Reviews written by Ed Goldberg

133 results - showing 1 - 15
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9
Ordering
August 10, 2011
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Young Adult Fiction
The Future is Now

It’s 1996 and Emma and Josh are both high school juniors. They live next door to each other and have been best friends until six months ago when Josh misread the signs and kissed Emma. Since then things have been sort of uncomfortable. Emma’s father, divorced and living...

August 03, 2011
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Young Adult Fiction
The Odd Couple

Now Playing: Stoner & Spaz II leaves off immediately after Stoner & Spaz ends, despite the 10 year hiatus between the writing of the books. Colleen, the stoner, has just ditched Ben, the spaz with cerebral palsy, to hook up with some guy she doesn’t know, Nick, to get...

July 25, 2011
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Young Adult Fiction
An Unlikely Duo

Stoner & Spaz. Colleen is the stoner, hooked on drugs of any sort; weed, cocaine, whatever. Ben is the spaz, weighed down by the deformities of cerebral palsy. They meet at the Riolto movie theater. Ben spends his solitary Friday nights watching old movies, like the Bride...

June 26, 2011
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
3.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Kids Fiction
A Talking Radio Mystery

A talking radio is at the heart of this cute story about Davina and her friends who solve mysteries based on clues they receive from their magical radio. It is Davina’s twelfth birthday and she’s celebrating with her best friends Fabie and DeBrina. Her world famous detective uncle can’t make...

June 20, 2011
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
N/A
Characters 
 
N/A
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Young Adult Fiction
A Tasty Morsel

What can cause a family eruption every time the family gets together? In The Sweetness of Salt by Cecelia Galante, Julia is going to finally find out. She just graduated from high school, valedictorian. Her sister, Sophie, 8 years older, surprised her by coming to the graduation from Vermont, a...

June 02, 2011 (Updated: June 02, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
N/A
Characters 
 
N/A
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Young Adult Fiction
Finding the art and the artist

When we left Ginny at the end of Maureen Johnson’s 13 Little Blue Envelopes, she had her bag stolen in Greece and had to come home to New Jersey, unable to finish following Aunt Peg’s posthumous 13 letters of instructions. Well, it’s several months later and Ginny is trying unsuccessfully...

May 01, 2011
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0
Kids Fiction
Parental Embarrassment-Why Oh Why Must It Be?

Whats worse than being named after a flower and having a little sister named after a dead president? Yep, having a free-spirit, performance artist mother who doesnt understand you. And thats just what thirteen-year-old Marigold Bailey has. This is her third school in four years because whenever her...

April 28, 2011
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0
Kids Fiction
A Tale of Discovery

Sometimes you know why a book is an award winner and sometimes you dont. In the case of Moon Over Manifest (Newbery Award winner), a debut novel by Clare Vanderpool, it is evident from page one that you are reading a wonderful book. The story itself, the characters, the...

April 22, 2011
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
Young Adult Fiction
Power and Treachery

If you are looking for a book with drama, treachery, romance, war, spirit and heroism, then, Eona: The Last Dragoneye by Alison Goodman is perfect for you. It is a continuation of Eon: Dragoneye Reborn. As per the publisher, in the first book, twelve-year-old Eon has...

April 01, 2011
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0
Kids Fiction
An Elephant Sized Adventure

If for no other reason, you must read Small as an Elephant because every chapter starts off with a fact or myth about elephants. Thats reason enough. But there is another reason: ten-year-old Jack Martel has an elephant sized adventure. Jack and his mother are taking...

March 26, 2011
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0
Kids Fiction
Plentiful Seasons

Franny Parker, written by The Properties of Water author Hannah Roberts McKinnon, is about people living in Two houses, side by side along the same bubbling river: one brimming with warm voices that spilled from its windows, one aching with a sadness that rippled from its shingled roof like...

March 23, 2011
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
Young Adult Fiction
I Dare You Not to Like This Book

Dash, a Strand Bookstore frequenter, is perusing the shelves when he finds a red moleskin journal. He did what anyone would do. He opened it. Inside he finds the following note: Ive left some clues for you. If you want them, turn the page. ...

March 11, 2011
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
Young Adult Fiction
Lennon Meets McCartney Redux

Beatle Meets Destiny is Gabrielle Williams first foray into young adult literature. Lets hope she makes a second and third foray. John Lennon, not the John Lennon, but an Australian John Lennon is coming home early on Friday, February 13 and meets an odd girl at the bus...

February 24, 2011
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
Young Adult Fiction
Sisters

The Properties of Water, a debut novel by Hannah Roberts McKinnon, was a pleasant surprise. It is a beautifully written story about two sisters, Lace and Marni Martin, although there is little interaction between them in the book. Marni, the older sister was always the best....

