Reviews written by Caitlin Haines, Indie Assistant Blogger, Staff Reviewer

18 results - showing 1 - 15
1 2
Ordering
May 17, 2020
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Plot/Story 
 
5.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Characters (if applicable) 
 
5.0
Editing/Design Quality 
 
5.0
Young Adult Indie
Glass Kingdom Review

I have read many Cinderella retellings in my life. It's a story I have always loved and been drawn to. So when I say this is now my favorite version, you know I'm serious. Glass Kingdom takes place in the same world as the Golden...

May 14, 2020
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Plot/Story 
 
5.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Characters (if applicable) 
 
5.0
Editing/Design Quality 
 
5.0
Young Adult Indie
Golden Crown Review

This series has blown me away. For those who don't know me, I am low key obsessed with Tangled. And by "low key" I mean completely. This third book picks up right after Golden Chains. The curse has been broken, La Dame has retreated to...

May 13, 2020
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Plot/Story 
 
5.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Characters (if applicable) 
 
5.0
Editing/Design Quality 
 
5.0
Young Adult Indie
Golden Chains Review

All right, so I loved Golden Curse, but I LOVED this second book. The story picks up with Etta imprisoned for having magic. Tyson and Edmund have fled Gaule for the same reason. Alexandre feels betrayed by Etta for lying about who she is,...

May 13, 2020
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Young Adult Fiction
A Constellation of Roses Review

I will admit, I went into this book knowing nothing. The cover and title caught my attention, and I'm so glad I took the chance! Right from the beginning the story drew me in with Trix's ability to manipulate shadows. Living on her own after...

April 17, 2020
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Young Adult Fiction
Imagine Me Review

Have you ever been so blown away by a series that you don't even know how to put all your feelings into words? That's me with the Shatter Me series. I was late to the series, but I read the first three books and two...

February 07, 2020
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Plot/Story 
 
5.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Characters (if applicable) 
 
5.0
Editing/Design Quality 
 
5.0
Roman and the Hopeless Romantic Review

In the first book, we were introduced to Jesse’s sister, Cassie, and his best friend, Roman. After witnessing their mother’s murder, Cassie suffers from PTSD and anxiety. She has barely left the house or spoken to anyone outside her family in two years. Not even to Roman, who used to...

February 05, 2020
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Plot/Story 
 
5.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Characters (if applicable) 
 
5.0
Editing/Design Quality 
 
5.0
Jesse and the Ice Princess Review

It’s no secret that I love Michelle’s books, and this is such a fantastic start to a new series! I instantly fell in love with all the characters, from Jesse and Charlotte to their obnoxious-but-wonderful friends. To their school, Jesse is just a popular typical...

October 18, 2019 (Updated: October 18, 2019)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Plot/Story 
 
5.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Characters (if applicable) 
 
5.0
Editing/Design Quality 
 
5.0
Young Adult Indie
Dating Nashville Review

If you read the first series, Redefining Me, you got a glimpse at these characters and probably love them just from those small appearances. I know I did, and I was beyond excited when I heard they were getting their own book. It did not...

September 11, 2019
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Plot/Story 
 
5.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Characters (if applicable) 
 
5.0
Editing/Design Quality 
 
5.0
Young Adult Indie
Winter's Captive Review

YA fantasy has always been my favorite. However, the past few months, I'd been in a slump. I struggled getting through anything fantasy... Until this book. I loved Winter's Captive! The world Robin and Elle have created is so enrapturing....

August 05, 2019
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0
Plot/Story 
 
5.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Characters (if applicable) 
 
3.0
Editing/Design Quality 
 
5.0
Young Adult Indie
Hunter's Truce Review

I love retellings--it's kind of my thing--and this was a new one for me. I haven't read a Three Little Pigs story since I was a child! This was fun and intriguing. The story is very interesting and well thought out. It's original, while still holding that element of familiarity....

August 05, 2019
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Plot/Story 
 
5.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Characters (if applicable) 
 
5.0
Editing/Design Quality 
 
5.0
Young Adult Indie
Adaptive Review

Reactive was one of my favorite books of 2018, and I think it is safe to say Adaptive is going to make the 2019 list. Dystopian has always been one of my favorite genres, but there are few series that stick with me. The Elite...

August 05, 2019 (Updated: August 05, 2019)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Plot/Story 
 
5.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Characters (if applicable) 
 
5.0
Editing/Design Quality 
 
5.0
Reactive Review

“I don’t want to be dramatic and say I found the next The Hunger Games or Divergent, but I totally found the next The Hunger Games or Divergent.” — an actual text I sent to my sister while reading Reactive. This book. Oh, man. I...

August 05, 2019
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Plot/Story 
 
5.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Characters (if applicable) 
 
5.0
Editing/Design Quality 
 
5.0
Young Adult Indie
The C Word Review

Oh, boy. Where to start… Like the first two books, I absolutely loved The C World. The authors have done such a good job at bringing real issues to life in a beautiful way. Each has had it’s own theme or problem that the characters deal with, but overall it’s...

