Reviews written by Joanne Mumley, Twitter Manager

212 results - showing 1 - 15
1 2 3 4 5 ... »
Ordering
July 07, 2019
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Stranger Things Addict

Darkness on the Edge of Town is a fascinating glimpse into Hopper's past. Being a big fan of Hopper since the start of Stranger Things, I was incredibly excited to pick this one up. Fans of the show know that he's no longer married and his daughter died. The...

June 01, 2019
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Young Adult Fiction
Rise of the Valkyries

Heart and Shadow includes the two stories of the Valkyrie Duology. The story is an urban fantasy that mixes Norse Mythology with other mythical creatures and beings like vampires, demons, and angels. The modern twist creates a page-turning story that you just can't put down. Malin is a strong...

June 01, 2019
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Young Adult Fiction
Prequel to Stranger Things

Suspicious Minds is a prequel to the Netflix show Stranger Things. This story focuses around the Eleven's mom, Terry Ives in the late 60s/early 70s. This can stand alone as a supernatural thriller or be a great companion novel to the series giving insight into Terry, Eleven, and Dr.Brenner. ...

June 01, 2019
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
4.0
Justice League takes on Middle School Science Fair

Science Fair Crisis (Secret Hero Society #4) is overall a great addition to the Secret Hero Society Series. Any fan a DC comics will love this addition. It is a fun read with elements of mystery and little "Easter Eggs" from the comics. The combination of narrative, graphic novel, texts,...

April 06, 2019
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Young Adult Fiction
Couldn't Put it Down

The Seclusion is scarily wonderful. I couldn't put this book down and ended up finishing it all in one day. Reminiscent of great dystopian novels like WE and 1984, it takes the sci-fi dystopian feel and makes it seem incredibly realistic and frighteningly plausible. What I liked...

April 06, 2019
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Riverdale

Riverdale: The Day Before features the perspectives of the four main characters of season 1: Jughead, Archie, Betty, and Veronica. It all takes place the summer before the first episode of season 1. It is a well-written TV tie in. Each character is off on their own, not interacting...

November 18, 2018
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0
Kids Fiction
What Matters Most is Who Picks Us Up

I want to hug this book and never let go. Louisiana Elefante is cursed. She is hopeful yet skeptical, naive yet wise beyond her years. She is a like all of us, a complex character. While some may have first met Louisiana in Raymie...

September 30, 2018
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Young Adult Fiction
Captivating Thriller

At first The Lying Woods reads more like a contemporary fiction piece than thriller. Then all of sudden it hits you with all the punches. Ashley Elston eloquently weaves clues along the way that are so subtle. Plot twists and surprises divert your mind from the clues until...

September 30, 2018
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Kids Fiction
Learning how to accept ourselves and others

Save Me A Seat by Sarah Weeks and Gita Varadarajan is must read that should be on every school library shelf. Fans of Wonder, Out of My Mind, and Fish in a Tree are sure to love reading Save Me a Seat. ...

April 02, 2018
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Young Adult Fiction
Oh My Heartstrings

Marquardt brilliantly weaves together a beautiful story about family, friends, and finding yourself. She shows how people facing very different struggles can learn from one another by just taking the time to get to know them for who they really are. To be honest,...

March 30, 2018 (Updated: March 30, 2018)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Young Adult Fiction
Destiny Can Bring You to Tears

A Land of Permanent Goodbyes is a tear-provoking story about Tareq and his family as they struggle to find their way to safety. His story is narrated by Destiny who struggles to deal with the dark side of humanity. In many ways, the narration reminds me of the way Death...

August 19, 2017
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Kids Fiction
Inspiring

I absolutely feel in love with this book. I was always a big Alan Gratz fan, but after hearing him speak this past April I knew I had to pre-order both Ban This Book and Refugee. So this past week was officially Alan Gratz week at my house. I read...

August 17, 2017
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Young Adult Fiction
A Must Read

Many of the stories out there deal with girls who go against the grain and want to do what society claims is "boys' stuff." While I love those stories and can easily relate, it is super refreshing to see Molly Ostertag take a look at the other side of...

August 17, 2017
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Young Adult Fiction
Swings it out of the park!

Again Jennifer and Matt Holm prove they are the dynamic duo when it comes to graphic novels and story telling. Swing It Sunny takes place in the late 1970s in America to a young girl in middle school. It is the sequel to Sunny Side Up, but works well as...

August 17, 2017
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Young Adult Fiction
Mesmerizing Story Told in Verse

Told entirely in verse, Solo is a story full of love, loss, addiction and music. Like Kwame Alexander's previous books, each character in Solo have elements that you can relate to and see in the people you know. Blade is a musician dealing with family issues...

