Review Detail

Young Adult Indie 710
An exciting and promising series for mythology fans
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Plot/Story 
 
4.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Characters (if applicable) 
 
5.0
Editing/Design Quality 
 
4.0
The first of seven books in this paranormal romance series, Runes offers a unique look at the Norse pantheon in a contemporary urban fantasy setting. Runes will definitely appeal to fans of Twilight and The Mortal Instruments, but if you’re looking for an intense level of Norse mythology, Runes doesn’t quite scratch the surface … yet. I have high hopes for the remainder of the series as the first book only begins to delve into the world and history of modern day Valkyries and Norns. The way the author spins old Norse legends and myths into this contemporary world is subtle but well done.
The author did a great job navigating the perils of the dreaded love triangle (but I do love a good LT). The main character’s interest in her best guy friend works well as the typical girl crush on the boy she’s liked forever. Then the arrival of Torin St. James gives Raine a taste of something a little dangerous, daring, and a little more grown up and she finds herself unable to resist the lure of him. I found Raine’s struggle between the two boys to be very realistic and age appropriate.
The main agenda of the Valkyries (sans spoilers) was a little underwhelming and at times felt forced, but I anticipate much higher emotional stakes and a higher level of world building as the series moves forward.
The pace was exceptional, moving quickly through the mysteries as Raine discovers there is more about her world than she ever dreamed, culminating in an ending that makes the reader anxious to pick up the sequel, Immortals, right away. Overall, Runes was a solid introduction to an interesting and compelling world, I am eager to explore.

* There are ten books set in the Runes world. Books 1, 2, 4 and 5 follow the character’s Raine and Torin. Books 3, 6 and 7 work as a trilogy based on Raine’s best friend, Cora. And there is an additional Runes trilogy based on Raine’s first boyfriend, Erik.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Jackaby
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Newly arrived in New Fiddleham, New England, 1892, and in...
Gutter Girl (Twin River High, #1)
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Star football player Jace Rovers has a secret. And not...
The Last Fallen Star (Gifted Clans, #1)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Riley Oh can't wait to see her sister get initiated...
Take Me Home: Forests of the World
 
5.0
 
5.0 (1)
Bite-sized facts about forests from around the globe, pointing out...
Hurricane Summer
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
In this sweeping debut, Asha Bromfield takes readers to the...
All Kinds of Other
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
In this tender, nuanced coming-of-age love story, two boys—one who...
Reign of Secrets
 
3.8
 
0.0 (0)
At the Midnight Ball, leave your inhibitions at the...
The Forest of Stolen Girls
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
1426, Joseon (Korea). Hwani's family has never been the...
Go the Distance
 
4.5 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
What if Meg had to become a god? After...
In Deeper Waters
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A young prince must rely on a mysterious stranger...
These Feathered Flames (These Feathered Flames, #1)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When twin heirs are born in Tourin, their fates...
Take Me Home: Waters of the World
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Bite-sized facts about bodies of water from around the globe,...
This Is My America
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Hate U Give meets Just Mercy in this unflinching...
Colors in Nature
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Magnificent, hand-painted illustrations by a rising star of Czech watercolor...
Welcome to Arizona
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Welcome to Arizona! We're glad you're here! Introducing a new...
I Don't Want to Go to School
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
It's Mouse's first day of school. It's Dinosaur's first day...

Latest Member Reviews

No entries were found