Review Detail

Young Adult Indie 1227
Spunky, fun, and full of feels
Overall rating 
 
3.8
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Plot/Story 
 
4.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Characters (if applicable) 
 
4.0
Editing/Design Quality 
 
3.0
There are books out there I like to call my guilty pleasure reads. They are usually swoon-worthy, have adventure, a super cool heroine, are light on the heavy topics and drama, and a wildly out there plot. But they are the most fun books to read! GAIA’S SECRET by Barbara Kloss is one of my favorite guilty pleasure reads over the last year.

The concept behind Gaia’s Secret really drew me in. Alternate worlds are so fascinating to me because of their endless possibilities. Earth and Gaia were once one and the same, until Gaia split from Earth in a sort of parallel dimension to keep magic alive. People of great power protect the access points or portals from normal human discovery. But magic in Gaia has begun to die.

Within the first chapter, I knew I was going to love Daria. Her dad heavily shelters her, but she has a loyalty to him and his rules that burns with love. She doesn’t outright rebel, which is usually the way to go with YA literature. Don’t get me wrong, Daria is just as strong-headed as the fiercest heroine out there. Daria just has this “good” quality to her that you don’t find much lately. She’s just a good person. She also has the patience of a saint.

Well, almost.

There were many times while reading Gaia’s Secret that I felt any normal person would throw their hands in the air and scream at those around them in frustration. Daria is tossed into an epic journey through a world she knew nothing of, a lineage she knew nothing of, with a small group of whom she only thought she knew. When things get…well, off or downright scary, a sane person would have called a full stop on the nonsense and demand answers. Daria doesn’t really. She knows her “friends” are holding loads back. She’s not blindly following, but she seems to listen to a little voice inside her that knows she’s safer with her friends than on her own.

Until she stops listening to that voice and fails in the most epic way possible. Like, things-could-not-have-gone-more-afoul kind of fail. It’s beautiful.

Then we have Alex (Le Grrrr… ), Daria’s supposed best friend from childhood who pulled a serious 180 on her. One minute they’re the best of buds. The next, he’s all glacier and pushing her away. From the moment he enters the story with his new “man-voice,” I knew there was WAY more to this guy than good looks and broody stare. Though he does have the broody thing on lock. Kloss unfolds Alex’s story in the most painfully yet wonderfully slow way you may want to throw something at her. He’s a rule follower, he’s trained, skilled in fight, and will do anything (a-n-y-t-h-i-n-g) to keep Daria safe.

The banter between Alex and Daria is classic stuff. Daria is witty and just bold enough to keep Alex on his toes. But Alex has been down the Daria road before, so he’s not going to give in lightly. It’s this banter that really pulled me into the story. The tension builds and builds between Daria and Alex until you know there is a Mt. Vesuvius blowout waiting around the corner. Will it be on the next page? Maybe. I must flip to find out!

The pace is super quick and I devoured pages in true binge fashion. Kloss’ writing style is pleasant to read, not too serious, but not super sappy. I love the sense of adventure she set up in the book. There are some great stakes involved and the characters make some realistic choices on how to reach their goals. Nothing comes too easy nor are they so far-fetched they are unreachable.

The only thing that had me yearning for something a bit more was Daria’s ease of acceptance over her newfound abilities. They just pop up and she never really questions it. This didn’t feel true to her character since she questions just about everything else. Also, when Alex and Daria finally have a moment together, it felt…convenient or easy. It was a bit of a let down for me after all the buildup.

