Review Detail

Young Adult Indie 613
A good follow up!
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Plot/Story 
 
4.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Characters (if applicable) 
 
4.0
Editing/Design Quality 
 
4.0
A great sequel!

The Story:
The book picks up right where Over Ruled left off. Jade is the new queen and Nova is on the run, trying to find her family with Chael at her side. We get the story from both Jade and Nova's point of view as they each have their own things to come to terms with. Jade has a kingdom to rule, but can't get past the fact that Chael left her for Nova. And Nova, she's on a journey that proves dangerous at every turn. Their paths cross in many ways they don't see coming.

What I loved:
The characters are so well written and well fleshed out that it's easy to root for them against anything. With an easy writing style, the book sucks you in and then keeps hold with events happening at rapid speed, never allowing for a dull moment. It was an exciting and interesting read from end to end.

What was just okay:
It's been a long time since book one released and I spent the first part of the book just trying, and never quite succeeding, to remember everything that was going on.

Final Verdict:
A well-written and exciting story you won't want to put down.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

What Are Unicorns Made Of?
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Have you ever wondered what unicorns are made of? Are...
Grandfather Bowhead, Tell Me a Story
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Richly illustrated and lovingly told, this book is a warm...
Stanley's Toy Box
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Everyone’s favorite hard-working hamster Stanley teams up with friends to...
Sing Me Forgotten
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Isda does not exist. At least not beyond the opulent...
Peek-a-Boo Little Reindeer
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this adorable peek-a-boo board book with felt flaps, a...
Perfect on Paper
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In Sophie Gonzales' Perfect on Paper, Leah on the Offbeat...
11 Paper Hearts
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of To All the Boys I've Loved...
shine your icy crown
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
“Make them rue the day they underestimated you.” ...
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Sheinmel comes the...
Kamala Harris: Rooted in Justice
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Discover the incredible story of a young daughter of immigrants...
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera, this is...
Paris Cat
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A sassy cat from the back alleys of Paris believes...
The Last Hazelnut
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When two woodland friends have a misunderstanding over who ate...
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
He saw the darkness in her magic. She saw the...
Rescue
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Six hundred and fifty-seven days ago, Meg Kenyon's father left...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
“We are most courageous at our weakest; when we believe...

Latest Member Reviews

Martin King and the Space Angels
 
5.0
"This was a beautiful book - I bought the paperback and it's quite simply the best self-published book I've ever..."
Martin King and the Space Angels
 
4.8
"This was a beautiful book - I bought the paperback and it's quite simply the best self-published book I've ever..."