Review Detail

Utopia Featured
Young Adult Indie 1557
Utopia book review
(Updated: April 30, 2019)
Overall rating 
 
3.5
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Plot/Story 
 
3.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Characters (if applicable) 
 
4.0
Editing/Design Quality 
 
3.0
What I Liked
Dystopian is one of the most expensive genres out there. There is a multitude of things one can do with it and there is no right or wrong way to do said things. One can corrupt the government as much as one desires. There is the chosen one trope, which one can’t go wrong with. The possibilities are endless. There is a reason this genres is one of my favorites.

One of the things I loved about this book was how believable the voice of 16 year old Auror was. Too often, I find myself reading books about teenagers and they sound like 30 year old adults. That was not the case here. Aurora felt and read like a teenager throughout the entire course of the book. It was written simply but it worked because Aurora thought in black and white.

Another aspect I love was the friendship between Fletcher and Aurora. While I detected hints of romantic overtures, I found their relationship refreshing. They clearly cared about each other very much and it was pleasant to read about a boy and a girl being just friends.

What Left Me Wanting More
LIke I mentioned above, with they dystopian genre, one can do just about anything to the world with world building being one of the most important aspects. Unfortunately, that is where this book lacked. I did get some information about the floating cities that Aurora lived on but I wanted more. I wanted to know how they were structured, how they were climate controlled and most importantly how they floated about Australia. I felt that this was important to the story and perhaps we will learn more in the sequel.

The plot happens at a bit of breakneck speed. There is constant action up until closer to the end, where things slowed down a bit. I did get a bit of whiplash from time to time. Especially in the beginning. I would have loved it if there was a chapter of Aurora and her daily life. Because I mean, she lives on a floating city! How cool is that? This would have been a great way to build up the world and get to know Aurora more personally.

Final Verdict
Utopia was an excellent start to the series that I am excited to continue. It’s fast paced plot and unique concept of floating cities will be sure to draw you in and keep you hooked until the very last word.
Good Points
Believable characters, interesting world concept, refreshing relationships
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Hollow Inside
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Phoenix has spent much of her life drifting from...
Spells Trouble (Sisters of Salem, #1)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Double double, twins spell trouble… ...
10 Truths and a Dare
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
It's Senior Party Week, that magical in-between time after...
The Promised Prince
 
4.3
 
5.0 (1)
Perfect for fans of the Selection series by Kiera...
Indivisible
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This timely, moving debut novel follows a teen's efforts...
The Other Side of Perfect
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Sarah Dessen and Mary H.K. Choi,...
Counting Down with You
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this sparkling and romantic YA debut, a reserved...
Gutter Girl (Twin River High, #1)
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Star football player Jace Rovers has a secret. And...
Secondhand Dogs
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A heartwarming—and heart-tugging—middle grade novel about love, loyalty, and what...
High School Musical: The Musical: The Series: The Road Trip
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Join everyone's favorite Wildcats from the Disney+ smash hit original...
I'll Meet You in Your Dreams
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A heartwarming text honoring the ever-evolving relationship of a parent...
Colors of Habitats
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The brand-new sequel to a well-reviewed bestseller that has been...
Noble Thief (Fantasy and Fairytales Book 6)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A prince of two kingdoms. A woman fighting against the...
All These Bodies
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sixteen bloodless bodies. Two teenagers. One impossible explanation. ...
The Beautiful Ones
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
They are the Beautiful Ones, Loisail’s most notable socialites, and...
I Am the Shark
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
What makes the great white shark (one of) the greatest...

Latest Member Reviews

The Art of Losing
 
4.3
"Seventeen-year-old Harley has been dating Mike for a couple of years, and being his girlfriend gives her a status and..."