Review Detail

Young Adult Indie 510
A sweet read.
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Plot/Story 
 
4.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Characters (if applicable) 
 
4.0
Editing/Design Quality 
 
4.0
A heartwarming tale of first love.

The Story:
Finley hasn't had it easy. Her mentally ill mother can't care for her in a way a mother should, forcing Finley to drop out of school to support them. When a truancy officer shows up at her home, life as she knows it will never be the same. Her mom needs help, but in order for her to get that help Finley has to go into the foster system, moving across town to live in a mcmansion with a stern older lady and her too-handsome and too-off limits grandson.
What follows is a sweet story of two people who need each other more than either of them realized.

What I loved:
There's something very endearing about these two and everything they go through for each other. As soon as Finley moves in, they fall into an easy friendship, pretending it's that of brother and sister - supporting each other at sporting events, riding to school in the same car, and eating dinner together every night. It's very normal in a way neither kid has ever experienced before. They're both learning how to be a family after their parents let them down.
Chase is just as sweet as can be, always looking out for Finley and keeping her true reason for being there a secret. There's little not to like about these two.

What was just okay:
There isn't a ton of drama. Everything is resolved very easily after it happens. Even Chase's old model fling showing up is nothing more than a cursory appearance that means nothing. I loved this story and wanted more. I wanted to feel as if the characters would have done anything for each other, that they had this passionate love rather than a like.

Final Verdict:
A story that will appeal to all fans of YA romance with great characters and an easy, engaging writing style. My only question when I finished this was 'when can I get the next book?".
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
At seventeen, June Hardie is everything a young woman in...
Butterfly Yellow
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Ibi Zoboi, and Erika...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The definitive collection of art, poetry, and prose, celebrating fat...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventh-grader Tristan Strong feels anything but strong ever since he...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Still reeling from her recent battle (and grounded until she...
Cog
Cog
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Cog looks like a normal twelve-year-old boy. But his name...
Homerooms and Hall Passes
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the mystical realm of Bríandalör, every day the brave...
Susan B. Anthony: The Making of America #4
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the fourth installment in the Making of America series,...
Hazel's Theory of Evolution
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Hazel knows a lot about the world. That’s because when...
Sublime Karma
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
When Brie’s stepfather moves the family for what he...
Goddess Ascending
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Promised to the Light. Hunted by the Dark. Two...
Crown of Coral and Pearl
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Nor once dreamed of seeing the wondrous wealth and...
#Murderfunding (#MurderTrending, #2)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
WELCOME TO WHO WANTS TO BE A PAINIAC?, the...
Voyages in the Underworld of Orpheus Black
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Harry Black is lost between the world of war...
Vow of Thieves (Dance of Thieves, #2)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Kazi and Jase have survived, stronger and more in...
The Lady Rogue
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Last Magician meets A Gentleman’s Guide to Vice and...

Latest Member Reviews

Follow Me (Amateurs #2)
 
3.7
"The gang's (Seneca, Maddox, Aerin, and Madison) back again in "Follow Me" by Sara Shepard, author of the "Pretty Little..."
Pretty Little Liars (Pretty Little Liars #1)
 
3.0
" Aria, Emily, Spencer, and Hanna are four girls with one thing in common - they were all friends with..."
The Good Girls (Perfectionists)
 
4.0
"The second and final book in The Perfectionist duology by Sara Shepard does not disappoint. Reminiscent of the Pretty Little..."
Pretty Little Liars (Pretty Little Liars #1)
 
4.7
"After reading "Pretty Little Liars" by Sara Shepard, I was shocked. I had to admit that I had my doubts..."
Cross My Heart, Hope to Die (The Lying Game #5)
 
4.0
"This review contains spoilers. You’ve been warned! Even though Pretty Little Liars is much more popular I prefer The..."
Cross My Heart, Hope to Die (The Lying Game #5)
 
4.3
AH Alison Hong
"Confession: I'm reading Cross My Heart, Hope to Die only because I just want some clues hinting the identity of..."
Crushed (Pretty Little Liars #13)
 
3.7
"The Pretty Little Liars series puts me in a fix - it's been 13 books now, where will the story..."
The Lying Game (The Lying Game #1)
 
4.3
"The lost soul part is what made me read it! :)"
Pretty Little Liars (Pretty Little Liars #1)
 
5.0
"This story is about four bestfriends who are all back in Rosewood dealing with these weird texts from someone who..."
Never Have I Ever (The Lying Game #2)
 
4.7
"I enjoyed it thoroughly, I would not only recommend this book but this author."
Two Truths And A Lie (The Lying Game #3)
 
3.3
"I recommend this for those who read the first two and are waiting anxiously (like me) to finish the series...."
Two Truths And A Lie (The Lying Game #3)
 
2.7
"Not as good as the other ones."
Twisted (Pretty Little Liars #9)
 
4.3
"I, like most other fans, thought the series were over. We were shocked into disbelief at how the last book..."
Flawless (Pretty Little Liars #2)
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by aubrey The book Flawless picks up right where Pretty Little Liars leaves off with Spencer, Aira,..."
The Lying Game (The Lying Game #1)
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Meghan I picked up The Lying Game from the store, not really expecting much. I..."
Pretty Little Liars (Pretty Little Liars #1)
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Bangelfreak "
The Lying Game (The Lying Game #1)
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Izzy The Lying Game is a book by Sara Shepard, the well-known author of Pretty Little Liars. ..."
The Lying Game (The Lying Game #1)
 
3.0
"Reader reviewed by Lia Sutton Mercer wakes up dead, at her long-lost twin sister, Emma's foster home. Sutton unable to communicate..."
Pretty Little Liars (Pretty Little Liars #1)
 
4.0
"Reader reviewed by Ruthie I actually watched the first season of the tv show before I decided to read the..."
Flawless (Pretty Little Liars #2)
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by fifi57 Another good book by Sara Shepard.  After loving the 1st book I went out and got..."