Review Detail

Young Adult Indie 1402
All In the Mind... Or Is It Really?
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Plot/Story 
 
4.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Characters (if applicable) 
 
4.0
Editing/Design Quality 
 
N/A
THE BODY ELECTRIC makes a lot of references to Beth Revis' trilogy (ACROSS THE UNIVERSE), and I absolutely love all those easter eggs. It brings back great memories and tempts me into reading those books all over again.

Ella Shepherd is desperate to hold onto her dying mother. Her mother, dying from a (thankfully fictional) disease called Hebb's, is barely surviving. (Note: I get nightmares and shivers from the way Revis describes the disease.) Ella is a seemingly normal girl whose parents are well-known among the science community. But one day, she jumps into her mother's tech-induced dream and changes everything in her life. Suddenly, Ella is thrown into a war she'd never heard of. What I love the most about Ella is how much she is tested and how well she manages to rise above it. No matter how far she is crushed, she strikes back.

Every character has its own agenda. The leader of the corrupt government is searching to crush the rebel group. Ella is searching for answers (about Jack and about the dangerous mystery). The leader of the rebels is focused on Ella, and I love how every character has its own purpose, their own (gloomy or bright) personality. Even their own dialect. It makes every character unique in their special way.

The plot unravels slowly, almost lazily. Ella undergoes a normal day, and readers are given a chance to see Ella's attempt at normalcy. Suddenly, a spark flies and everything changes. Ella discovers "old" friends, and she finds more questions than answers. I'm absolutely emotionally invested in Ella's search for the truth. I'm swept away into Ella Shepherd's world and her vast number of problems, and I ignore everything in my world.

The romance between Jack and Ella is very entertaining. Ella, after being mind-wiped by a mysterious and unknown person, meets Jack at her deceased father's tree. Thinking Ella still remembers him, Jack says and does the wrong things and scares Ella. Good amounts of drama ensues, and I love the way Ella slowly falls in love with Jack (again).

Overall, THE BODY ELECTRIC is an electrifying Science Fiction story that is perfect for fans of ACROSS THE UNIVERSE and LEGEND (by Marie Lu). With dark descriptions and many strong characters, THE BODY ELECTRIC, to be short, is simply amazing.

Rating: Four out of Five
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 1 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Unleashed
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the terrifying sequel to The Haunted, Hendricks discovers that...
Paint by Sticker Kids: Dinosaurs: Create 10 Pictures One Sticker at a Time!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Create pictures of 10 awesome dinosaurs... with stickers! ...
Tad
Tad
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
From Benji Davies, the award-winning creator of The Storm Whale...
Go Get 'Em, Tiger! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The perfect picture book to celebrate every milestone from the...
A World of Opposites
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From ALONE and TOGETHER to ABOVE and BELOW, Gray Malin’s...
The Voting Booth
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Stonewall Award-winning author Brandy Colbert comes an all-in-one-day love...
Now & When
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Jenny Han and Christine Riccio comes a...
Dating Makes Perfect
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Tech sisters don’t date in high school. Not because...
Now That I've Found You
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Now That I've Found You is a YA novel about...
Entwined
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sometimes love gets a bit twisted. ...
A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
I can split myself in two . . . something...
The Lost City (The Omte Origins, #1)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Amanda Hocking, the New York Times bestselling author of...
Scarlet Odyssey
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Magic is women’s work; war is men’s. But in...
Honor Lost (The Honors, #3)
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Quick-thinking Leviathan pilot Zara Cole must stop a planet-eating monster...
If...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Take a fantastical journey through an inspiring world where anything...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The power of the dragon totems is no longer a...

Latest Member Reviews

Mouse Island Marathon (Geronimo Stilton #30)
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Janing P     Do you hate to run? Are you one of those creatures who doesnt..."