages but also pause to consider who really controls this country our everyday lives. In a world where technology is both a critical resource but also a permanent handcuff, Scott encourages readers to reflect on a future that’s being written by cell phone and social media addicts today.
Scott’s foundation for brilliance in God’s Rough Drafts lies in his ability to tell a highly intense story with fast paced action scenes packed with adventure, mystery, the super natural, and even a bit of romance, while serving his readers a slice of social commentary, thanks to his humor and his sharply drawn characters who represent modern day super heroes: reflective, relentless, and unapologetic forces of nature. Scott fills every page with high intensity action, a riveting story line with important, sociological themes, characters that will forever resonate with readers of all ages, and an ending that leaves us counting the days until Fallon’s sequel arrives.
Good Points
This book is a must-read for any teen or YA fiction fans concerned with the current social, political, and economic climate in the United States. A timely story with wide appeal, Robert Scott offers insightful commentary for teens concerned about the future if nothing changes.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Twin
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
After their parents divorced, 10-year-old twins Ivy and Iris were...
Devil Darling Spy
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
It's 1940, and Sarah Goldstein is hiding in plain sight...
The Life Below
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
It was hard enough for Naomi to leave Leo, a...
Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Meet Mr. Penguin―Adventurer (And Penguin!) When Mr. Penguin...
Famous by Default
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Jax Buried, By my family's fame. Dying to escape...
Sword and Pen (Great Library Book, #5)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
With the future of the Great Library in doubt,...
Butterfly Yellow
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Ibi Zoboi, and...
Jonny Lambert's Construction Site
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A beautifully illustrated book for babies featuring lots of noisy...
Pop-Up Peekaboo! Baby Animals
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Take your toddler on a rain forest adventure and find...
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Kira Fujikawa has never had it easy. She’s...
Pet
Pet
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The highly-anticipated, genre-defying new novel by award-winning author Akwaeke...
Gray (The Wings Trilogy, #3)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The long anticipated finale to the Wings Trilogy. ...
Black (The Wings Trilogy, #2)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"I was the weak link in the chain, and the...
Two Worlds of Redemption (Two Worlds, #3)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Finally presented to the Allinan public, Maray’s life at court...
Two Worlds of Oblivion (Two Worlds, #2)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The blood that holds the power to change the fate...
Two Worlds of Provenance (Two Worlds, #1)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Her fate lies just one world away… ...

Latest Member Reviews

Devil Darling Spy
 
4.7
"Sarah Goldstein, alias Ursulla Haller, is living right under Nazi rule in 1940 Germany. She's the Shirley Temple of the..."
The Life Below
 
4.0
"Naomi can't help but wonder if there was an ulterior motive behind the decision to kick Leo out of the..."
The Stars We Steal
 
3.7
"Jane Austen in space….yes please! The Stars We Steal by Alexa Donne is a futuristic retelling of Jane Austen’s Persuasion...."
Hearts, Strings, and Other Breakable Things
 
4.0
" The story: After living in foster care since the death of her mother, Edie finally..."
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
"Sixteen-year-old Kira Fujikawa loves helping at her family shrine. She also has a paranormal ability. She sees the not only..."
The Shadows Between Us
 
5.0
"THE SHADOWS BETWEEN US is the highly devourable YA fantasy I have been searching for! This is an enthralling story..."
 
3.3
"The Betrothed is a brand new YA-novel set in the 15th century by Kiera Cass, whom we all know from..."
Remember Me
 
4.0
"‘First rule of storytelling,’ he says, a glint in his eyes.’ Everything is possible.’ Nell is..."
Lobizona
 
5.0
"Sixteen-year-old Manuela, 'Manu' is in hiding from her father's Argentinian crime family. She also runs the risk of being deported..."
A Very Large Expanse of Sea
 
4.7
"Reviewed for YA Books Central A book that should be on every teen's shelf. ..."
Serious Moonlight
 
5.0
"Birdie and Daniel has the most awkward first encounter. So when Birdie started her job in a historic hotel, she..."
Long Way Down
 
5.0
"I feel like I've been asleep for the last 31 years and I just woke up. I am woke. ..."
The Opposite of Always
 
5.0
"Opposite of Always is a heartfelt and stunning debut; that is worthy of all praise. I am in love..."
Tyler Johnson Was Here
 
5.0
"Tyler Johnson Was Here--did not come to be politically correct, or racially ambiguous. Tyler Johnson came to tell an ugly..."
We Are Not Free
 
5.0
"Fourteen friends who grew up together in Japantown, San Francisco find themselves and their families sent off to incarceration camps..."
The Way You Make Me Feel
 
3.7
"Clara Shin is the class clown and definitely qualifies as a troll too. (Big difference between the two, I'm not..."
Pet
Pet
 
4.7
"Recently recognized as a National Book Award finalist and a Stonewall Honor book, Pet is also Akwaeke Emezi’s YA debut..."
Brown Girl Ghosted
 
4.0
"Sixteen-year-old Violet Choudhury has a huge secret. During the day she's part of her Midwestern town's cheer squad and at..."
Daughter of Chaos (Chilling Adventures of Sabrina, #2)
 
5.0
"DAUGHTER OF CHAOS is another delightful spin-off book from the Netflix version of Sabrina. This one takes place between Parts..."
The Queen's Assassin (Queen's Secret, #1)
 
3.3
"THE QUEEN'S ASSASSIN is a YA fantasy romance that would appeal to younger YA readers. The book follows Shadow and..."