Review Detail

Young Adult Indie 1115
The Secrets of Islayne by Kari Lynn West Review
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Plot/Story 
 
4.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Characters (if applicable) 
 
5.0
Editing/Design Quality 
 
4.0
The Secrets of Islayne by Kari Lynn West

4 out of 5 stars

Summary

Islayne is a beautiful, magical island off the mainland of Scotland. A specific part of the island holds an old type of magic that gives people the gifting of reviving old, forgotten memories. This is known as the trade of lumination. People travel from across the world to get their memories revived, or brighten as the luminators say. These lands belong to three families and have just recently been shared with new people of the island when a school was built. Ronan does not belong to one of the three families but has the gifting. Determined to make it in the world of lumination he studied hard to graduate at the top of his class.

The problem? The old families are so corrupt and greedy that they don't want anyone else in the trade. Ronan worked very hard to graduate at the top of his class and was almost out of luck with no apprenticeship until Ben, a recluse of the Roscoe family, decides to train him. Along with Ronan, his best friend Eli, a member of the Brennigton family, is obligated to have a career as a luminator. However, Eli highly dislikes his family and their corruption leaving him wanting nothing to do with the trade. All Cassie wants is a little bit of her father's attention. He is the most famous new luminator and actually has a chance on getting a council seat. Cassie knows he's busy and very important so she's a bit reckless and a daredevil hoping one day he'll really notice her. Adele has been coming to the island ever since she was little to visit Cassie. This is the first year she doesn't want to be shipped to the island. Will the four friends be able to have a normal summer? Can they be safe once they discover the secrets of Islayne?


Feedback

I really enjoyed this story! The idea of the lumination trade is so unique and interesting. The story was never dull and always kept me wanting more. West wrote in multiple point of views and did so very successfully. The transitions were always smooth and the characters very clear. This gave a great perspective and did not waste time giving too much background information to establish each character. The world of lumination is a big, new world for all of us. Learning about how it works and the history of the trade was great. West found ways to do all of this without making it boring!
I loved each character on the island of Islayne. Well, the ones you're supposed to like anyways. Ronan is so determined to become a luminator that you want him to succeed. Eli wants to do something other than lumination but how can he without being disowned by his family? His hopes to become something else weighs on him. Cassie wants her father approval. She pulls off stunts to hope that her father will give her some attention. Her friends are her family and their love should be the approval she needs. Adele is going through a lot at home. Her time on the island needs to be a great summer to help her with her own grief. Each character is flawed in their own way but makes them relatable and great to interact with.
So, what's missing? The Secrets of Islayne was a great story but I feel like there was a little more that could have been done. I really wish there was more lumination. The actual lumination sessions were interesting to read. However, they were so limited in the book that it left me wanting more. I also wish there was more Ben. Aside from the main characters, Ben was probably one of my favorites. I also didn't feel like the setting was accurately portrayed. I kept forgetting they were off the mainland of Scotland because of the dialect. While it made the book easy to read, it didn't really set up the setting perfectly. I feel like if there was more lumination and Ben, this book would have been even more amazing!


Final Thoughts

This book was great! I honestly enjoyed it from start to finish. The whole world is unique and interesting. The world of lumination is special to Islayne and with the trade, a lot of magic and mystery. The secrets of the island makes it a dangerous one also! Ronan, Eli, Cassie and Adele were relatable characters that you truly do take an interest in them. I highly recommend this book for anyone who loves magic and secrets! This read is an easy and enjoyable one.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 1 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

shine your icy crown
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
“Make them rue the day they underestimated you.” ...
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Sheinmel comes the...
Kamala Harris: Rooted in Justice
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Discover the incredible story of a young daughter of immigrants...
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera, this is...
Paris Cat
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A sassy cat from the back alleys of Paris believes...
The Last Hazelnut
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When two woodland friends have a misunderstanding over who ate...
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
He saw the darkness in her magic. She saw the...
Rescue
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Six hundred and fifty-seven days ago, Meg Kenyon's father left...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
“We are most courageous at our weakest; when we believe...
The Night Walk
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Mama opened our bedroom door. "Wake up, you two," she...
My Very Merry Ugly Christmas Sweater
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Celebrate the perfect, ugly expression of holiday cheer in this...
You and Me
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This sweet celebration of love is perfect for sharing with...
Baby's First Farm
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Babies and toddlers can lift the flaps to look inside...
Can I Come Too?
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Join a tiny mouse as she searches for the biggest...
The Shadow War
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Inglourious Basterds meets Stranger Things in this dark and...
Dark Stars
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dorothy finds herself completely alone. ...

Latest Member Reviews

Rescue
 
5.0
"What worked: Engaging historical set during WWII. What interested me the most of this novel is how codes were used..."
Paris Cat
 
3.0
"PARIS CAT is an imaginative picture book about a cat that lives in an alleyway of Paris but dreams of..."
The Last Hazelnut
 
5.0
"THE LAST HAZELNUT is a sweet picture book about friendship, forgiveness, and sharing. Tim and Teo are best friends, and..."
The Night Walk
 
4.5
"THE NIGHT WALK takes the reader on a walk at night through the village and into the wilderness. Parents wake..."
My Very Merry Ugly Christmas Sweater
 
5.0
"MY VERY MERRY UGLY CHRISTMAS SWEATER is a fun touch-and-feel book that captures all the fun of Christmas attire. The..."
You and Me
 
5.0
"YOU AND ME is a sweet book about love between caregiver and child. The lyrical poetry of the rhyming text,..."
Baby's First Farm
 
4.5
"BABY'S FIRST FARM takes readers on a delightful lift-the-flap journey around the farm. The board book is a simple story..."
Can I Come Too?
 
4.0
"CAN I COME TOO? tells the story of a small mouse who decides to go on a big adventure to..."
Karma Moon: Ghost Hunter
 
3.0
"Karma Moon loves living with her dad in their New York neighborhood, answering phone calls for his Totally Rad documentary..."
Beetle and the Hollowbones
 
5.0
"Beetle is a goblin-witch who isn't loving the small magic her grandmother teaches her. She'd rather hang out with Blob..."
Brenda is a Sheep
 
3.5
"BRENDA IS A SHEEP is a silly book about friendship and acceptance. Brenda is a sheep (actually a wolf in..."
The Kiosk
 
3.0
"THE KIOSK is a picture book about a woman who is stuck inside her kiosk. Every day, she helps people..."
The Good Song: A Story Inspired by "Somewhere Over the Rainbow / What a Wonderful World"
 
4.0
"THE GOOD SONG is a book about grief and finding beauty in the world around you. A little boy grows..."
Now You See Me, Now You Don't
 
3.5
"NOW YOU SEE ME, NOW YOU DON'T is ultimately a book about kindness and camouflage. Chameleon loves his ability to..."
The Cows on the Bus
 
5.0
"THE COWS ON THE BUS is a fantastically fun singing book that takes the tune of "The Wheels on the..."
Pablo
 
4.0
"PABLO is a simple but cute story about a chick that is not ready to hatch. It is time for..."
Shoe Wars
 
4.0
"SHOE WARS is a silly fun middle grade read that is somewhere between a graphic novel and chapter book. The..."
Spin with Me
 
4.0
"SPIN WITH ME is a heartfelt middle grade contemporary about labels and love. Essie has been moved across the country..."
New Shoes, Red Shoes
 
3.5
"NEW SHOES, RED SHOES is a cute and simple book about shoes. The illustrations feature a young boy going out..."
Elevator Bird
 
5.0
"ELEVATOR BIRD is a cute picture book about making your friends' dreams come true. Elevator Bird is an essential part..."