Reviews written by Linda

34 results - showing 1 - 15
1 2 3
Ordering
February 13, 2013
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0
Young Adult Fiction
Good story, but not good enough

Soulbound left me reeling. I was pulled in by the promising premise, but the immature characters, the less-than-exciting romance, and the numerous plot holes unfortunately made this book fall short of my expectations. When I read the synopsis, I was expecting this book to be action-packed and...

October 22, 2012
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Young Adult Fiction
A Story to Remember

Team Human made me laugh–a lot. It was exactly what I needed to get out of a mild reading slump I had, but moreover, it definitely deserves bonus points for being a great read filled with laughs at every page and a novel that’s much, much more than just a...

September 02, 2012
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Phenomenal

Princess Academy was always my favorite Shannon Hale novel (The Goose Girl was a close second). So when I discovered that Hale was going to publish a sequel, I. Squealed. PLOT: Now that Miri’s friend Britta has become the new princess, she has invited Miri and...

September 01, 2012
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0
Young Adult Fiction
Average

I was never the biggest fan of Spellbound, the prequel to Spellcaster, so it surprised me that I actually enjoyed Spellcaster more. It was an original novel, albeit clichéd, and I grew to love some characters a little more. PLOT: Whereas Spellbound seemed to revolve around...

August 06, 2012
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Young Adult Fiction
Promising

Finally. Finally Jennifer Estep has given me a book that I’ve been craving. What I didn’t like the most about her previous two Mythos Academy books was that they seemed like petty mysteries. (Oh, and I’m totally going to spoil the books right here, so if you haven’t read them...

August 03, 2012
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Young Adult Fiction
Better than its prequel

Previously published on my blog: http://fictionfervor.wordpress.com/2012/08/03/review-kiss-of-frost-by-jennifer-estep/ The cover of this book is so pretty! (Sorry, I love snow–which is highly uncommon down here in Louisiana.) I like it the most out of the four covers in the series released so far. (In my opinion, Crimson Frost looks...

August 01, 2012
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
A Light Read

Previously published on my blog: http://fictionfervor.wordpress.com/2012/08/01/review-touch-of-frost-by-jennifer-estep/ I’ve been meaning to read this series for quite a long time. I mean, it’s about an academy with teen mythological warriors. (What better than Valkyries, Amazons, Vikings, Romans, and Spartans to lure you in?) And a hot guy. And a...

July 28, 2012
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Phenomenal

Previously published on my blog: http://fictionfervor.wordpress.com/2012/07/29/review-clockwork-angel-by-cassandra-clare/ Clockwork Angel, to be put simply, is a beautifully woven tale of mystery and romance. I have a hard time believing that more people like Cassandra Clare’s The Mortal Instruments series than The Infernal Devices (the first book...

July 28, 2012
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0
Young Adult Fiction
Average

Previously published on my blog: http://fictionfervor.wordpress.com/2012/07/29/review-falling-under-by-gwen-hayes/ I really wasn’t expecting to love this at all. I have very low standards of paranormal romances (curse you, Twilight! *shakes fist*), so I was a bit surprised to find that I liked Falling Under. Even it was only a little...

July 23, 2012
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Young Adult Fiction
Deep, engrossing, emotional

Previously published on my blog: http://fictionfervor.wordpress.com/2012/07/24/review-if-i-stay-by-gayle-forman/ I’ve been letting this book sit in my head for the past few days because I really can’t put my feelings about this book into words. So I’ll settle for a very vague word: indescribable. If I Stay is purely indescribable....

July 15, 2012
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Young Adult Fiction
An easy, fun read

Previously published on my blog: http://fictionfervor.wordpress.com/2012/07/16/review-timeless-by-alexandra-monir/ Timeless was certainly different from what I’d expected. To be honest, I was hoping for more magic and ballroom dances, but I was still pleased with the plot, though I thought it was all a bit too predictable. ...

July 10, 2012
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Young Adult Fiction
A Promising Debut

Previously published on my blog: http://fictionfervor.wordpress.com/2012/07/10/review-seraphina-by-rachel-hartman/ WARNING: Linda is about to sing the praises of this debut novel. If you’d prefer not to be overwhelmed with a deluge of her gushing, please skip to the last paragraph. I love dragons. I love medieval settings....

July 05, 2012
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0
A disappointment

Previously published on my blog: http://fictionfervor.wordpress.com/2012/07/06/review-goddess-interrupted-by-aimee-carter/ I was not a fan of the prequel to this book–The Goddess Test. It was a decent read, but there was nothing especially spectacular about it. And for the most part while reading Goddess Interrupted, I felt the same way. ...

July 03, 2012
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Young Adult Fiction
Absolutely enchanting

Previously published on my blog: http://fictionfervor.wordpress.com/2012/07/04/review-the-golden-lily-by-richelle-mead/ I love Richelle Mead. Her Vampire Academy series is my second-favorite fantasy series (only Harry Potter beats it), and I own every one of her young adult novels. (That currently amounts to eight.) So I guess it shouldn’t...

