Reviews written by Ed Goldberg

133 results - showing 1 - 15
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9
Ordering
August 10, 2011
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Young Adult Fiction
The Future is Now

It’s 1996 and Emma and Josh are both high school juniors. They live next door to each other and have been best friends until six months ago when Josh misread the signs and kissed Emma. Since then things have been sort of uncomfortable. Emma’s father, divorced and living...

August 03, 2011
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Young Adult Fiction
The Odd Couple

Now Playing: Stoner & Spaz II leaves off immediately after Stoner & Spaz ends, despite the 10 year hiatus between the writing of the books. Colleen, the stoner, has just ditched Ben, the spaz with cerebral palsy, to hook up with some guy she doesn’t know, Nick, to get...

July 25, 2011
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Young Adult Fiction
An Unlikely Duo

Stoner & Spaz. Colleen is the stoner, hooked on drugs of any sort; weed, cocaine, whatever. Ben is the spaz, weighed down by the deformities of cerebral palsy. They meet at the Riolto movie theater. Ben spends his solitary Friday nights watching old movies, like the Bride...

June 26, 2011
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
3.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Kids Fiction
A Talking Radio Mystery

A talking radio is at the heart of this cute story about Davina and her friends who solve mysteries based on clues they receive from their magical radio. It is Davina’s twelfth birthday and she’s celebrating with her best friends Fabie and DeBrina. Her world famous detective uncle can’t make...

June 20, 2011
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
N/A
Characters 
 
N/A
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Young Adult Fiction
A Tasty Morsel

What can cause a family eruption every time the family gets together? In The Sweetness of Salt by Cecelia Galante, Julia is going to finally find out. She just graduated from high school, valedictorian. Her sister, Sophie, 8 years older, surprised her by coming to the graduation from Vermont, a...

June 02, 2011 (Updated: June 02, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
N/A
Characters 
 
N/A
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Young Adult Fiction
Finding the art and the artist

When we left Ginny at the end of Maureen Johnson’s 13 Little Blue Envelopes, she had her bag stolen in Greece and had to come home to New Jersey, unable to finish following Aunt Peg’s posthumous 13 letters of instructions. Well, it’s several months later and Ginny is trying unsuccessfully...

May 01, 2011
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0
Kids Fiction
Parental Embarrassment-Why Oh Why Must It Be?

Whats worse than being named after a flower and having a little sister named after a dead president? Yep, having a free-spirit, performance artist mother who doesnt understand you. And thats just what thirteen-year-old Marigold Bailey has. This is her third school in four years because whenever her...

April 28, 2011
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0
Kids Fiction
A Tale of Discovery

Sometimes you know why a book is an award winner and sometimes you dont. In the case of Moon Over Manifest (Newbery Award winner), a debut novel by Clare Vanderpool, it is evident from page one that you are reading a wonderful book. The story itself, the characters, the...

April 22, 2011
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
Young Adult Fiction
Power and Treachery

If you are looking for a book with drama, treachery, romance, war, spirit and heroism, then, Eona: The Last Dragoneye by Alison Goodman is perfect for you. It is a continuation of Eon: Dragoneye Reborn. As per the publisher, in the first book, twelve-year-old Eon has...

April 01, 2011
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0
Kids Fiction
An Elephant Sized Adventure

If for no other reason, you must read Small as an Elephant because every chapter starts off with a fact or myth about elephants. Thats reason enough. But there is another reason: ten-year-old Jack Martel has an elephant sized adventure. Jack and his mother are taking...

March 26, 2011
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0
Kids Fiction
Plentiful Seasons

Franny Parker, written by The Properties of Water author Hannah Roberts McKinnon, is about people living in Two houses, side by side along the same bubbling river: one brimming with warm voices that spilled from its windows, one aching with a sadness that rippled from its shingled roof like...

March 23, 2011
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
Young Adult Fiction
I Dare You Not to Like This Book

Dash, a Strand Bookstore frequenter, is perusing the shelves when he finds a red moleskin journal. He did what anyone would do. He opened it. Inside he finds the following note: Ive left some clues for you. If you want them, turn the page. ...

March 11, 2011
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
Young Adult Fiction
Lennon Meets McCartney Redux

Beatle Meets Destiny is Gabrielle Williams first foray into young adult literature. Lets hope she makes a second and third foray. John Lennon, not the John Lennon, but an Australian John Lennon is coming home early on Friday, February 13 and meets an odd girl at the bus...

February 24, 2011
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
Young Adult Fiction
Sisters

The Properties of Water, a debut novel by Hannah Roberts McKinnon, was a pleasant surprise. It is a beautifully written story about two sisters, Lace and Marni Martin, although there is little interaction between them in the book. Marni, the older sister was always the best....

February 09, 2011
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
Young Adult Fiction
One Cupcake at a Time

Im going to make the world a better place, one cupcake at a time, is Foster McFees motto. Her goal is to have her own childrens cooking show on The Food Network, just like her idol Sonny Kroll. But first shes got to overcome a few obstacles. ...

133 results - showing 1 - 15
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9
Powered by JReviews

Latest Book Listings Added

Ashes (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #3)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"The truth was, I wasn’t on anyone’s side except Claire’s....
Fire (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #2)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
After being killed by demons, former angel Adam wakes up...
Spark (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #1)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"It came out of nowhere. A sweep of emotions. Love,...
The Twin
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
After their parents divorced, 10-year-old twins Ivy and Iris were...
Devil Darling Spy
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
It's 1940, and Sarah Goldstein is hiding in plain sight...
The Life Below
 
4.0
 
4.0 (1)
It was hard enough for Naomi to leave Leo, a...
Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Meet Mr. Penguin―Adventurer (And Penguin!) When Mr. Penguin...
Famous by Default
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Jax Buried, By my family's fame. Dying to escape...
Sword and Pen (Great Library Book, #5)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
With the future of the Great Library in doubt,...
Butterfly Yellow
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Ibi Zoboi, and...
Jonny Lambert's Construction Site
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A beautifully illustrated book for babies featuring lots of noisy...
Pop-Up Peekaboo! Baby Animals
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Take your toddler on a rain forest adventure and find...
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Kira Fujikawa has never had it easy. She’s...
Pet
Pet
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The highly-anticipated, genre-defying new novel by award-winning author Akwaeke...
Gray (The Wings Trilogy, #3)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The long anticipated finale to the Wings Trilogy. ...
Black (The Wings Trilogy, #2)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"I was the weak link in the chain, and the...

Latest Member Reviews

Cody and the Heart of a Champion
 
5.0
"Spring is on its way, and Cody is all set to make the season exciting. Warmer days mean her favorite..."
Cody and the Rules of Life
 
5.0
"Cody's brother Wyatt has a new obsession-- a bicycle. Specifically, a very spiffy bike that he saves up a large..."
Every Single Second
 
4.0
"Nella and Angela are best friends who attend a Catholic school in a largely urban Italian neighborhood. They both have..."
Cody and the Fountain of Happiness
 
5.0
"Cody is ready to enjoy summer even though her mother is up for a promotion as head of footwear and..."