Review Detail

Young Adult Indie 3447
A promising series
(Updated: August 28, 2016)
Overall rating 
 
3.8
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Plot/Story 
 
3.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Characters (if applicable) 
 
4.0
Editing/Design Quality 
 
4.0
Influence by David R. Bernstein

The Story:
On the run since her powers surged to the fore, Kaylin has been forced to stay hidden to avoid capture by those who will use her ability to Push for evil. When she and her best friend, Amanda, stop to help a dying man, little do they know their actions will change their lives forever.

The Characters:
Kaylin is an enjoyable character. Despite her circumstances, she possesses an inner strength and kindness which is endearing. The exploration of her powers is a high point as well as her journey to unlocking her full potential. The bond she shares with her best friend, Amanda—who is her opposite in many ways—is another favorite aspect.

The World:
The United States is gone and in its place is a harsher world. Corrupt societies exist, and life outside of these societies is tough and filled with dangerous people and not much food.
I enjoyed the concept of the different organizations and areas; Lost Souls sector and the Magnus Order—as well as the other hideouts and compounds. They display great creativity and are unique to other dystopian worlds in the genre. I did struggle with the spatial awareness of where these where in relation to one another, and sometimes with the layout within each area.
Overall, we get a sense of a cruel world where stakes are high, and the word ‘childhood’ no longer means the same thing.

The Readability:
Bernstein’s style is easy to read. We receive a vivid picture of each character’s personality and of the good vs. evil storyline. The flow of dialogue improves and the pace quickens from the halfway point. Initially, the amount of exposition did slow the plot, but in later chapters we are grateful for this information.

Final Verdict:
A good start to a promising series, suitable for twelve years and up.

Favorite Quote:
“It’s not like being seventeen is that young, considering how messed up the world has become.”
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 1 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

City of Spells (Into the Crooked Place, #2)
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
City of Spells, the follow-up to Alexandra Christo's gritty YA...
Christmas Parade
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
A delightful Christmas board book filled with hilarious characters and...
Best Friend in the Whole World
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Roland lives a quiet life filled with books, music, and...
Bird Show
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Award-winning author-illustrator Susan Stockdale welcomes you to the Bird Show,...
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
He saw the darkness in her magic. She saw...
My Book of Feelings (My World)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Inspired by the Montessori method of education this unique board...
Sweet & Bitter Magic
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
In this charming debut fantasy perfect for fans of Sorcery...
My High School Rebel Boyfriend
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
He’s a rebel with a cause… to make my...
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Sheinmel comes...
Dark Stars
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dorothy finds herself completely alone. Roman is dead. The...
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera, this...
Daughter of Darkness
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
She is destined to kill a demon. He is...
The Smile Shop
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Critically-acclaimed author-illustrator Satoshi Kitamura (Hat Tricks) celebrates the value of...
Stanley's Lunch Box
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Everyone’s favorite hard-working hamster Stanley introduces young readers to a...
What Are Unicorns Made Of?
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Have you ever wondered what unicorns are made of? Are...
Grandfather Bowhead, Tell Me a Story
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Richly illustrated and lovingly told, this book is a warm...

Latest Member Reviews

Invisible Touch
 
4.0
"Reader reviewed by Amanda Lots of the time if a book has a mystery I figure it out far before..."
Invisible Touch
 
4.0
"Reader reviewed by Bookluver-Carol Kara Martinez has been trying to be "normal" ever since the accident that took her father's..."
Invisible Touch
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by MelodyJM When Kara was 11 she lost her father in a tragic..."
Invisible Touch
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by MelodyJM (Please not this book was in ACR format when read) ..."