Review Detail

Young Adult Indie 1307
Spunky, fun, and full of feels
Overall rating 
 
3.8
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Plot/Story 
 
4.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Characters (if applicable) 
 
4.0
Editing/Design Quality 
 
3.0
There are books out there I like to call my guilty pleasure reads. They are usually swoon-worthy, have adventure, a super cool heroine, are light on the heavy topics and drama, and a wildly out there plot. But they are the most fun books to read! GAIA’S SECRET by Barbara Kloss is one of my favorite guilty pleasure reads over the last year.

The concept behind Gaia’s Secret really drew me in. Alternate worlds are so fascinating to me because of their endless possibilities. Earth and Gaia were once one and the same, until Gaia split from Earth in a sort of parallel dimension to keep magic alive. People of great power protect the access points or portals from normal human discovery. But magic in Gaia has begun to die.

Within the first chapter, I knew I was going to love Daria. Her dad heavily shelters her, but she has a loyalty to him and his rules that burns with love. She doesn’t outright rebel, which is usually the way to go with YA literature. Don’t get me wrong, Daria is just as strong-headed as the fiercest heroine out there. Daria just has this “good” quality to her that you don’t find much lately. She’s just a good person. She also has the patience of a saint.

Well, almost.

There were many times while reading Gaia’s Secret that I felt any normal person would throw their hands in the air and scream at those around them in frustration. Daria is tossed into an epic journey through a world she knew nothing of, a lineage she knew nothing of, with a small group of whom she only thought she knew. When things get…well, off or downright scary, a sane person would have called a full stop on the nonsense and demand answers. Daria doesn’t really. She knows her “friends” are holding loads back. She’s not blindly following, but she seems to listen to a little voice inside her that knows she’s safer with her friends than on her own.

Until she stops listening to that voice and fails in the most epic way possible. Like, things-could-not-have-gone-more-afoul kind of fail. It’s beautiful.

Then we have Alex (Le Grrrr… ), Daria’s supposed best friend from childhood who pulled a serious 180 on her. One minute they’re the best of buds. The next, he’s all glacier and pushing her away. From the moment he enters the story with his new “man-voice,” I knew there was WAY more to this guy than good looks and broody stare. Though he does have the broody thing on lock. Kloss unfolds Alex’s story in the most painfully yet wonderfully slow way you may want to throw something at her. He’s a rule follower, he’s trained, skilled in fight, and will do anything (a-n-y-t-h-i-n-g) to keep Daria safe.

The banter between Alex and Daria is classic stuff. Daria is witty and just bold enough to keep Alex on his toes. But Alex has been down the Daria road before, so he’s not going to give in lightly. It’s this banter that really pulled me into the story. The tension builds and builds between Daria and Alex until you know there is a Mt. Vesuvius blowout waiting around the corner. Will it be on the next page? Maybe. I must flip to find out!

The pace is super quick and I devoured pages in true binge fashion. Kloss’ writing style is pleasant to read, not too serious, but not super sappy. I love the sense of adventure she set up in the book. There are some great stakes involved and the characters make some realistic choices on how to reach their goals. Nothing comes too easy nor are they so far-fetched they are unreachable.

The only thing that had me yearning for something a bit more was Daria’s ease of acceptance over her newfound abilities. They just pop up and she never really questions it. This didn’t feel true to her character since she questions just about everything else. Also, when Alex and Daria finally have a moment together, it felt…convenient or easy. It was a bit of a let down for me after all the buildup.