Minor shortcomings aside, Gaia’s Secret is a super solid guilty pleasure read. Daria’s adventure into who she really is and what her existence means for the betterment of her world bodes well for an amazing series. The characters are wonderfully thought out, and the rich landscape of Gaia is breathtaking to the mind’s eye. Readers who enjoy the lighter side of fantasy, adventure, stories with a strong family core, and down-to-earth characters you’d want for real life friends will adore the world of Gaia’s Secret.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Voting Booth
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Stonewall Award-winning author Brandy Colbert comes an all-in-one-day love...
Now & When
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Jenny Han and Christine Riccio comes a...
Dating Makes Perfect
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Tech sisters don’t date in high school. Not because...
Now That I've Found You
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Now That I've Found You is a YA novel about...
Entwined
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sometimes love gets a bit twisted. ...
A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
I can split myself in two . . . something...
Honor Lost (The Honors, #3)
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Quick-thinking Leviathan pilot Zara Cole must stop a planet-eating monster...
If...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Take a fantastical journey through an inspiring world where anything...
Baby Up, Baby Down: A First Book of Opposites
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Handpicked by Amazon kids’ books editor, Seira Wilson, for Prime...
Be Our Guest!
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Join Gray Malin’s menagerie of wild animals for a stay...
Hat Tricks
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Meet Hattie the magician―she’s a natural performer, and you’re invited...
Stanley's Toolbox
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
It’s another busy day with Stanley and friends! ...
Spring Is Here!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When spring arrives, baby animals come out to play with...
10 Things I Hate About Pinky
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
The delightful follow-up to When Dimple Met Rishi and There’s...
The Child of Chaos
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
This is what fantasy fiction should be." --Piers Anthony, New...

Latest Member Reviews

A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
"A GIRL IN THREE PARTS by Suzanne Daniel is a novel set in Sydney, Australia during the 1970’s. It follows..."
Goddess in the Machine (Goddess in the Machine, #1)
 
5.0
"Andra went into cryonic sleep for a hundred years for a trip across the universe to wake up as a..."
Honor Lost (The Honors, #3)
 
3.3
"HONORS LOST continues the Honors series as Zara, crew, and friends head out on a mission to stop the horrors..."
10 Things I Hate About Pinky
 
4.3
"10 THINGS I HATE ABOUT PINKY is a cute YA romance that features a fake-turned-real relationship and opposites-attract couple. Pinky..."
Not Another Love Song
 
5.0
"Different than I was expecting - and that’s a good thing! The story: All..."
Jo & Laurie
 
3.3
"Jo March is surprised at how well her novel LITTLE WOMEN has done. Now her publisher and readers want a..."
An Enchantment of Ravens
 
2.3
"I'm not very into reading fantasy (so I might not be the best person to review this). But I was..."
Cracked Up To Be
 
3.7
"Cracked up to be is an unsettling tale of a girl on the cusp of a mental breakdown for over..."
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
"THE MORNING FLOWER continues the OMTE ORIGINS story as Ulla continues to search for her heritage and for the missing..."
None of the Above
 
4.3
"This is one of those books that a reader can learn from. This is the first YA book that I..."
The Lost City (The Omte Origins, #1)
 
4.3
"THE LOST CITY is a highly engaging YA fantasy read about Ulla, a troll. Trolls are secretive creatures who live..."
Layoverland
 
5.0
"'Layoverland' by Gabby Noone, despite being about a teenager who has died, ironically creates a very inviting atmosphere for readers..."
Summer and July
 
5.0
"'Summer and July' by Paul Mosier is a beautifully written story perfect for summer reading. Readers will find themselves immersed..."
A Wicked Magic
 
4.0
"Friends Dan and Liss find a Black book of magic and try a spell. Only the spell goes terribly..."
Scarlet Odyssey
 
3.3
"SCARLET ODYSSEY is a high fantasy that takes place in a world at war. Men are often raised to be..."
Tigers, Not Daughters
 
5.0
"TIGERS, NOT DAUGHTERS is a lyrical book of sisterhood and grief. The Torres sisters had tried to escape their father..."
Tyler Johnson Was Here
 
4.0
"The fallout and protests following police choking George Floyd to death in Minnesota has consumed social media for the last..."
when you were everything
 
4.3
"WHEN YOU WERE EVERYTHING by Ashley Woodfolk is a YA Contemporary novel told in two timelines, “then” and “now.” The..."
Path of Night (Chilling Adventures of Sabrina, #3)
 
5.0
"PATH OF NIGHT is another great installment of the books based on the Netflix show, CHILLING ADVENTURES OF SABRINA. This..."
Unravel the Dusk (The Blood of Stars, #2)
 
5.0
"UNRAVEL THE DUSK is an enchanting sequel and finale to a unique YA fantasy. Maia is a tailor who dreamed..."