Review Detail

Young Adult Indie 1179
Amazing Debut
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Plot/Story 
 
5.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
4.0
Characters (if applicable) 
 
5.0
Editing/Design Quality 
 
4.0
First, I'd like to say that I thought that the author did a really good job of adhering to the Ballad of Tam Lin. When she first had me listen to the ballad (which I don't suggest to readers until after you read because then you'll kind of know what happens) I wondered how she would pull some of these things off in a contemporary setting. But she did it!

Second, I love how different this piece is from the author's previous pieces. I've only read her adult stuff before, so it was very different reading her YA work. And honestly, she's even better in YA! The plot was intriguing and logical, the action evenly spaced, the writing style and storytelling were strong -- I expect that it will be even better once the editor gets through with it! Even the things that seemed kind of quirky about (a third first person narrative) it made an organic kind of sense that made the overall story better.

Third, this is a brave book. I give the author kudos for having some of the true-to-life charatcers that she does and for addressing some of the things that she does in here. I can't really say what they are without giving away the plot; however, I will say that I think that more YA pieces need to deal with some of these issues.

Fourth, OMG the characters!

Jeanette, the main female character, is unique and relate-able. Especially for those of us who are geeks. She's a fan of anime and current shows like Doctor Who and Supernatural which makes her seem like someone you could be friends with. I mean, she's a character who knows what Cthulhu is! Can you hate a character like that? NO. On top of that, she's got a lot of depth for a paranormal romance character. She's seen hardship -- her best friend went missing when she was young and her mother has died from cancer. She has some difficulty in school with one of her friends and her position as the principal's daughter. One of the things that I thought was really interesting was how the author made Jeanette's Catholicism a strong aspect of her character without the book seeming like it was all preachy. I've read a couple of pieces from this author so far and I think she does a phenomenal job of exploring different character personalities even though she doesn't necessarily agree with who/what they are.

I also thought the secondary characters was interesting as well. I totally hated Celeste, but I think you're supposed to. At first, I was all, "Why are you friends with this bitch, Jean!" But then I remembered that I had a group of friends kind of like this and I had a frenemy just like Celeste when I was Jean's age too. So, I think that will make Jeanette's school life more real for the younger readers. I love Em. Who wouldn't? I wasn't sure about Amber, but I think she might have become my favorite in the end. I want more about Twyla! I wanted to punch Roxel and was totally happy with her comeuppance in the end. The mushroom woman totally creeped me out. And I might have a crush on Connor -- which is good cause the author tells me there is another book coming with him as the romantic interest! *GET EXCITED*

And finally, there's Tamrin, our hero...Oh lord, I want to do bad things to that man! Or rather, I want him to do bad things to me! He's so experienced, cool, super sexy, and totally the kind of male character I love. Despite that, he's more damaged that Jeanette -- he kind of reminded me of Acheron. I was reading it expecting him to be that bad-boy asshole that "just needs love," but he threw me for a loop. The dynamic between him and Jeanette is very interesting and their relationship is believable from start to finish. His supernatural identity and those of his cohorts is something that will seem familiar to readers but, (now that I'm beta reading other books in the series) the author will throw you for a loop. The truth of the Aos Si is only touched upon in this book, but she puts a very unique spin on some of the supernatural races that we've all come to love, so keep reading more books in this series and the others associated with it!

Overall, I give it five stars for being an amazing and unique retelling of a classic love story. I'm waiting with baited breath for the rest!
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

