EVERY BOY IS A BOOK

EVERY BOY IS A BOOK
Publisher Name
Independently Published
Age Range
13+
Release Date
October 24, 2018
ISBN13
978-1723893995
ISBN10 or ASIN
      

"He means the whole universe to her. And she means even more to him, more than he can admit." Fans of Stephanie Perkins and Miranda Kenneally are destined to love EVERY BOY IS A BOOK ♡

She's a tomboy, the girl-next-door who fangirls over tons of book boyfriends. He is the high school soccer star, the hot guy that makes girls swoon. To her, he's simply her best friend, the one who has been there as far back as she can remember. They've grown up together in a small town in the midst of vineyards, in the Montagues and Capulets land, and have been best friends since forever. They know each other so well and care for each other, yet all of a sudden every glance, every accidental touch means something different and is weighted with expectation. But fate is capricious, and things become more complicated when Matteo is offered the chance of a lifetime to play for a top league club which means leaving his hometown, and Marika, behind. Matteo's departure for Milan to follow his dreams will throw everything off balance, thrusting new, challenging situations into their lives: unexplored worlds of pro sport and its opportunities and sacrifices, contracts and huge paychecks, symphonic metal, emotions, teenage trials and tribulations, cyberbullying, awkward relationships, and memories as cutting as a sword slicing through tofu. Unsure whether her feelings are reciprocated and afraid of risking their friendship, Marika rides an emotional rollercoaster of romantic highs and painful losses. And when another guy, vocalist of a local rock band, fills that emptiness in her life, every move, every thought, every feeling gets amplified and everything gets messy, and more intense. If EVERY BOY IS A BOOK, Federico, the sweet musician with the straightened bangs and melodious voice, was undoubtedly created by the pen of Keats or some other tormented Romantic poet; while Matteo is pure passion, like Shakespeare's Romeo: spontaneous, intense, and impetuously real. If only it were as simple as good guy vs bad guy... but it's not.

User reviews

2 reviews
Overall rating
 
5.0
Writing Style
 
5.0(2)
Plot
 
5.0(2)
Characters
 
5.0(2)
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable)
 
N/A(0)
Already have an account? or Create an account
I just wanted to read this book forever!!
Overall rating
 
5.0
Writing Style
 
N/A
Plot
 
N/A
Characters
 
N/A
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable)
 
N/A
I loved this story so much I didn’t want to stop reading... I wish this book never ended!
It’s such a sweet, intense story. Beyond adorable, romantic, deep, so much more than a YA romance. I love the way I feel while reading.
There are some laugh-out-loud scenes and a lot of sweet, breathtaking moments. The characters are real. I easily made friends with Marika and felt all her emotions. Besides, this book boyfriend is totally swoon-worthy! It’s kind of hard not to have a crush on him. I love him no matter what, whether he’s stubborn, impulsive, protective or passionate, I simply love him.

Marika and Matteo had been best friends since forever, but their connection was SO strong and intense that it was impossible for me not to feel. They belonged with each other! I’d shipped them pretty much from page One. But Federico was cute as well, kind and so vulnerable, I couldn’t help but loving him too!!

The ending was everything! This novel was so beautifully written and the characters are just so memorable.
Good Points
I liked the messages in the book. The characters’ insecurities and immaturity, their fear of being who they really are, were very realistic and I think the way they dealt with them was just how a lot of teens would.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
Totally adorable with lots of sweet-swooning moments!!
Overall rating
 
5.0
Writing Style
 
N/A
Plot
 
N/A
Characters
 
N/A
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable)
 
N/A
Every Boy is a Book is the first title I've devoured and loved in 2019. Awesome is not a big enough word to describe how much it made me smile and feel and fall in love with the writing and the characters. It was so much fun and extremely cute. I just couldn't get enough of it and I didn't put it down until I was done with it and even then, I had a huge smile on my face and I was thinking about Marika and Matteo for a long time afterward.

It's not a very quick and easy read, but definitely a well-written contemporary YA. Started off slow, but finished with a bang!!! Family and friendship dynamics were real, Marika's link with Federico was heartbreaking, and the slow-burn romance between her and Matteo, her BFF, was totally adorable and intense with lots of sweet-swooning moments. Not only did I like Marika, but I loved the supporting characters as well. Matt made my heart and stomach flutter. I fell madly in love with him right away, but I was in love with Federico as well.
Marika's stubborn streak could get annoying at times, and it drove me crazy when she and Matteo had misunderstandings, but I also couldn't help shipping them. They were perfect together, both as best friends and as lovers. A connection like that can withstand almost anything, even fame, success, and drama.

Just my kind of book! Fans of My Life Next Door, Kasie West's romances, Hundred Oaks and The Field Party Series, will adore this book.
HIGHLY RECOMMENDED. If you don't like insta-love stories, but die for sweet slow-burn romances about people who obviously belong together, this is a great pick!
Good Points
I loved the storyline, as well as the sub plots, but my favorite part was the slowly developed friends-to-more romance.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0