Reviews written by Kaye M.

14 results - showing 1 - 14
Ordering
June 15, 2012
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Young Adult Fiction
Maggie Stiefvater recommended it. I took her word for it and never looked back.

Now, you probably know by now that YA contemp is totally not my thing. It's just too...real. I also don't believe that a boy and a girl can be friends without one or both of them wanting more, but that's more of a personal moral/family background than mere taste. But...

May 17, 2012
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Young Adult Fiction
Trust no one.

There is no hard and heavy rule to me liking or disliking a book. It just...happens. I offer up White Cat as evidence. Holly Black and I have gone through the same dance I perform with most other authors. I pick up a book...

April 19, 2012
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Young Adult Fiction
This summer's most epic read!

Okay, first of all, we can't start this party off without a little mention of the cover. Just take a moment to scroll up and look at that. From the moment the ARC slipped out of the package and into my hands, the feeling I got was, "Summer is here,...

March 17, 2012
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0
Young Adult Fiction
YA that will definitely bring the boys out.

Okay, you say that there's not enough YA for boys? Here, gentlemen, is a title that should tide you over. At least for a little while. Carver Young is an orphan. He has no idea about who his parents are, or what happened to...

February 03, 2012
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
2.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Young Adult Fiction
Not what I hoped for.

First of all, I have a small confession. You know that saying "Don't judge a book by its cover"? That totally doesn't adhere to me - at least, with real books. (Don't worry, guys, I don't stick stereotypes on new people I meet or any of that nonsense.) As a...

January 10, 2012
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
The cover doesn't lie.

From the moment I saw the cover, I knew I had to read this. Why? Well, first of all, it looked fantabulously awesome, but when I was a kid (like a kid-kid, not a teenager like I am now) I was obsessed with Anastasia Romanov. Obsessed. As in, I thought...

December 31, 2011
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
It made my heart happy.

Okay, I might be getting way ahead of myself and over-generalizing here but: authors with a background in theater are AWESOME. I've been seeing Eyes Like Stars around for like the past two years, but for some reason I kept putting off getting my hands on a...

December 29, 2011
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Young Adult Fiction
Worth every laugh.

Girl + vacation in swanky hotel = perfection. Right? Not for Jas. Besides having to deal with her overprotective father (a.k.a. the Thwarter) making sure she doesn't get carried away with her forensic crime passion, there's also a guy who might be interested in...

December 19, 2011
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Young Adult Fiction
The dystopian I've been waiting for all of 2011

This is the dystopian I've been waiting for all of 2011. Though not completely a retelling of Les Miserables, Marie Lu's talented debut still takes the important threads of the plot line and weaves them together into an entire new setting. I was a little thrown off...

December 07, 2011
Overall rating 
 
2.0
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
2.0
Writing Style 
 
1.0
Young Adult Fiction
I set my hopes too high.

Though Shatter Me is touted as a combination between The Hunger Games and X-Men, I think it's fair to warn you that the superhero factor of the story doesn't really get going until the last hundred or so pages. I do have to agree that the dystopian factors of the...

October 23, 2011
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Young Adult Fiction
LOVED IT. Just...loved it.

Where my tween-aged self found a soulmate in Ella Enchanted, I seem to have found it in Cinder. The whole Cinderella oddball meets Wonder Boy Prince Charming might seem a little overdone by now, but really, Ms. Meyer does an awesome job of keeping the basic details...

October 11, 2011
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Young Adult Fiction
Reached expectations

I requested this e-galley via recommendation from Dani at Refracted Light, and got rejected TWICE. Well, apparently third time was the charm, and I managed to finish it within two hours after my self-imposed Ramadan bookfast. Honestly, though it surprised me in a few places, this...

October 02, 2011
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Young Adult Fiction
Definitely lived up to expectations

Except for the whole arriving in London just for the killing spree of the century, Rory's pretty much living the life any Anglophile would die for - living it up in a posh boarding school, a cool roommate, and the possibility of having her head chopped off by the Ripper...

September 28, 2011
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Young Adult Fiction
Better than I anticipated

This is one of those sitting-the-fence reads that I'm really glad I took the chance on. Ever read a review by someone you really trust (ie. another book blogger) that wasn't really positive, but you REALLY like the way the book sounds? Yeah, that was my conundrum right there, and...

14 results - showing 1 - 14
Powered by JReviews

Latest Book Listings Added

A Pumpkin for Peter: A Peter Rabbit Tale
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Hop into the world of Peter Rabbit and his friends...
Solving for M
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Raymie Nightingale and The Fourteenth Goldfish,...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times–bestselling and Caldecott Medalist Kevin Henkes follows five...
My Fate According To The Butterfly
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When superstitious Sab sees a giant black butterfly, an omen...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Caldecott Honor Book An...
Sunny's Tow Truck Saves the Day!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When a family car gets a flat on the way...
How to Be a Cat
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In cut-paper artist Nikki McClure’s latest picture book, a kitten...
TBH, IDK What's Next (TBH, #4)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Three BFFs set out to have the BEST SUMMER EVER...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Twelve-year-old Esme’s life changes when she discovers dinosaur bones on...
Five Little Pumpkins on Halloween Night
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Join these happy pumpkins in a cheerful rhyming countdown, in...
Wreck: A Novel
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Set on the shores of Lake Superior, Wreck follows high...
The Madman of Piney Woods
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Benji and Red couldn't be more different. They aren't friends....

Latest Member Reviews

The Looking Glass
 
4.0
"THE LOOKING GLASS by Janet McNally is a young adult novel set in the highly competitive world of aspiring New..."
I Am Alfonso Jones
 
5.0
"Alfonso Jones is a bright teen who is excited to try out for Hamlet at his school. When he and..."
Made You Up
 
3.3
"“I don’t like it when your head breaks.” This book pulled me out of an awful reading slump during..."
Made You Up
 
4.3
"I was a bit nervous going into this book. The fact that it was so blatant that Regan was a..."
Rebels by Accident
 
3.3
"Fifteen-year-old Miriam hates being the only Egyptian in her school. She longs to fit in and not have to..."
Made You Up
 
5.0
"One thing I hate more than anything are stories that reinforce cliche and stereotypes on mental illness. Or worse,..."
This Is Now
 
3.3
"Once again, the Australian author card has been played and a well-crafted, delightful story has been created! (Seriously, Australians, dude,..."
This Is Now
 
4.0
"Now this was a great book! Thank you Netgalley and Harlequin Enterprises Australia for the opportunity to read and..."