Review Detail

Young Adult Indie 1047
Deep, Complex Story for Fantasy/Dystopian Lovers
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Plot/Story 
 
3.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Characters (if applicable) 
 
4.0
Editing/Design Quality 
 
4.0
The story:

Ember Trouve, missing for three years in Trinity Forest, has been “rebirthed”, in the form of a controversial mega-pop-star, Oshun. This process is supposed to remove all prior memories, but Ember’s personality fights to break free. Meanwhile, Ember’s brother Jared and best friend Maddie continue to search for her. While the world around them crumbles due to the dark powers behind it all, can Ember finally reclaim her identity?


What I loved:

As in Book One of the series, Ember Burning, Ms. Alsever’s writing style flows very well. The plot is very complex and layered, told from multiple POVs, yet most of the characters are well-realized. Jared, in particular, is willing to sacrifice everything to find Ember, even if it means going off the deep end to chase every lead, no matter how ridiculous or tenuous.

In my review of Ember Burning, the dark power behind Trinity Forest was never fully realized. It most definitely was here, so I’m glad to have gotten some answers.


What I didn’t love:

Much of the story dealt with the dual personality of Ember and Oshun, but the reason behind the decimation (enslavement?) of humanity remained very murky. I didn’t find the stories of Xintra or Tre as compelling as those of Ember/Oshun, Jared, and Maddie, and I found Dax’s POV to be unnecessary.


My Final Verdict:

Oshun Rising, though well-written, is a bit unbalanced. Parts of the story that needed expounded on were not while more ink was given to other parts than were necessary. Though I enjoyed many of the characters, some parts of the plot seemed a little too wafer-thin for me to give this a higher rating.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Unleashed
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the terrifying sequel to The Haunted, Hendricks discovers that...
Paint by Sticker Kids: Dinosaurs: Create 10 Pictures One Sticker at a Time!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Create pictures of 10 awesome dinosaurs... with stickers! ...
Tad
Tad
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
From Benji Davies, the award-winning creator of The Storm Whale...
Go Get 'Em, Tiger! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The perfect picture book to celebrate every milestone from the...
A World of Opposites
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From ALONE and TOGETHER to ABOVE and BELOW, Gray Malin’s...
The Voting Booth
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Stonewall Award-winning author Brandy Colbert comes an all-in-one-day love...
Now & When
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Jenny Han and Christine Riccio comes a...
Dating Makes Perfect
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Tech sisters don’t date in high school. Not because...
Now That I've Found You
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Now That I've Found You is a YA novel about...
Entwined
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sometimes love gets a bit twisted. ...
A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
I can split myself in two . . . something...
The Lost City (The Omte Origins, #1)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Amanda Hocking, the New York Times bestselling author of...
Scarlet Odyssey
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Magic is women’s work; war is men’s. But in...
Honor Lost (The Honors, #3)
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Quick-thinking Leviathan pilot Zara Cole must stop a planet-eating monster...
If...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Take a fantastical journey through an inspiring world where anything...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The power of the dragon totems is no longer a...

Latest Member Reviews

Pocket Cats: Feline Charm
 
3.0
"Feline Charm is the third book in the Pocket Cats series. This was a light-hearted little read that I..."