212 results - showing 1 - 15
1 2 3 4 5 ... »
Powered by JReviews

Latest Book Listings Added

These Feathered Flames (These Feathered Flames, #1)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When twin heirs are born in Tourin, their fates are...
The Mother of Monsters
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Mischievous Ntombi is not at all afraid of the fearsome...
Grim, Grunt and Grizzle-Tail: A Story from Chile
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Brave young Pedro faces monsters and greedy guards when he...
What Beauty There Is
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
What Beauty There Is is Cory Anderson's stunning YA...
Baseball Baby
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This original board book series, which begins with America's favorite...
I Am Not a Penguin
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
This hilarious story of a pangolin with an identity crisis...
Poison Priestess (Lady Slayers, #2)
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
In 17th-century Paris, 19-year-old Catherine Monvoisin is a well-heeled...
Sam Can't Sleep
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
When Sam can’t sleep, he decides to ask all the...
The Prison Healer (The Prison Healer, #1)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Kiva Meridan has spent the last ten years...
Fate Calling
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A cursed fae prince. A lonely human lass. A...
Welcome to California
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Welcome to California! We're glad you're here! Introducing a new...
Zoe Rosenthal is Not Lawful Good
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
A buttoned-up overachiever works overtime to keep her inner...
The Other Side of Perfect
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Sarah Dessen and Mary H.K. Choi, this...
The Sky Above Us
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
From the author of We Speak in Storms comes...
Zoom: Dinosaur Adventure
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Join Jasmine and Jamie as they travel back in time...
Let's Pretend Fire Station
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
It's a busy day at the fire station! Chldren can...

Latest Member Reviews

Sam the Stolen Puppy
 
5.0
"SAM THE STOLEN PUPPY by Holly Webb is a heartbreaking tale of one little girl’s search for her missing pup...."
The Case of the Missing Cheetah
 
5.0
"Three curious little girls find their way into the midst of a secret spy organization in The Case of the..."
The Clockwork Crow
 
3.0
"Seren Rhys is glad to be leaving the orphanage but nervous about what awaits her at her godfather's estate, Plas-y..."
Shoe Wars
 
4.0
"SHOE WARS is a silly fun middle grade read that is somewhere between a graphic novel and chapter book. The..."
Whispering Pines
 
5.0
"After Rae's father goes missing, her mother decides to move to a new town and start over. Rae thinks there..."
The Amazing Beef Squad: Never Say Die!
 
5.0
"Of COURSE, Stupidball games always end badly, but this doesn't stop friends Hogue, Jared, Pratchett and our narrator Nick Rhodes..."
The Memory Thief  (Thirteen Witches #1)
 
5.0
"Rosie has always taken care of herself and her mother in their house overlooking the coast of Maine. Her mother..."
Charlie Thorne and the Lost City (Charlie Thorne #2)
 
5.0
"After her adventures in Charlie Thorne and the Last Equation, Charlie is hiding out in the Galapagos Islands in Ecuador,..."
Minecraft: The Shipwreck
 
5.0
"Jake and his father have moved around quite a bit after the death of his mother. His father is a..."
Friend Me
 
5.0
"Roisin has moved from Dublin, Ireland to the Boston area with her mother and older brother Michael. Her mother works..."
Stolen from the Studio (Case Closed, #2)
 
4.0
"STOLEN FROM THE STUDIO is a fun middle grade mystery with a choose-your-own-adventure plot. Carlos travels with his mother, a..."
Paola Santiago and the River of Tears
 
3.0
"Paola “Pao” Santiago loves science and hanging out with her best friends, Emma and Dante. She doesn’t love how superstitious..."
The Alchemist's Shadow (Watch Hollow #2)
 
4.0
"Lucy and Oliver Tinker and their father Charles are getting settled into Watch Hollow after their harrowing introduction to it..."
King and Kayla and the Case of the Unhappy Neighbor
 
4.0
"King's friend Thor is in big trouble. His owner, Jillian, got a call from the grumpy Mr. Gary that Thor..."
Super Puzzletastic Mysteries: Short Stories for Young Sleuths from Mystery Writers of America
 
5.0
"Short story collections are hard to review, especially when one includes so many fantastic authors! My students will be glad..."
Deathstrike (Ultraball #2)
 
4.0
"After narrowly avoiding disaster in Ultraball, the Miners (coached by Strike) are back for a new season. When the team..."
Premeditated Myrtle
 
4.0
"In 1893, Myrtle is being raised by her father, a lawyer, and her governess, Miss Judson, after the death of..."
Sabotage (Beatrice Zinker, Upside Down Thinker (3))
 
4.0
"Beatrice calls a meeting of Operation Upside with her friends Sam and Lenny, and they decide what the newest awards..."
Winterbourne Home for Vengeance and Valor
 
4.0
"April lives in an orphanage, and on a class trip to the Winterbourne Museum, she has a disastrous experience and..."
Charlie Thorne and the Last Equation (Charlie Thorne #1)
 
5.0
"Charlie is a twelve year old intellectual prodigy who has uncaring, manipulative parents whom she has escaped by enrolling in..."