July 03, 2012
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Young Adult Fiction
A cute contemporary

Previously published on my blog: http://fictionfervor.wordpress.com/2012/07/04/review-the-sweetest-thing-by-christina-mandelski/ Just like its title, this book is one of the sweetest I’ve ever read. It bears great resemblance to a novel I’ve read before, Bittersweet by Sarah Ockler, but there are definitely differences. Sheridan got on my nerves....

34 results - showing 1 - 15
1 2 3
Powered by JReviews

Latest Book Listings Added

The Twin
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
After their parents divorced, 10-year-old twins Ivy and Iris were...
Devil Darling Spy
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
It's 1940, and Sarah Goldstein is hiding in plain sight...
The Life Below
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
It was hard enough for Naomi to leave Leo, a...
Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Meet Mr. Penguin―Adventurer (And Penguin!) When Mr. Penguin...
Famous by Default
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Jax Buried, By my family's fame. Dying to escape...
Sword and Pen (Great Library Book, #5)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
With the future of the Great Library in doubt,...
Butterfly Yellow
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Ibi Zoboi, and...
Jonny Lambert's Construction Site
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A beautifully illustrated book for babies featuring lots of noisy...
Pop-Up Peekaboo! Baby Animals
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Take your toddler on a rain forest adventure and find...
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Kira Fujikawa has never had it easy. She’s...
Pet
Pet
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The highly-anticipated, genre-defying new novel by award-winning author Akwaeke...
Gray (The Wings Trilogy, #3)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The long anticipated finale to the Wings Trilogy. ...
Black (The Wings Trilogy, #2)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"I was the weak link in the chain, and the...
Two Worlds of Redemption (Two Worlds, #3)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Finally presented to the Allinan public, Maray’s life at court...
Two Worlds of Oblivion (Two Worlds, #2)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The blood that holds the power to change the fate...
Two Worlds of Provenance (Two Worlds, #1)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Her fate lies just one world away… ...

Latest Member Reviews

Butterfly Yellow
 
3.3
"BUTTERFLY YELLOW is a heartfelt and engrossing historical fiction. Hang is in the US, searching for her younger brother. After..."
The Iliad
 
3.7
"Long ago in Ancient Greece, a prince of Troy, Paris, steals the most beautiful woman in the world from another..."
Mera: Tidebreaker
 
3.0
"Mera: Tidebreaker is the first in DC's new DC Ink line, and with Aquaman's recent release, it's not surprise this..."
The Six
 
3.0
"“The Six” is an intriguing sci-fi book about Adam Armstrong, who has Duchenne muscular dystrophy and is nearing his death..."
Grenade
 
4.7
"Hideki is a 13-year-old Okinawan and Ray is a United States Marine. Both are play important roles in the "Love..."
The Tiger's Watch (Ashes of Gold #1)
 
3.0
"I’m in two minds about this novella. While there was a part of me that was intrigued by the general..."
Ronit and Jamil
 
3.7
"Ronit & Jamil has been a wonderful ride. It actually surprised me that it was written in prose. but then..."
The Tiger's Watch (Ashes of Gold #1)
 
4.3
"Tashi has had a rough life. With the power of an inhabitor, someone who bonds with an animal, they have..."
Ronit and Jamil
 
4.7
"RONIT AND JAMIL is a novel in verse that tells the story of two young lovers on opposite sides of..."
The Almost Girl
 
3.3
"What worked: Amazing futuristic world where Terminator meets Sliders with one kick ass heroine. Riven is a tough, hard..."
The Almost Girl
 
3.7
"Riven, the title character in Amalie Howard's THE ALMOST GIRL, is a teenager from another world and a warrior. She..."
If You're Reading This
 
3.3
"This YA contemporary centers around an almost 16-year-old boy named Michael Wilson, and his coming-of-age struggles as he shoulders the..."
A School for Unusual Girls: A Stanje House Novel
 
3.0
"A SCHOOL FOR UNUSUAL GIRLS is not exactly what I expected. It's a strange but workable mix of science, espionage,..."
The Six
 
3.7
"What happens when you take six dying teens and upload their brains into the most technologically advanced robots ever created..."
The Almost Girl
 
4.0
"Two ninjatas, two worlds, two sisters, two princes; The Almost Girl by Amalie Howard is full of dualism. The hook..."
Dead Zone (Blackout #2)
 
3.3
"Dead Zone is the sequel to Robison Well's book Black Out. It is about a group of teenagers infected..."
If You're Reading This
 
4.7
"Mike has a lot on his plate. He does well academically, but he also has to work a lot to..."
The Almost Girl
 
4.0
"Romance, royalty, and rebellion. Riven is on an unofficial mission to secure a target, but that sounds simple enough when..."
The Forgotten Tale of Larsa
 
5.0
"Authors Biography Seja Majeed is a British Iraqi with an Honours degree in law from Brunel Law School..."
How I Live Now
 
5.0
"A brilliant and different book. The story of a girl who goes to England from America just before a fictional..."