A Pumpkin for Peter: A Peter Rabbit Tale
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Hop into the world of Peter Rabbit and his friends...
Solving for M
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Raymie Nightingale and The Fourteenth Goldfish,...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times–bestselling and Caldecott Medalist Kevin Henkes follows five...
My Fate According To The Butterfly
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When superstitious Sab sees a giant black butterfly, an omen...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Caldecott Honor Book An...
Sunny's Tow Truck Saves the Day!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When a family car gets a flat on the way...
How to Be a Cat
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In cut-paper artist Nikki McClure’s latest picture book, a kitten...
TBH, IDK What's Next (TBH, #4)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Three BFFs set out to have the BEST SUMMER EVER...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Twelve-year-old Esme’s life changes when she discovers dinosaur bones on...
Five Little Pumpkins on Halloween Night
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Join these happy pumpkins in a cheerful rhyming countdown, in...
Wreck: A Novel
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Set on the shores of Lake Superior, Wreck follows high...
The Madman of Piney Woods
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Benji and Red couldn't be more different. They aren't friends....
Wintercake
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
This cozy, gently humorous, and irresistible holiday tale from Newbery...
Roar Like a Dandelion
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Ruth Krauss, the celebrated children’s book author of The...
The Bear and the Star
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
In this universal celebration of community and love, Bear gathers...
I Do Not Like That Name
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
This funny picture book about friendship, family, identity, and why...

Latest Member Reviews

Truly Madly Royally
 
3.0
"I’d be lying if I didn’t say that half of the reason why I read this was because it’s a..."
 
3.3
"Esme feels alone. Her much-loved grandfather died, her dad deserted the family, her mom has mentally checked out, and her..."
House of Salt and Sorrows
 
4.3
"Annaleigh just wanted to be in charge of the lighthouse close to her island home. Rumors circulate on the island..."
Wreck: A Novel
 
4.3
"WRECK is a heart-wrenching story about a teenage girl on the brink of college as she discovers her father's life-altering..."
Reverie
 
5.0
"REVERIE is a captivating and unique YA fantasy without adequate comparisons. The book follows Kane, a teenage boy who was..."
Coral
 
3.0
"CORAL is not a fairytale retelling of THE LITTLE MERMAID- while it may have been inspired by some of the..."
You Are The Everything
 
4.0
"YOU ARE THE EVERYTHING is an intriguing stream-of-consciousness style read that follows Elyse Schmidt, a 16/17 year old girl who..."
The Last Hope
 
4.7
"I honestly don’t know where to begin! The Last Hope by Krista & Becca Ritchie picks up thirty days after..."
 
4.0
"Most books about a school shooting would start with the horrific event at the center of story, but EVERY MOMENT..."
The Bone Houses
 
5.0
"THE BONE HOUSES is a beautifully crafted and full engrossing YA fantasy with some horror aspects. Aderyn (Ryn) is a..."
The Silence Between Us
 
4.7
"THE SILENCE BETWEEN US is an #ownvoices story about Maya, a senior in high school who has just moved with..."
Beasts of the Frozen Sun
 
4.7
"BEASTS OF THE FROZEN SUN features lush world-building, compelling characters, and a captivating plot that make it an engrossing read...."
Snow & Rose
 
5.0
"NOTE: Opinions expressed in this review are completely my own."
Where I End and You Begin
 
4.0
"All Ezra wants to do is ask his crush Imogen to the prom. But when he and his friend Holden..."
Hearts, Strings, and Other Breakable Things
 
4.0
"When Edie moves back to Mansfield to life with her aunt, uncle, and two cousins, she is reunited with her..."
The Beholder
 
4.0
"When Selah's proposal to her childhood crush is rejected, she is sent away on a boat to meet possible suitors...."
The Burning Shadow (Origin Series, #2)
 
5.0
"THE BURNING SHADOW is a fantastic and thrilling continuation of the spin-off Origin series. Just like the original series, there..."
Gods of Jade and Shadow
 
4.7
"Eighteen-year-old Casiopea feels trapped in her rich grandfather’s home in southern Mexico. She wants to leave their small town and..."
 
3.0
"THE HIVE by Barry Lyga and Morgan Baden is a YA sci-fi novel set in the near future. In this..."
Remember Me
 
3.7
"REMEMBER ME is an engaging mystery/thriller that goes back and forth through time. We follow Lea in the past when..."