February 09, 2011
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
Young Adult Fiction
One Cupcake at a Time

Im going to make the world a better place, one cupcake at a time, is Foster McFees motto. Her goal is to have her own childrens cooking show on The Food Network, just like her idol Sonny Kroll. But first shes got to overcome a few obstacles. ...

133 results - showing 1 - 15
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9
Powered by JReviews

Latest Book Listings Added

Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A teenage girl wonders if she’s inherited more than just...
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times bestselling author Amanda Hocking returns to...
The Hunt
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Death marked her from her very first breath. Being...
Swallowed by a Secret
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
One dead father. One lying mother. ...
Circus of the Dead Book One
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
There are many ways to die at the Circus...
Roaring
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Colt Clemmons is an agent in a specialized division...
Court of Lions
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Court of Lions is the long-awaited second and final...
More Than Just a Pretty Face
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Jenny Han, a...
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After the events at Llethanyl, city of the elves, Zed...
And Then I Turned into a Mermaid (And Then I Turned into a Mermaid, #1)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Emily Windsnap and Maybe A Mermaid, And...
After the Worst Thing Happens
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Left reeling after her thoughtless mistake causes a terrible accident,...
Hirana's War: Book Two in the Eloia Born Series
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Praise for Eloia Born “Loved it! A well-written narrative...
Hans Christian Andersen: The Journey of His Life
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
"If you like, I’ll tell you the story of a...
Sheep Dog and Sheep Sheep: Baaad Hair Day
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
If you've ever wanted a perfect reason to say: You've...
My Words
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
"I love words!" says Ava. "Words can be tiny, prickly,...
Sun Flower Lion
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A sun. A flower. And a lion. With three visual...

Latest Member Reviews

Ghost Boys
 
5.0
"Jewell Parker Rhodes writes electrifying middle grade stories that pack emotion into every sentence, and GHOST BOYS showcases that skill..."
And Then I Turned into a Mermaid (And Then I Turned into a Mermaid, #1)
 
4.0
"AND THEN I TURNED INTO A MERMAID is a cute and funny middle grade fantasy that follows Molly. Molly is..."
After the Worst Thing Happens
 
5.0
"AFTER THE WORST THING HAPPENS is a compelling middle grade about dealing with death and loss. Army Morand absolutely adores..."
Sheep Dog and Sheep Sheep: Baaad Hair Day
 
4.0
"SHEEP DOG AND SHEEP SHEEP: BAAAD HAIR DAY is a comical picture book about haircuts. Sheep has lovely curls that..."
My Words
 
3.5
"MY WORDS is a cute picture book about language and the power of words. Ava shows the reader how words..."
Sun Flower Lion
 
5.0
"SUN FLOWER LION is a great early reader picture book. Told in very brief chapters, the book captures a brief..."
Feast of Peas
 
4.0
"'Feast of Peas' by Kashmira Sheth, illustrated by Jeffrey Ebbeler, is a cute story that captures how something might be..."
The House of Madame M
 
4.5
"THE HOUSE OF MADAME M is a creepy and interactive book that invites readers to take a tour. They are..."
Like Best Friends
 
4.0
"LIKE BEST FRIENDS is a great picture book to teach about similes. The plot is fairly simple. A boy is..."
Paper Planes
 
4.0
"PAPER PLANES is a sweet picture book about evolving friendships when friends must move away. Mia and Ben are best..."
Good Guys, Bad Guys
 
3.5
"GOOD GUYS, BAD GUYS features children at play and divides them throughout by their actions and roles. The good guys..."
Rad!
 
3.5
"RAD! is a simple but colorful book about trying new things. The book follows five cats, Esther, Chester, Lester, Hester,..."
Thesaurus Has a Secret
 
5.0
"'Thesaurus Has a Secret' by Anya Glazer is a cute story about a dinosaur named Thesaurus. He loves words, but..."
TBH, Too Much Drama (TBH, #3)
 
4.0
"'TBH: Too Much Drama' by Lisa Greenwald is another one of her creative stories told in text messages, emails, and..."
Fresh Princess: Style Rules!
 
5.0
"FRESH PRINCESS: STYLE RULES! is a fun book about marking your mark. Destiny is starting at a new school, and..."
Willow the Armadillo
 
5.0
"WILLOW THE ARMADILLO is a cute picture book about reaching for your dreams and what it means to be a..."
Bad Brows
 
4.0
"BAD BROWS is a humorous picture book that follows Bernard when he wakes up for a day with brows that..."
Samuel Drew Hasn't a Clue
 
3.5
"SAMUEL DREW HASN'T A CLUE is an overall cute picture book that follows Samuel Drew as he wheels a package..."
Cactus and Flower: A Book About Life Cycles
 
3.5
"CACTUS AND FLOWER is a picture book about friendship, loss, and grief. Cactus loves flower as they spend all their..."
Quintessence
 
5.0
"QUINTESSENCE is a charming and enchanting middle grade fantasy. Alma moved to Four Points, and she has felt a little..."