Review Detail

The Clay Lion Featured
Young Adult Indie 1647
A quiet, unassuming YA Sci-Fi that will sneak up on you like an emotional hurricane
Overall rating 
 
4.8
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Plot/Story 
 
5.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Characters (if applicable) 
 
5.0
Editing/Design Quality 
 
4.0
The Clay Lion takes place in a world very similar to ours where time travel is possible and the protagonist, Brooke Wallace, is faced with the question: what if you could go back in time to save the person you love the most? Those who love a good sci-fi or time travel story may pick up this book expecting a high-tech world or a twisted tale of time loops and wormholes. But this story is nothing like that, and time travel is but a device that helps explore the deeper question which is the theme that drives the story, an exploration that is done openly and candidly.

Brooke is a troubled girl, reeling from the loss of her beloved brother. She hasn’t come to terms with his passing, and she doesn’t plan to. She’s determined to do what it takes to change the horrible injustice of her young brother’s death, and using her one-time allowed trip into the past seems like the perfect solution. But going back in time is trickier than she expected as seemingly inconsequential actions ripple through the years to cause untold changes in her present. Brooke’s journey is not easy, but she tries to make the best of it, even as obstacles rise to challenge her tenacity.

The characters are well-developed and feel real. Their situations are relatable as well as their reactions. The story will challenge the reader to consider the effects their own actions have on the lives of those around them, and along with Brooke, they will discover that love, compassion and hope are indispensable to keep us going and accept the twists of destiny without despairing.

Jahn delivers her story in a way that isn’t preachy, addressing the difficult topic of loss in a way teens will find completely relatable. The Clay Lion is a wonderful read that I highly recommend to anyone who doesn’t mind shedding a few tears, then feeling uplifted by a message of hope and endurance. Once of my favorite Indie reads to date.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
At seventeen, June Hardie is everything a young woman in...
Butterfly Yellow
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Ibi Zoboi, and Erika...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The definitive collection of art, poetry, and prose, celebrating fat...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventh-grader Tristan Strong feels anything but strong ever since he...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Still reeling from her recent battle (and grounded until she...
Cog
Cog
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Cog looks like a normal twelve-year-old boy. But his name...
Homerooms and Hall Passes
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the mystical realm of Bríandalör, every day the brave...
Susan B. Anthony: The Making of America #4
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the fourth installment in the Making of America series,...
Hazel's Theory of Evolution
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Hazel knows a lot about the world. That’s because when...
Sublime Karma
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
When Brie’s stepfather moves the family for what he...
Goddess Ascending
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Promised to the Light. Hunted by the Dark. Two...
Crown of Coral and Pearl
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Nor once dreamed of seeing the wondrous wealth and...
#Murderfunding (#MurderTrending, #2)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
WELCOME TO WHO WANTS TO BE A PAINIAC?, the...
Voyages in the Underworld of Orpheus Black
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Harry Black is lost between the world of war...
Vow of Thieves (Dance of Thieves, #2)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Kazi and Jase have survived, stronger and more in...
The Lady Rogue
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Last Magician meets A Gentleman’s Guide to Vice and...

Latest Member Reviews

Breakout
 
5.0
"BREAKOUT by A.M. Rose is an edge-of-your-seat, YA dystopian adventure that will have you turning page after page well past..."
Breakout
 
4.0
"BREAKOUT is a thrilling and fast-paced YA sci-fi/dystopian. Lezah is in prison for a crime she cannot remember. This future..."
The Kingdom
 
5.0
"Westworld meets Disney World in this deliciously engaging YA fantasy/thriller. THE KINGDOM follows Ana, one of seven Fantasists that are..."
Red Rising (Red Rising Trilogy #1)
 
5.0
"At turns captivating, intense, amazing, and terrible. Told in first-person present-tense from the perspective of young..."
The Thousandth Floor
 
4.0
"Everything about this book is so glamorous, dramatic, and intriguing. Right down to that stunning cover. Katharine McGee..."
Illuminae
 
5.0
"Wow! I'm not even sure what to say about this book without ruining it for everyone. I'm not normally much..."
172 Hours on the Moon
 
4.0
"172 Hours on the Moon was an interesting novel. It was full of suspense, thrills, and horror. The author crafted..."
Illuminae
 
5.0
"This book jumps right into the action. Kady and Ezra's home planet; Kerenza is invaded by BeiTech. UTA (United Terran..."
The Thousandth Floor
 
4.0
"The book was told through five different POVs and each storyteller was unique with their own strong voice. I thought..."
The Thousandth Floor
 
5.0
"The Thousandth Floor is a novel wherein Pretty Little Liars meets Gossip Girls…in a deeper sense. When I started..."
Illuminae
 
4.3
"The story follows exes Kady and Ezra after two rival corporations decide to go to war, resulting in the destruction..."
The Rule of Thoughts (The Mortality Doctrine #2)
 
3.7
"In the likeness of The Maze Runner, The Mortality Doctrine Series, is just as exciting--and perfect for gamers and teens..."
The Thousandth Floor
 
5.0
" It is officially summertime and I always love a little mystery and drama when I am on the beach...."
Illuminae
 
5.0
"Lo and behold, the book that put me into a reading slump for a while because I couldn’t find anything..."
Time Zero
 
5.0
" Time Zero takes a new spin on futuristic novels. One of the many issues that makes this one hit..."
The Isle (The Ward #2)
 
4.0
"Aven’s been captured, Voss knows about the miraculous spring, The Blight is killing everyone, and fresh water is impossible to..."
Illuminae
 
5.0
"Wow. This book is uniquely put together. How did it even get published in the first place? My goodness. The..."
Illuminae
 
5.0
"Girl breaks up with her boyfriend, planet gets destroyed, and then there’s the viral outbreak… If you aren’t curious..."
Illuminae
 
5.0
"I thought this book would be difficult to read given the layout but once I started it I realized that..."
Illuminae
 
5.0
"MY THOUGHTS I was so excited to read this book!! I love both of the authors' other book series..."