Eat, Brains, Love (Eat, Brains, Love #1)

Eat, Brains, Love (Eat, Brains, Love #1)
Author(s)
Publisher
Age Range
14+
Release Date
October 01, 2013
ISBN
0062200348
Buy This Book
      

A laugh-out-loud funny, surprisingly romantic, zombie road trip novel filled with heart—and brains. Eat, Brains, Love is perfect for fans of Isaac Marion's Warm Bodies. The good news: Jake's dream girl, Amanda Blake, finally knows his name. The bad news: it's because they both contracted a mysterious zombie virus and devoured the brains of half their senior class. Now Jake and Amanda are on the run from Cass, a teen psychic sent by the government's top-secret Necrotic Control Division to track them down. As Jake and Amanda deal with the existential guilt of eating their best friends and set off in search of a cure for the zombie virus, Cass struggles with a growing psychic dilemma of her own—one that will lead all three of them on an epic journey across the country and make them question what it means to truly be alive. Or undead.

Editor reviews

2 reviews
Gory Fun
(Updated: December 27, 2013)
Overall rating
 
3.7
Plot
 
N/A
Characters
 
N/A
Writing Style
 
N/A
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable)
 
N/A
What I Loved:

This story is fantastically entertaining, and is a nice, quick read. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this book to reluctant readers, readers more interested in video games than books, or readers who want a fun, fast-paced adventure that doesn't pause often for romance.

I was instantly captivated by the voice of Jake, one of the book's two narrators. He came across as an authentic teenage boy who lusted after the hottest girl in school but whose ambition took him no further than his parents' basement where he got high and played video games for most of the day. His character is the source of the humor in the book, and his character development, while not remarkable, is definitely enough to maintain the reader's interest in Jake's outcome. Cass, the second narrator, has an interesting character arc as well, and her abilities add a unique paranormal dimension to this zombie tale.

The premise is perfect for fans of horror with a dash of humor, or for readers deciding to give horror a try. It's horror-lite. (Think Warm Bodies without as much romance or existential pondering.) The story has enough blood and gore to satisfy true horror fans, but enough humor and teen angst to balance the gore and make this an easier read for those who may be a bit squeamish about some of the more hardcore zombie horror offerings (such as The Walking Dead). The combination of adventure, humor, and zombie gore will keep readers turning pages long into the night.

What Left Me Wanting More:

As delightful as I found the humor and the premise to be, I wanted more character development and more emotional depth from Jake and Cass. Jake devours his friends during lunch period at the cafeteria and instantly has to go on the run to escape the government agency tasked with hunting down and exterminating people who contract the zombie virus, but he rarely spares any thought for his friends or the family he left behind. When he does consider them, he doesn't seem to feel any grief or anger or loneliness. True horror is not just blood and guts--it's an examination of what it really means to be human and how to hang on to that humanity in the face of overwhelming odds. This story contains some of those themes (Cass struggling to reconcile her job with her emerging convictions regarding zombies, and Jake learning how to control the virus), but the emotional range is shallow and the examination falls short of its potential.

Final Verdict:

EAT, BRAINS, LOVE is a thoroughly entertaining story with enough humor and action to keep zombie enthusiasts who are looking for a quick, light read engrossed from first page to last.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0

User reviews

1 review
Overall rating
 
3.3
Plot
 
4.0(1)
Characters
 
3.0(1)
Writing Style
 
3.0(1)
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable)
 
N/A(0)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Pretty good, strange plot
Overall rating
 
3.3
Plot
 
N/A
Characters
 
N/A
Writing Style
 
N/A
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable)
 
N/A
Video games, zombie morphing and secret government agencies out to do you in. If it sounds like a weird B-movie, well it kinda is and that's the point. An amusing book but with a plot that's sometimes difficult to follow.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0