July 08, 2019
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Plot/Story 
 
5.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Characters (if applicable) 
 
5.0
Editing/Design Quality 
 
N/A
Young Adult Indie
The N Word Review

Alright, if you read my review of The F Word, you know how attached I already am to these characters. I loved the first book because of how real and relatable it was, but I loved this second book just as much… maybe even a tiny bit more. My favorite...

June 21, 2019
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Plot/Story 
 
5.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Characters (if applicable) 
 
5.0
Editing/Design Quality 
 
5.0
North to Nara Review

I’ve always been a sucker for dystopian. This is not a secret. The obsession with The Hunger Games is still very real in this house. It’s rare that I find one I love as much as it or Divergent, but this book succeeded! This was such an...

18 results - showing 1 - 15
1 2
Powered by JReviews

Latest Book Listings Added

Strong Voices: Fifteen American Speeches Worth Knowing
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Strong Voices: Fifteen American Speeches Worth Knowing is a collection...
Bernard Makes a Splash
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A heartwarming story from textile designer and illustrator Lisa Stickley...
Wild Girl: How to Have Incredible Outdoor Adventures
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Calling wild girls everywhere! Helen Skelton – adventurer, world-record breaker...
Stanley's Paint Box
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
It’s another busy day with Stanley and friends! ...
The Unleashed
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the terrifying sequel to The Haunted, Hendricks discovers that...
Paint by Sticker Kids: Dinosaurs: Create 10 Pictures One Sticker at a Time!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Create pictures of 10 awesome dinosaurs... with stickers! ...
Tad
Tad
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
From Benji Davies, the award-winning creator of The Storm Whale...
Go Get 'Em, Tiger! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The perfect picture book to celebrate every milestone from the...
A World of Opposites
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From ALONE and TOGETHER to ABOVE and BELOW, Gray Malin’s...
The Voting Booth
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Stonewall Award-winning author Brandy Colbert comes an all-in-one-day love...
Now & When
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Jenny Han and Christine Riccio comes a...
Dating Makes Perfect
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Tech sisters don’t date in high school. Not because...
Now That I've Found You
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Now That I've Found You is a YA novel about...
Entwined
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sometimes love gets a bit twisted. ...
A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
I can split myself in two . . . something...
The Lost City (The Omte Origins, #1)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Amanda Hocking, the New York Times bestselling author of...

Latest Member Reviews

Dream Catchers
 
1.0
"t This book was a complete waste of paper. It had some interesting points but, it had no plot. It..."
Curse of the Stolen Cross
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Jaxon I read this book on a camping vacation with my family. We took turns reading aloud one..."
Curse of the Stolen Cross
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by raya The "Long Tall Texan" was blown to bits in a sparkling blue lagoon & that's just..."
Curse of the Stolen Cross
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Nicky Thomas I loved this story about 2 brother left on a deserted island as they grow..."
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Linda Welch Many a year has passed since I was a 14 year old year girl so..."
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Val What a great children's book. Fairies Ice Cove Mountain is simply a fascinating and exciting...."
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Natalie H. Sandy Lo is not to be overlooked, she certainly has earned her spot in the..."
Never Too Late to Make a U-Turn: An Educational Pledge & 15 Questions to Self-Development
 
3.0
"Reader reviewed by Writers' Digest &.I have seen first hand how many students fall through the public-school cracks and the..."
Never Too Late to Make a U-Turn: An Educational Pledge & 15 Questions to Self-Development
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Rafael Rodriguez This book is a most read book for all. I truly recommend it, and Mr...."
Never Too Late to Make a U-Turn: An Educational Pledge & 15 Questions to Self-Development
 
1.0
"Reader reviewed by Tita Negron Tita: I am pleased to have your presence, Mr. Cappas. Thank you for..."
Norman & The Stinking Space Goo
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Ohndrea I loved your book! I especially loved the part where Norman found out that he could..."
Norman & The Stinking Space Goo
 
4.0
"Reader reviewed by maddie Your book was very interesting. I love the creativity you put into your work. I loved..."
Norman & The Stinking Space Goo
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Keegan Holle The book was amazing! It was funny and realistic at the same time. The characters..."
Norman & The Stinking Space Goo
 
3.0
"Reader reviewed by Alex I thought that the book was good. Although..."
Norman & The Stinking Space Goo
 
4.0
"Reader reviewed by Gabriel As I had first been reading the book my mind was thinking, "What kind of dumb..."
Norman & The Stinking Space Goo
 
4.0
"Reader reviewed by Abby This book is a great book for little kids that is humorous. It is very interesting..."
Oh la la! (French Manicure #1)
 
4.0
"Reader reviewed by Alyssa Feller, POD Princess & Graphic Novel Guru Does Prince Charming really exist?&Who knows? Maybe he..."
An Unofficial History of Disney's Haunted Mansion
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Alyssa Feller, POD Princess & Graphic Novel Guru When hinges creek, in doorless chambers, and strange and..."
A Home for Amanda Romero
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Vanessa Amanda Romero has always dreamed of having a room of her own. But in order to..."
A Rumor of Dragons
 
5.0
A2 Amber, 2007 Teen Demi-Goddess
"A Rumor of Dragons is the first book in an innovative new fantasy series by Michael Heald. Marc..."