Review Detail

Vinyl Featured
Young Adult Indie 2211
A Solid Dystopian Debut
(Updated: December 13, 2016)
Overall rating 
 
4.8
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Plot/Story 
 
4.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Characters (if applicable) 
 
5.0
Editing/Design Quality 
 
5.0
Vinyl is a true young adult novel that will appeal to fans of dystopia and steampunk. It takes place in the city of Revinia where all citizens are implanted with a device that suppresses their emotions and makes them pliable and submissive to the city’s leaders. Ronja—a young city dweller—has worn “a singer” since she was born. She endures its grating “Music” every time her emotions get out of control, which is often, considering the hardships and injustices she and her family go through day in and day out. Life is not easy, and she must scrape bare bottom just to put food on the table and keep her small cousins from joining Revinia’s bedraggled workforce.

But everything changes when she meets Roark, a mysterious boy who defies everything she knows. He comes into her life with a destructive force and undoes the flimsy existence she’s so carefully juggled into place. It is then that Ronja’s metal is tested, and we find a strong protagonist ready to fight for the right things, ready to put everything on the line for those she loves. Following her through each new discovery, we learn about Ravinia and it’s wicked history, as well as Vinyl’s amazing characters who come to life in full 3-D, proving that friendship, family, and justice are causes worth fighting for.

Page-turning action will keep the reader engaged, while unexpected twists will please even the most harden genre fans. Vinyl’s strengths lie with its many well-developed characters and clean prose. Though, the novel is not without its fault. Mainly, I feel the author missed the opportunity to create a richer world and show the effects that singers have on people’s emotions. For the most part, Revinia comes across as any bustling city and the occasional mention of airships and autos does little to construct a proper steampunk vibe. Moreover, the city appears like an isolated island in a world that is a complete unknown. What is beyond Revinia? How can it be so disconnected from everything else and get away with outfitting its citizens with mind-control devices without any judgment from anyone? Similarly, Revinia’s people are very much like regular Earth citizens (with the exception of Ronja’s mother who is known as a mutt) and don’t fully and convincingly portray a population under the evils of mind-control. How do they differ from us? What are some of the things they do that we would never do? A deeper exploration in this area would surely help create a better picture of this foreign world.

Those looking for a unique dystopia will not be disappointed with Vinyl and will turn the last the page wishing the sequel was at their fingertips.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 1 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Thirty Talks Weird Love
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A 13-year-old girl growing up in Mexico is visited by...
Admission
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Lie. Cheat. Bribe. How far would you go to get...
Running
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When fifteen-year-old Cuban American Mariana Ruiz’s father runs for president,...
City of Spells (Into the Crooked Place, #2)
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
City of Spells, the follow-up to Alexandra Christo's gritty YA...
Christmas Parade
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
A delightful Christmas board book filled with hilarious characters and...
Best Friend in the Whole World
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Roland lives a quiet life filled with books, music, and...
Bird Show
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Award-winning author-illustrator Susan Stockdale welcomes you to the Bird Show,...
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
He saw the darkness in her magic. She saw...
My Book of Feelings (My World)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Inspired by the Montessori method of education this unique board...
Sweet & Bitter Magic
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
In this charming debut fantasy perfect for fans of Sorcery...
My High School Rebel Boyfriend
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
He’s a rebel with a cause… to make my...
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Sheinmel comes...
Dark Stars
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dorothy finds herself completely alone. Roman is dead. The...
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera, this...
Daughter of Darkness
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
She is destined to kill a demon. He is...
The Smile Shop
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Critically-acclaimed author-illustrator Satoshi Kitamura (Hat Tricks) celebrates the value of...

Latest Member Reviews

DEV1AT3
 
4.7
"Feedback What a difference between book 1 and book 2. I enjoyed this one so much more, and I..."
Cleo Porter and the Body Electric
 
5.0
"It's 2096, Cleo Porter and her parents never leave their apartment. It has no doors, no windows, and only a..."
Agnes at the End of the World
 
5.0
"AGNES AT THE END OF THE WORLD is a poignant YA dystopian that really speaks to humanity and the present...."
Imagine Me (Shatter Me #6)
 
5.0
"Have you ever been so blown away by a series that you don't even know how to put all your..."
Bloom (The Bloom Trilogy #1)
 
5.0
"Anaya has horrible allergies to everything; plants, food, animals. They also cause her to have terrible acne, and she is..."
Elysium Girls
 
4.3
"ELYSIUM GIRLS is an engaging YA historical fantasy/dystopian. In the 1930s, an area of Oklahoma suddenly got cut off from..."
Sting
 
3.3
"STING is an intriguing YA dystopian retelling of THE COUNT OF MONTE CHRISTO. The world has been ravaged by climate..."
Defy the Sun (The Offering Series, #2)
 
4.7
"DEFY THE SUN is a fantastic conclusion to this YA fantasy duology. This book picks up right where the first..."
We Unleash the Merciless Storm
 
3.7
"Carmen Santos cover as a La Voz soldier has been exposed. She flees back to the La Voz's headquarters, leaving..."
Keystone
 
4.3
"KEYSTONE is an interesting YA dystopian. In the future, the world is now one collective country and is primarily ruled..."
Refraction
 
4.3
"Marty is a flawed character in any number of ways, not least of which is his propensity to do what's..."
Refraction
 
4.3
"REFRACTION is a highly readable/devourable book that is certainly a page-turner. In the post-apocalyptic future, a small island appears to..."
The Grace Year
 
5.0
"It’s been one week since I finished The Grace Year by Kim Liggett as I sit down to start this..."
The Light at the Bottom of the World (The Light at the Bottom of the World, #1)
 
5.0
"THE LIGHT AT THE BOTTOM OF THE WORLD is a compelling and atmospheric YA fantasy/science fiction. In the future, the..."
Eve of Man
 
4.0
"EVE OF MAN by Giovanna and Tom Fletcher is the latest in YA dystopias. In the story, a phenomenon of..."
The Rule of Many
 
4.0
"The Rule of Many is an action-packed sequel to “The Rule of One” written by Ashley and Leslie Saunders, twin..."
City of Beasts
 
5.0
"CITY OF BEASTS is the must-read dystopian of the fall. Highly recommend for fans of THE DIVERGENT, DARKEST MINDS, and/or..."
The Memory Thief
 
4.7
"THE MEMORY THIEF is an engrossing YA fantasy that will keep you turning pages late into the night. Etta lives..."
Rated
 
3.3
"RATED follows six teens in alternating points-of-view as they navigate a dystopian future. In this society, your life is dictated..."
Blastaway
 
5.0
"Kyler Centaurus have four obnoxious brothers who play soccer or other sports, while Kyler is more interested in science. He..."