Reviews written by Marla Arbach

59 results - showing 1 - 15
1 2 3 4
Ordering
September 03, 2007
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
Young Adult Fiction
Getting to know all about you

High school graduation means big change for everyone, especially for Bella Swan, who has finally managed to convince her irresistible vampire boyfriend Edward Cullen to transform her into one of his kind after their commencement ceremony. But someone is raising a vampire army and that means big trouble for...

July 02, 2007
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0
Kids Fiction
Elizabethan intrigue

A lot of historical novels have been written about Shakespeare and his Globe theatre, but not too many have been written about his friend and rival Christopher Marlowe and his Rose theatre, so The Secret of the Rose is a slightly unusual look at theatre life in Elizabethan times. ...

June 28, 2007
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0
More Viking magic

Thora and Oddo are back and they're getting up to more adventures! This time, the Sheriff arrives in their village demanding taxes that their families can't pay, and it's up to the two kids to figure out a way to earn the money. And to top it off,...

June 26, 2007
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
Young Adult Fiction
A different perspective on family

Josey's world is turned upside down when her parents tell her that the child they had and gave up for adoption in high school is coming back into their lives. In the blink of an eye, this new, perfect sister is welcomed into their family, by everyone but Josey,...

June 23, 2007
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
Young Adult Fiction
United we stand

"We say: Anything is possible. But what we mean is: I hope that good is possible." Once again, David Levithan (Boy Meets Boy) has painted a picture of a world where love--between anyone--matters above all things, and where the smallest gesture can mean so...

June 23, 2007
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
Like old friends

The summer after their freshman year, Bee, Tibby, Lena and Carmen go their separate ways once again, but eventually, the Traveling Pants help them remember that even though they're not together, they're never alone. Fans will slip right back into this comfortable, familiar story the way they slip into...

June 18, 2007
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0
A magical series set in Viking times

Thora's the daughter of a magician but she can't do spells. Oddo's the son of a farmer but he can't do farmwork. Both of them think they're not good for anything. But when there's no one else left, the two young Vikings have to make a dangerous...

June 17, 2007
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
Young Adult Fiction
Just talk

Charlie and Sam used to be best friends, until Sam broke it off without a word of explanation. But when the going gets rough, they both just need to talk--and to let out the secrets they've been keeping for so long. Coming clean--or out--takes courage, but it's worth...

June 14, 2007
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
A gift for aspiring writers

When I reviewed At the Sign of the Star, Katherine Sturtevant's first novel of Restoration England, I thought nothing could possibly come close to being as good. But its sequel, A True and Faithful Narrative, is even better. Now sixteen, rebellious Meg has learned to get along...

June 11, 2007
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
"Remember always to head into the wind..."

London, 1677. Twelve-year-old Meg Moore is the only daughter of a well-to-do bookseller who has brought her up to run the family business. But when her widowed father decides to marry again, Meg's inheritance--and therefore her future--are suddenly not so certain, and it will take all her wits...

June 08, 2007
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0
Kids Fiction
Funny feminist fairy tale

Aren't fairy tales much more fun when princesses don't do as they're told? Fans of Gail Carson Levine's Ella Enchanted and Patricia C. Wrede's Enchanted Forest Chronicles will love reading about Princess Meg and her attempts to sabotage her father's antiquated dragon-slaying, witch-vanquishing, bandit-eradicating contest (of which she, naturally,...

June 08, 2007
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0
Kids Fiction
Good and scary

Samuel just knows there's something wrong at the spooky, medieval Scottish mansion he and his mother live next to. Suddenly snowbound on the remote country estate and pursued by a mysterious and terrifying Weeping Woman, Samuel and his new friend Fiona have to figure out how to appease this...

June 05, 2007
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
Young Adult Fiction
And the hits just keep on coming

If you haven't already read Simone Elkeles' first novel about Amy Nelson-Barak's crazy and hilarious adventures discovering her Israeli heritage, go read How to Ruin a Summer Vacation right away. If you have, then you're probably dying to see what scrapes straight-talking but lovable Amy gets into next....

June 02, 2007
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
Young Adult Fiction
Summer secrets

Charlie's not happy: her widowed father is thinking about getting remarried, her best friend Sam, who she's not-so-secretly in love with, moved to Australia, and her beloved English teacher had a heart attack right after she refused to rewrite her final assignment, so now she may never become a...

May 30, 2007
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
Young Adult Fiction
You can't go home again

A year ago, a senseless accident maimed Maggie and sent Caleb to juvenile detention. The last thing in the world they were expecting was that the other would turn out to be the one person who understood what they'd gone through. Maggie and Caleb have both changed, but...

