Review Detail

Utopia Featured
Young Adult Indie 1444
Utopia book review
(Updated: April 30, 2019)
Overall rating 
 
3.5
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Plot/Story 
 
3.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Characters (if applicable) 
 
4.0
Editing/Design Quality 
 
3.0
What I Liked
Dystopian is one of the most expensive genres out there. There is a multitude of things one can do with it and there is no right or wrong way to do said things. One can corrupt the government as much as one desires. There is the chosen one trope, which one can’t go wrong with. The possibilities are endless. There is a reason this genres is one of my favorites.

One of the things I loved about this book was how believable the voice of 16 year old Auror was. Too often, I find myself reading books about teenagers and they sound like 30 year old adults. That was not the case here. Aurora felt and read like a teenager throughout the entire course of the book. It was written simply but it worked because Aurora thought in black and white.

Another aspect I love was the friendship between Fletcher and Aurora. While I detected hints of romantic overtures, I found their relationship refreshing. They clearly cared about each other very much and it was pleasant to read about a boy and a girl being just friends.

What Left Me Wanting More
LIke I mentioned above, with they dystopian genre, one can do just about anything to the world with world building being one of the most important aspects. Unfortunately, that is where this book lacked. I did get some information about the floating cities that Aurora lived on but I wanted more. I wanted to know how they were structured, how they were climate controlled and most importantly how they floated about Australia. I felt that this was important to the story and perhaps we will learn more in the sequel.

The plot happens at a bit of breakneck speed. There is constant action up until closer to the end, where things slowed down a bit. I did get a bit of whiplash from time to time. Especially in the beginning. I would have loved it if there was a chapter of Aurora and her daily life. Because I mean, she lives on a floating city! How cool is that? This would have been a great way to build up the world and get to know Aurora more personally.

Final Verdict
Utopia was an excellent start to the series that I am excited to continue. It’s fast paced plot and unique concept of floating cities will be sure to draw you in and keep you hooked until the very last word.
Good Points
Believable characters, interesting world concept, refreshing relationships
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

What Are Unicorns Made Of?
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Have you ever wondered what unicorns are made of? Are...
Grandfather Bowhead, Tell Me a Story
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Richly illustrated and lovingly told, this book is a warm...
Stanley's Toy Box
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Everyone’s favorite hard-working hamster Stanley teams up with friends to...
Sing Me Forgotten
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Isda does not exist. At least not beyond the opulent...
Peek-a-Boo Little Reindeer
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this adorable peek-a-boo board book with felt flaps, a...
Perfect on Paper
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In Sophie Gonzales' Perfect on Paper, Leah on the Offbeat...
11 Paper Hearts
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of To All the Boys I've Loved...
shine your icy crown
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
“Make them rue the day they underestimated you.” ...
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Sheinmel comes the...
Kamala Harris: Rooted in Justice
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Discover the incredible story of a young daughter of immigrants...
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera, this is...
Paris Cat
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A sassy cat from the back alleys of Paris believes...
The Last Hazelnut
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When two woodland friends have a misunderstanding over who ate...
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
He saw the darkness in her magic. She saw the...
Rescue
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Six hundred and fifty-seven days ago, Meg Kenyon's father left...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
“We are most courageous at our weakest; when we believe...

Latest Member Reviews

The Princess Twins and the Birthday Party
 
4.0
"It's Princess Abby and Princess Emma's birthday! As the girls dress up in their fanciest dresses and curl their..."
The Princess Twins and the Tea Party
 
4.0
"Even though I don't have any girls in my household (yet), my boys and I love reading this series about..."
The Princess Twins and the Puppy
 
4.0
"When Abby and Emma lose their puppy, Abby must pray to God to make her brave enough to go down..."
The Princess Twins Play in the Garden
 
4.0
"Princess Abby and Princess Emma are enjoying a day in the garden and celebrating God's creation. Princess Emma has..."