Reviews written by Nimmy Chacko, Staff Reviewer

10 results - showing 1 - 10
Ordering
January 18, 2019
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable)  
 
5.0
Learning Value 
 
5.0
Kids Nonfiction
The Living Marvels of the Natural World - Celebrated Beautifully

This book is all kinds of wonderful. Actually, everything about it is pretty much spot on – starting with the expression of the aye-aye on the cover! Who Are You Calling Weird does exactly what it promises to do – it celebrates some of the most fascinating animals on this...

November 02, 2018
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
3.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
3.0
A Charming Read

This book took me right back to my childhood! But what’s interesting is that the stories in this book aren’t just retellings of Indian folk tales, but original tales inspired by Indian folklore. And I’ll admit that I was slightly sceptical at first – would the stories be too outdated...

December 17, 2017
Kids Nonfiction
Fun Stories about Famous Authors

Let me get straight to the point. I loved this book. I love the concept, the writing, the way it’s been put together—everything. I keep mentioning in my reviews how the world of non-fiction for kids seems to have exploded now. There are just so many wonderful non-fiction books...

July 31, 2017
Overall rating 
 
2.7
Writing Style 
 
3.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable)  
 
2.0
Learning Value 
 
3.0
A Charming Picture Book about a Forever Friendship

I don’t think I’ve ever read a dog story without either crying or grinning through it. GOBI: A LITTLE DOG WITH A BIG HEART was no different. Based on a true story, this sweet picture book is about how a scraggly little pup in the middle of the Gobi desert...

April 08, 2017
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
3.0
A Splendid Picture Book about Facing Challenges

The first thing that occurred to me when I read this book was how much I could relate to the protagonist, Lou. I used to be the least adventurous person in my group of friends, and I’d always have spectacular excuses for procrastinating something I was scared of doing. Things...

February 28, 2017
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable)  
 
5.0
Learning Value 
 
4.0
Kids Nonfiction
A Smart Picture Book about Animal Characteristics

DIFFERENT? SAME! is a gem of a book that gives us a little peek into the many wonders of the animal kingdom in a most unusual way. It puts together a bunch of animals that are totally unlike each other (like a zebra, a bumblebee, a tiger and a lemur,...

November 24, 2016
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Writing Style 
 
3.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable)  
 
5.0
Learning Value 
 
5.0
Kids Nonfiction
An Engaging Picture Book about Animal Behaviour

What an enthralling little book this is! Growing up, I didn’t read too much non-fiction because I didn’t have access to a lot of reading material that presented information in a fun, friendly way. But I’m really glad that so many books are blurring the lines between ‘teaching’ and ‘storytelling’...

October 21, 2016 (Updated: June 15, 2017)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
3.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0
Kids Fiction
Of Taming Storms

To be honest, I paid very little attention to the text the first time I read The Storm—I was transfixed by the absolutely gorgeous charcoal sketches that are the life and soul of this book. It’s the illustrations that take this spare and simple story to a completely new level...

June 30, 2016
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Writing Style 
 
3.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable)  
 
3.0
Learning Value 
 
4.0
Kids Nonfiction
Around the World in Thirty-Two Snapshots

One of the great things about books is, of course, that they enable you to travel without a ticket. You can sit in one corner of the world and still experience the sights, sounds, smells and colours of the other end through the pages of a book. Metropolis by Benoit...

May 29, 2016
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
4.0
Kids Fiction
Of Ogre Armpits and Pirate Ships

Going to a new school can be a terrifying experience. And it doesn’t help that Toby’s siblings have managed to fit into their schools quite snugly, while he has to go to one that apparently smells of ‘ogre armpits’. That one phrase there made me laugh out loud....

10 results - showing 1 - 10
Powered by JReviews

Latest Book Listings Added

 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Bella is the very best dog a family could ask...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Hello! Justice League here. Ask us anything! ...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Friday Night Lights meets Concussion in this powerful and important...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A haunted tower, an evil ghost, a monster spawned from...
Babies Can Sleep Anywhere
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
What better way to encourage a little one to sleep...
The Bad Guys in The Big Bad Wolf (The Bad Guys, #9)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
The Bad Guys are back for the monstrously funny 9th...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sweet treats and friendship mix-ups abound in this story about...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
From award-winning Carolyn Mackler, the story of Willa, who has...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
This book is about the Stonewall Riots, a series of...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Twelve-year-old Emily is flying with her parents to China to...
A Small Zombie Problem (Zombie Problems, #1)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In his fiction debut--and the start of a new series--celebrated...
My Funny Bunny
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
When a boy receives a gift box from his uncle...
Kindness Rules! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Manners don’t come naturally to everyone! But did you know...
Teeny Tiny Ghost
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
An adorable spooky twist on "The Teeny Tiny Woman" that's...
A Pumpkin for Peter: A Peter Rabbit Tale
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Hop into the world of Peter Rabbit and his friends...
Solving for M
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Raymie Nightingale and The Fourteenth Goldfish,...

Latest Member Reviews

After the Snow
 
1.0
"After the Snow reads like Huck Finn meets dystopia. Unfortunately, I really don't like Huckleberry Finn. Why? Because, even at..."
After the Snow
 
3.0
"Okay book. I will read the next book."
After the Snow
 
2.3
"The premise of this book sounds superb! A second ice age, a young boy trying to find his family..."