Minor shortcomings aside, Gaia’s Secret is a super solid guilty pleasure read. Daria’s adventure into who she really is and what her existence means for the betterment of her world bodes well for an amazing series. The characters are wonderfully thought out, and the rich landscape of Gaia is breathtaking to the mind’s eye. Readers who enjoy the lighter side of fantasy, adventure, stories with a strong family core, and down-to-earth characters you’d want for real life friends will adore the world of Gaia’s Secret.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Peek-a-Boo Little Reindeer
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this adorable peek-a-boo board book with felt flaps, a...
Perfect on Paper
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In Sophie Gonzales' Perfect on Paper, Leah on the Offbeat...
11 Paper Hearts
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of To All the Boys I've Loved...
shine your icy crown
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
“Make them rue the day they underestimated you.” ...
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Sheinmel comes the...
Kamala Harris: Rooted in Justice
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Discover the incredible story of a young daughter of immigrants...
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera, this is...
Paris Cat
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A sassy cat from the back alleys of Paris believes...
The Last Hazelnut
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When two woodland friends have a misunderstanding over who ate...
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
He saw the darkness in her magic. She saw the...
Rescue
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Six hundred and fifty-seven days ago, Meg Kenyon's father left...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
“We are most courageous at our weakest; when we believe...
The Night Walk
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Mama opened our bedroom door. "Wake up, you two," she...
My Very Merry Ugly Christmas Sweater
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Celebrate the perfect, ugly expression of holiday cheer in this...
You and Me
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This sweet celebration of love is perfect for sharing with...
Baby's First Farm
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Babies and toddlers can lift the flaps to look inside...

Latest Member Reviews

Fable (Fable, #1)
 
5.0
"FABLE is a fascinating YA fantasy that takes on a sea voyage. Fable is a young woman whose father left..."
Second Star (The Neverland Transmissions)
 
5.0
"When Second Star by J.M. Sullivan was first brought to my attention, I noticed two things: the sci-fi cover and..."
Second Star (The Neverland Transmissions)
 
3.0
"SECOND STAR alternates POV between Peter and Wendy. It starts off with Peter sabotaging Captain Hooke's ship and stranding them..."
These Rebel Waves
 
4.7
"THESE REBEL WAVES is the first book in a fantasy duology by Sara Raasch. The story is told in third..."
The Gentleman's Guide to Vice and Virtue
 
5.0
"What can I say that hasn't already been said about this magnificent book? The Gentleman's Guide to Vice and Virtue..."
The Gentleman's Guide to Vice and Virtue
 
4.7
" The Gentleman's Guide to Vice and Virtue is a remarkable, witty, and outstanding adventure..."
The Gentleman's Guide to Vice and Virtue
 
5.0
"THE GENTLEMAN’S GUIDE TO VICE AND VIRTUE follows Henry “Monty” Montague as he takes his grand tour across Europe with..."
Daughter of the Pirate King (Daughter of the Pirate King #1)
 
4.7
"YA Fantasy, DAUGHTER OF THE PIRATE KING mixes the supernatural with good ol' piracy. Fans of PIRATES OF THE CARIBBEAN..."
Daughter of the Pirate King (Daughter of the Pirate King #1)
 
4.7
"Lift up your anchors and get ready to sail into a swashbuckling tale of pirates, swoons, magic, and the quest..."
The Dust of 100 Dogs
 
4.0
"What I Loved: What can I say about this book? I really do not know how I feel about the..."
The Pirate Vortex: Elizabeth Latimer Pirate Hunter
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Tami Brady Elizabeth Latimer is a pirate hunter. You could say pirating and pirate hunting are in..."
The Pirate Vortex: Elizabeth Latimer Pirate Hunter
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by The Bookish Snob There were so many interesting characters in this book that really contributed to the..."
To Catch a Pirate
 
3.0
"Reader reviewed by Bellacarolina33@aim.com To Catch a Pirate by Jade ParkerOnce caught, its harder still to let a pirate..."
To Catch a Pirate
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Hatice It was the sight of the cover that first captivated me to read this book. Even..."
To Catch a Pirate
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Sara From back cover:"Once caught, it's harder still to let a pirate go...When Annalisa Townsend's ship is..."
To Catch a Pirate
 
3.0
"Reader reviewed by Lexie To my bemusement I often found myself forgetting that this book was a) aimed at young..."
To Catch a Pirate
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Bookmac Me + Horror = can't sleep for a week without the light on. Just kidding...kind of...."
The Dust of 100 Dogs
 
3.0
"Reader reviewed by Steph Su Emer Morrisey has not had an easy childhood. Growing up in poor..."
The Dust of 100 Dogs
 
4.0
"Reader reviewed by stephanie So when I finally got a hold of a copy of The Dust of 100..."
The Dust of 100 Dogs
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Max Emer Morrisey is a pirate. When she's killed, she's cursed to live the life of..."