Who Needs Sleep? A MUST Read Story!
(Updated: September 25, 2022)
Overall rating

Plot

Characters

Writing Style

Illustrations/Photos (if applicable)

N/A
What I Liked: This is my first time reading anything by Robin Roe and wow is she very talented with the phycological drama. First off, plan a chunk of time and start early on this book. Don’t be like me, who started this 502-page book early evening and then finished it at 3 AM.
This story is told in 3 distinct phases of a traumatic event. We have plenty of time to meet and dislike Sayers Wayte. He has too much money, freedom, and absent role models not to be apathetic to others’ plight, unmotivated, self-confident, and extremely popular. That was Sayers before his kidnapping.
Then Sayers is drugged and kidnapped and awakes chained to a bed and completely at the mercy of a man who has had a pretty sharp departure from sanity. For somebody who used to be the most powerful person in the room and who can waive cash at his problems, he is utterly unprepared for what happens during this portion of the book. The author’s background in psychology makes the breaking down and rebuilding of Sayers feel very believable. It is a different spin for these events to be happening to a male character. There is a certain amount of shock and impact that despite being male and strong he is completely at his kidnapper’s mercy. Sayers has his own internal torment due to the societal expectations that he has internalized. He torments himself with thoughts that he should be able to escape and his fear of pain makes him somehow a coward. This internal disconnect may even be why he so successfully embraces being what the kidnapper wants him to be.