Review Detail

Young Adult Indie 3767
Emerge: The Awakening Review
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Plot/Story 
 
4.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Characters (if applicable) 
 
4.0
Editing/Design Quality 
 
4.0
Summary

Allie was never really normal. For some reason, everyone seemed to recoil at her touch. Her parent’s job has caused her to move constantly. They finally settle in Ohio where Allie meets friends who immediately take her in and don’t recoil at her touch. On her 16th birthday, she finds out way. Allie is immortal. She awakens into her power and a world she never knew existed. Her friends and their family take her into their protection and guidance to teach Allie a life she was not ready for. Allie’s power is very strong in an immortal so young. She finds Aidan has an equal in the measurement of power. Their equal power attracts them to each other. This attraction will either strengthen or ruin their relationship. Allie learns about the about the Immortal’s history through stories of her friend’s parents. In these lessons, she is told about a group called the Coalition. The Coalition is a group of mortals and Immortals who use the most advanced technology to obtain their goal. Their main goal was to eradicate the Immortals, but now they want to use them. Since Allie’s gift is so strong, she is told that they will come for her at some point. She must know learn how to defend herself through various weapon and self defense training. Allie must now learn how to balance an immortal life and a normal 16-year-old life.


Feedback

Emerge: The Awakening by Melissa A. Craven definitely has a unique story. The beginning of the story starts off with Allie being told that her family is moving again. We get to see a little bit of the recoil Allie experiences by other people. Once she arrives in Ohio she immediately finds people who connect with her. Finally, her 16th birthday arrives and she experiences her awakening. After her awakening, her life is now full of history lessons of the Immortals and self-defense training. During her training she learns a lot about each parent and how long they’ve truly lived. While her life is dramatically changing she is trying to keep some sort of normalcy. She dates a mortal while trying to control her closeness to Aidan. There were interesting aspects of this book, however, I felt like the pacing was too sporadic. While I know Allie feels an immediate connections to the others, I had a hard time with the beginning because of how fast everything moved. We learn that she always had a hard time connecting with other people but she doesn’t really question why these relationships were easy. Even tough learning about each Immortal is interesting, I found this part to be slower. I had a hard time getting through the middle, especially because the pacing was so fast during the beginning. Once the ending of the book is reached, the story has the perfect pace. I thoroughly enjoyed the end of this book and found myself wanting more at the end.

Emerge: The Awakening consists of multiple personalities. Allie is a fiery redhead who uses sarcasm as a cover. While I really enjoyed Allie, there were times I couldn’t really relate to her. I felt like my main issue with Allie was her unwillingness to accept the Immortal life at first. While I couldn’t imagine what I would do if I were her instead, I do think there would be more acceptance. At first she doesn’t really take her new life seriously. Towards the end of the book she does start accepting who she is and that this is now her life. She does try to keep her life as normal as possible causing some conflict with Aidan. Aidan puts on a “mask” of a cocky jock as a means of being accepted. After meeting Allie, Aidan finally feels like he can be himself with someone who is his equal. You really learn a lot about Aidan with his actions towards Allie and I felt like Allie should have accepted him more. She continually tries to reject certain aspects of Aidan that should have been embraced instead. All of the other characters were really easy to understand and interpret their importance. I feel like the biggest struggle was Allie and Aidan’s relationship.