59 results - showing 1 - 15
1 2 3 4
Powered by JReviews

Latest Book Listings Added

Phoebe Unfired
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
CONNECTING IS TOUGH WHEN YOU CAN'T EVEN TOUCH ...
Thirty Talks Weird Love
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A 13-year-old girl growing up in Mexico is visited by...
Admission
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Lie. Cheat. Bribe. How far would you go to get...
Running
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When fifteen-year-old Cuban American Mariana Ruiz’s father runs for president,...
City of Spells (Into the Crooked Place, #2)
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
City of Spells, the follow-up to Alexandra Christo's gritty YA...
Christmas Parade
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
A delightful Christmas board book filled with hilarious characters and...
Best Friend in the Whole World
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Roland lives a quiet life filled with books, music, and...
Bird Show
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Award-winning author-illustrator Susan Stockdale welcomes you to the Bird Show,...
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
He saw the darkness in her magic. She saw...
My Book of Feelings (My World)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Inspired by the Montessori method of education this unique board...
Sweet & Bitter Magic
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
In this charming debut fantasy perfect for fans of Sorcery...
My High School Rebel Boyfriend
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
He’s a rebel with a cause… to make my...
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Sheinmel comes...
Dark Stars
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dorothy finds herself completely alone. Roman is dead. The...
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera, this...
Daughter of Darkness
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
She is destined to kill a demon. He is...

Latest Member Reviews

Thirty Talks Weird Love
 
5.0
"One day, Thirty, a strange woman comes up to thirteen-year-old Anamaria and tells her she's from her future. Anamaria lives..."
Admission
 
5.0
"‘Admission’ by Julie Buxbaum is a modern and definitely current read on a topic that has been in the news...."
Running
 
5.0
"‘Running’ by Natalia Sylvester is a trend-setting anthem for anyone who has ever wanted to be the change they wish..."
City of Spells (Into the Crooked Place, #2)
 
4.7
"CITY OF SPELLS is a stunning conclusion to an enthralling YA fantasy duology. The book plunges us into the story..."
The Project
 
4.7
"What worked: This is one intense psychological tale of a girl trying to reconnect with her sister after she joins..."
Sweet & Bitter Magic
 
4.7
"SWEET & BITTER MAGIC is a lush and enthralling YA fantasy filled with magic, pain, and love. In this world,..."
Sing Me Forgotten
 
5.0
"SING ME FORGOTTEN is an enchanting, compelling, and unexpected YA fantasy retelling of Phantom of the Opera. In this world,..."
The Valley and the Flood
 
4.3
"Rose Colter is adrift. She can't be where she was staying for the holidays but she can't go home yet..."
Perfect on Paper
 
5.0
"PERFECT ON PAPER is a delightful YA romantic comedy. Darcy has been operating Locker 89 at her school for years...."
11 Paper Hearts
 
4.3
"Reviewed for YA Books Central A super cute and sweet story. The story: A year ago, a..."
shine your icy crown
 
3.3
"shine your icy crown by amanda lovelace is a 129-page collection of contemporary poems. It’s the second book in the..."
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
"THE CASTLE SCHOOL (FOR TROUBLED GIRLS) is a story of healing and friendship. Moira has been cast adrift since the..."
Go the Distance
 
5.0
"Hercules proved he was a true hero and became a god like his parents, Zeus and Hera. Meg is thrilled..."
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
"FOLLOW YOUR ARROW is a heartfelt read about love, breaking up, and being true to yourself. CeCe has made a..."
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
"DOWN COMES THE NIGHT is an intriguing, slow-burn YA fantasy. Wren is a healer in the military of her queendom,..."
A Dark and Hollow Star (A Dark and Hollow Star, #1)
 
4.7
"A DARK AND HOLLOW STAR is a slowly building YA fantasy that takes the reader on a wild ride through..."
Daughters of Jubilation
 
5.0
"It's South Carolina in 1962. Sixteen-year-old Evvie has two little sisters to take care of, a single mother, and finally..."
Dark Stars
 
4.0
"DARK STARS by Danielle Rollins is the third book in her series of the same name. It begins with Dorothy..."
Muted
 
5.0
"Denver loves music and dreams of life making it with her R&B group, Angelic Voices. When the group (Denver, Dali,..."
Reawakened
 
3.3
"My favorite thing about this book is the Egyptian elements. Reading Lily’s adventures in pyramids gave me strong Indiana Jones..."