Final Thoughts

Emerge: The Awakening by Melissa A. Craven is an interesting read. I really enjoyed the twist on being an immortal that was created While I found the pacing in this book difficult to follow, the content did hold my interest. The stories of each Immortal really did bring an understanding of their lives. I also loved the ending of this book. I was a little worried because I really wanted to like this book but was having a hard time in the beginning and middle. Once I reached the end, I could not put the story down. I am anticipating to continue this story after reading finishing the first book. I recommend this book to those who love mixing history with fantasy. If you find the pacing of the book to be difficult to follow as I did, I highly recommend continuing as the ending is amazing.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Movies, mansions, and murder in the Golden Age of Hollywood!...
Kamala and Maya's Big Idea
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Meena Harris debuts with an empowering picture book about two...
Harvey Holds His Own (The Harvey Stories, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The West Highland Terrier that brought Harvey Comes Home to...
Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A teenage girl wonders if she’s inherited more than just...
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times bestselling author Amanda Hocking returns to...
The Hunt
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Death marked her from her very first breath. Being...
Swallowed by a Secret
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
One dead father. One lying mother. ...
Circus of the Dead Book One
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
There are many ways to die at the Circus...
Roaring
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Colt Clemmons is an agent in a specialized division...
Court of Lions
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Court of Lions is the long-awaited second and final...
More Than Just a Pretty Face
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Jenny Han, a...
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After the events at Llethanyl, city of the elves, Zed...
And Then I Turned into a Mermaid (And Then I Turned into a Mermaid, #1)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Emily Windsnap and Maybe A Mermaid, And...
After the Worst Thing Happens
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Left reeling after her thoughtless mistake causes a terrible accident,...
Hirana's War: Book Two in the Eloia Born Series
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Praise for Eloia Born “Loved it! A well-written narrative...
Hans Christian Andersen: The Journey of His Life
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
"If you like, I’ll tell you the story of a...

Latest Member Reviews

 
4.0
"WHAT I LOVED: We think of the glitz, glamorous mega-stars, and classic movies when we think of the Golden Age..."
The Night Country (The Hazel Wood #2)
 
4.0
"Alice Proserpine thought she was mostly back to “normal” life after breaking from her story in the Hinterland, but when..."
Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
"What worked: Intriguing plot of Chloe, a seventeen-year-old super-achiever, who ends up collapsing during her senior year in high school..."
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
"THE ADVENTURERS GUILD: NIGHT OF DANGERS by Zack Loran Clark and Nick Eliopulos is the culmination of a Middle Grade..."
The Pros of Cons
 
4.0
"WHAT I LOVED: I genuinely can't imagine four different events happening simultaneously in the same complex, but it happens..."
BRB I'm Going to Disneyland
 
4.0
"'BRB: I'm Going to Disneyland' by Courtney Carbone is a cute, quick read. As a novel written in texts, emails,..."
He Must Like You
 
5.0
"'He Must Like You' by Danielle Younge-Ullman is an intensely provocative look at the various ways in which consent, upset,..."
How the Stars Came to Be
 
5.0
"Reviewed for YA Books Central Beautiful in every aspect. The book: This is a story about how the..."
Unscripted
 
5.0
"A book so real it can be u comfortable at times. The story: Zelda doesn’t have a..."
The Dark Tide
 
5.0
"THE DARK TIDE is an enthralling and atmospheric YA fantasy read. We follow Lina, a townsperson, and Eva, the witch..."
Where Dreams Descend
 
4.0
"What worked: Beautifully written tale where a girl performer breaks away from her cage and enters a competition of magicians..."
The Black Kids
 
5.0
"THE BLACK KIDS is a really poignant read that ties history to the present. Ashley is a senior in high..."
What Goes Up
 
3.3
"'What Goes Up' by Christine Heppermann is a quick read, as it is a novel-in-verse, a format that can be..."
They Wish They Were Us
 
4.3
"THEY WISH THEY WERE US is an engaging YA thriller reminiscent of GOSSIP GIRLS. The book follows Jill, who had..."
Roaring
 
3.0
"ROARING takes place in the 1920s- with a twist. Monsters, sirens, minotaurs, basilisks, and more, exist, and they are woven..."
More Than Just a Pretty Face
 
5.0
"MORE THAN JUST A PRETTY FACE is a fantastic YA contemporary romance that follows Danyal during his senior year of..."
You Say It First
 
3.3
"'You Say It First' is easily one of those books you will either love or hate. My feelings fell somewhere..."
Court of Lions (Mirage, #2)
 
5.0
"COURT OF LIONS finishes the MIRAGE duology with aplomb. This YA fantasy series takes us to another planet and the..."
The Unleashed: The Haunted, Book 2
 
4.0
"Creepy, suspenseful paranormal where some friends learn that a summoning might bring back something unexpected and evil. ..."
The Year of the Witching
 
5.0
"Immanuelle lives in the town of Bethel where the Prophet's word is law and the highest honor for a woman..."